Overclock.net › Forums › Overclock.net Forum › Bugs and Technical Issues › Resolved Issues › Clicking "cancel" for the block user box still blocks the user
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Clicking "cancel" for the block user box still blocks the user

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 

  • What happened?

    When going to block a user, if you click "cancel" in the box rather than "ok", it will still block the user upon refresh.

  • Are you able to reproduce this problem consistently?

    Yep.

  • What steps did you take to reproduce this problem?

    1. Navigated to any post by any member (can't block staff).

    2. Hover over their name and click "block member".

    3. Click "cancel" in the confirmation box as to whether or not you really want to block that member.

    4. After clicking "cancel", refresh the page.

    5. You'll see the user is blocked even after cancelling the block.

  • What action did you expect to occur when this bug appeared?

    I expect that when you click "cancel" in the confirmation box, it should cancel it and NOT block the member.


  • Any additional information that will help us diagnose the issue:

    I was not attempting to block a user whilst finding this out. It was a misclick originally, and upon clicking cancel.... it didn't cancel tongue.gif

  • Browser, active browser addons, and operating system:

    Firefox 13.0.1, Noscript allowing OCN but blocking crowd / score / vig / quant.

  • URL where the issue occurs:

    Null
post #2 of 7
Confirmed. Interestingly enough, it doesn't work if you cancel the unblock dialog (the user won't be unblocked after a refresh).
post #3 of 7

Test post

post #4 of 7

Good catch.  Verified and ticketed as #9937.  The 'cancel' option should cancel the action, and if there IS an option to cancel, the pop up dialog should reflect that as opposed to being a confirmation.  Also, the unblock option should be consistent to whatever the block option is.

post #5 of 7

I think we'll probably just remove the 'cancel' button - this isn't really an option to select if you're not sure, and it's easy to unblock someone.  It's also pretty clear when you DO block someone, so there's no harm in it.  I think the cancel option just sort of exists because it exists on all pop ups by default.

post #6 of 7
Sounds reasonable. Unlike handing out rep, blocking someone is an action that can be swiftly reversed.
post #7 of 7
Thread Starter 
Thanks SJ smile.gif
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Resolved Issues
Overclock.net › Forums › Overclock.net Forum › Bugs and Technical Issues › Resolved Issues › Clicking "cancel" for the block user box still blocks the user