Posts by doyll

Your questions will be better answered by someone who is current on water cooling components like @ciarlatano. I have been using air for several years. My knowledge is limited to AIOs (not CLCs) like Swiftech sell. While they are way better than CLCs, they are still not as good as more expensive components.
Exactly! What works and what is ideal are often not close to being the same.2x 140mm fans on a 280 radiator will flow about the same as 3x 120mm fans on a 360 radiator. 3x 120mm fans have a flow area approx. 300sq cm and 2x 140mm fans have an area approx 280sq cm. This is assuming both have similar static pressure to cfm ratio and are simiilar design. A 280x140mm radiator (392sq cm)is similar size to a 360x120mm radiator (432q cm).Someone like @ciarlatano is better...
Sorry, but I think it's more your not understanding how big the cooler base needs to be to transfer the heat verses the area the often are.The heat from CPUI transits almost completely straight through the IHS .. with only a few mm of radial movement The IHS size is more to give cooler base and area to set on. The name "Integrated Heat Spreader" is not really not accurate. Sure, it does spread a litle heat,but the IHS overall size is more to create a flat area to keep...
Sorry, I fat-fingered that one. 160mm
160mm with fan same height as heatpipes.
I thought the Define XL had 2x front 140mm fans and 4x 5.25 bays near top. That would be 1x front intake into bottom sections and 1x front intake into motherboard section, so I'm confused.