Posts by xlink

coding...It's pretty easy to eat up RAM if you're doing machine learning or AI.
If they're using anything SORT of like the original neural network algorithm, shouldn't they be able to use imprecise computation to set up some sort of proprotype network and then use that as an initialization point for traditional forward/backward propagation?
The people who started the testing that way probably left the company 20 years ago.What you have is a mostly new set of guys who just kept on doing what those before did without thinking about it."Here's the procedure for doing it in the US, report these everywhere"When in doubt assume incompetence before malfeasance, especially when dealing with anything REMOTELY concerned with a government.
I don't have an MBA(though I'll admit that I plan on getting one) and my background is in STEM.I am biased because I do work at a company with a heavy tech focus.
It averages out...http://mathaholic.com/images/lawoflargenumbers.jpgAlso there IS such a thing as stochastic load balancing where you balance your selections away from the heavily loaded system..
MBAs don't like lawsuits.Again... counter examples to what you're stating are Amazon, Google, Facebook, Netflix and a few others. They all have their share of MBAs.Stating that MBAs are the problem requires A LOT of very strong assumptions which in their totality are invalid.
Money is a major constraint. It isn't the ONLY constraint.In the short run, labor is fixed... this matters when you have deadlines to meet (esp. if you're dealing with external parties)Same applies with capital. Hard to run simulations or build prototypes when your hardware is maxed out.The hope would be that all resources are allocated optimally given the constraints at play. Obviously there are a lot of unknowns and impossible to measure obstacles.