Overclock.net › Forums › Components › Monitors and Displays › [Review] CrossOver LED-P 2560x1440p Monitors
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

[Review] CrossOver LED-P 2560x1440p Monitors

post #1 of 160
Thread Starter 
Hey guys Cloudz00x here bringing you another review of a fantastic product.

Today I'm going to be reviewing the CrossOver LED-P Monitors.
These Korean monitors are capable of superhuman expectations!
Before we dive into the fun we need to learn what makes these monitors tick and why they are becoming popular within the internet community.

The Crossover is a set of 3 major monitors that have been taking the community by storm. The Catleap, Shimian and Crossovers are all considered the same across the board. The technology behind the monitors are equivalently the same. The difference between them are design and who manufacturer's them. Now to understand what place these monitors have in the big spectrum, we have to know where they adopted their technology from.

The panel used in these monitors is a LG panel. The same LG panel is also being used in a monitor that is known as the Apple Thunderbolt. Major known manufacturers also use the same panel but we will just use Apple for this example. If anyone has been able to see the Thunderbolt in all its glory, they will tell you that only a few words describes how it looks. "Magnificent" "Vibrant" "Stand Right Out" "Elegant" then there's the words we all despise.... "Too much" "Pricey"
Well there right, take the same tech and slap a apple design and logo they can rightfully charge you that absurd amount of money.

Now what if..... we can have the same technology behind those Thunderbolts and put them in another panel while only costing 1/4th of the price. Wouldn't you want to get one? I know I would! Well I'm writing this review so I must've pulled the trigger! Well it's true, these Korean monitors use exactly what I stated. They have the same panel which makes the Thunderbolt stand out so much and at a quarter of the price. The standards set by apple and other corporations only allow a certain quality of panels to be used in there monitors. These are considered "A+" panels. The panels used in the Korean monitors are what we can consider "Hand me downs". These panels are known as "A" or "A-" panels. Now what they don't tell you is regardless of quality, every panel is susceptible to Dead/Stuck pixels and back-light bleeding. So in essence every panel you purchase has the possibility of being perfect, near perfect or defective.

Now considering the percentage that has been given out in comparison to these "A+", "A", "A-" panels. A lot of buyers of the Korean monitors have had a 80% chance or higher of getting a perfect or near perfect monitor. The rest of them still have a great panel it's just the dead/stuck pixels is within the pixel guarantee from the manufacturer. So with that being said what would you rather have a monitor that is well over 1,000$ or a monitor that is easily 300-400$ and has the same capabilities as the higher price version. I think I would go with the 300-400$ version. That's where the Korean Monitors come into play.

We also must take into account what kind of tech is behind the panel. There are 4 different types of panels currently being sold, TN, IPS, S-IPS and PLS. The only panel capable of using 120hz without over clocking is the TN panel. The TN panel comes to a disadvantage when comparing it to the others. With newer panels comes newer features and newer gimmicks. The solid truth is the IPS and above are better and more efficient then its legacy versions. A broader color spectrum is one of the biggest improvements between the panels. Increased increments from millions to billions allow a more vivid and detail oriented picture from the panels.

Just to show comparisons between the three, I will display pictures about the Catleap, Shimian and Crossover.

Catleap 2560x1440p 60hz S-IPS Monitor
Now as stated above each Korean monitor has the same tech behind it. Only difference is housing and design.
Catleaps have a unique design but has several flaws that are substantial to the community.

1. The stand is flimsy and makes the monitor shake as if it was about to fall off.
2. The placement of logo's on the top left and top right. Everyone wants a sleek design not showing off who made this and where the glass came from. The logo's are just an annoyance.




Achieva Shimian 2560x1440p 60hz S-IPS Monitors
Now this is the same concept. One surprising design of this is the smooth rounded edges. Seems they tried to take a picture out of the Apple Thunderbolt design.
But yet again they failed to notice a problem. Same as the catleap.

1. The stand is flimsy and makes the monitor shake as if it was about to fall off.





CrossOver LED-P 2560x1440p 60hz S-IPS Monitor
Now not just because I'm reviewing this product, but they did it right at Crossover. No misplaced logo's, No flimsy stand and a sturdy over all sleek design. A plus is the housing for this particular monitor, it is made out of aluminum. The other monitors are made out of heavy duty plastic but plastic does not beat aluminum. Over all with the housing the monitor comes in at a hefty 30-40 lbs. Great quality and design. Since this is the LED-P version and not the LED. We have included a Pivot stand Hence the P in LED-P. This allows us to rotate are monitor and enjoy 2560x1440p portrait mode.






Now a subject of debate.

Over-clocking
The Catleaps were the first monitors of its kind to produce 2560x1440p 120hz. With that comes instability issues and questions that are unanswered. A product piece for these monitors came into existence known as the "2B PCB". With this piece installed into the Catleap it now had the ability to over clock from 60hz to 120hz. Now here is the catch..... the over clock-ability is not guaranteed. That's right, it is "Not Guaranteed" As stated with many of the over clock able monitors Catleap and Overlord you have the ability to reach 120hz but are not guaranteed 120hz. What that means in lam-en's terms you can be stuck at 60hz or maybe reach 75 Hz or even 96 Hz. The very few and lucky are able to achieve 120hz. This involves a variety of mechanics such as the 2b PCB, twists and tweaks of your monitor/computer and an unverified version of firmware/driver for your graphics card . The last part that has yet to be answered is the lifespan of your hardware. With the over clock does it degrade your life expectancy of the monitor? Of course another question is warranty, these manufacturer's don't want you over clocking your monitor. This is a modification and is mainly directed at sites like 120hz.net and OverlordComputer.com Since 120hz.net uses catleaps if 120hz.et decides to get out of the business your warranty is gone. poof. OverlordComputer's seem to manufacture these themselves so a warranty is applicable to whoever owns it.

While looking around the forums 120hz, OCN and various others it seems that individuals who plunged to get the 120hz are either have various problems, disappointed they did get 120hz... remember that "guarantee" I spoke of? then the other sections just love it... that's the few that were able to achieve 120hz or are just happy with whatever over clock they achieved.

Now since we understand that the piece for enabling the entire over clocking fiasco is the "2B PCB" and we also have an understanding that the technology behind all these monitors are the same. Essentially you can over clock any of the Korean monitors and "hope" to expect yields in your favor as long as the "2B PCB" is installed.
*Note* It is rumored once OverlordComputers.com is set, there in pre-sale mode at the moment. They will eventually sell the "2B PCB" separately for all the over clocking enthusiast. Hopefully this is true and we can see some differential values coming from across the board to get a better understanding on the implications over clocking monitors does.

Honestly is this reviewers opinion, over clocking a monitor isn't as simple as having a stable over clock on a Graphics Card. 2560x1440p and 60hz is an outstanding resolution with a pixel density that is enormous and the real estate almost 4x more then what 1920x1080 gives.


There are certain requirements needed to make sure these monitors operate at full capacity, or just even operate at all!
To reduce Input lag I got the non multi input version which is the LED/-P. If you do not care for input lag or want to use this for let's say as a TV monitor or a game console monitor then there are various different version of the CrossOver to meet everyone's individual needs, Tempered Glass, None Gloss, single input and multi input. For the sake of this review and the product I am using my Gaming PC and I want every single advantage I can get, so having multiple inputs are just not needed.
The CrossOver LED-P is a single input using a DVI-D. To fully take advantage of the 2560x1440p you need to use a DVI-D.... not a DVI or DVI-I.... You may also use a HDMI as long as the seller lists that the HDMI input is 1.4a. With the release of 1.4a format for HDMI we can now have 2560x1440p resolution as well. Another need for this bad boy monitors to get going is to have the required graphics card. If you have an old legacy card that is not suitable for the monitors it will not work.
To get a clearer understanding here is a pic illustrating the requirements.(*GPUS* Anything shown or above are compatible with the Korean based monitors)




Now for the good stuff!
I have been in conversation with AccesoriesWhole for a total of 4 days.
I asked plenty of questions in correlation to what my research found.
He has been very cooperative and has given me the ultimate customer satisfaction.
When researching which monitor I wanted to get, it was no contest. CrossOver LED-P FTW
A few problems with these Korean monitors that many users had issues with were via internal PCB or Power Brick.
When these monitors first hit the scene the power bricks voltages was not acceptable for U.S.A or other countries who's voltage regulations differ from Korea. With that being an issue we saw a lot of power bricks just have failures or burning out the mosfets in the backlight PCB inside the monitor. This was quickly rectified and all sellers now give you the appropriate power brick and adapter that suits the country that you live in. Another issue was the mosfet on the Back light PCB board burning out. This was predominately in the "TEAL" and "BLUE" PCBS located in the monitor. The Green PCb board has had no indication of having any burned out mosfets... this is also due to have more than 1 mosfets in comparison to the teal and the blue's. This enables equal distribution of heat.

Overall... When purchasing a CrossOver LED-P. Make sure to ask for the following.
1. An Adapter that corresponds to your country.
2. A "Green PCB" (This connects to the power/brightness pcb and to the main display pcb which can be either blue or green)


Here's a picture of the green pcb:



Here's the PCB that can also connect to the 3 mosfet Green PCB. Remember this can also come in blue or green.



The only exception to this is the new revised versions of the monitors. Instead of 3 PCB's being located in the monitor, only 2 can be found.
It looks like this:



If you make sure you have what I stated above, your almost 100% golden. Regardless, the individual I dealt with is AccessoriesWhole he has a reputable standing within the community and in anyway shape or form tries to help out his customers and makes sure there 100% satisfied.
Just to add on how awesome AccessoriesWhole is, there is a lot of speculation on the term "Pixel Perfect" which is being used when selling these monitors. A lot of sellers use these terms and then tell you within 4-5 dead/stuck pixels on the sides and 0 dead/bright pixels in the middle. They also claim they personally test the monitor themselves. This has been proven to be wrong, if you ask some intrusive question to these sellers they clearly state that manufacturer checks these monitors.
Now that I literally put almost all these sellers to shame.... let's talk about AccessoriesWhole. His "Pixel Perfect" is as he states it. Your monitor will be Pixel Perfect when it arrives at your door, if it doesn't he offers 2 options. A certain amount of $ back per dead pixel found or a complete replacement. Sometimes human errors happen but that is an awesome way for compensation. The other is the individual test of each monitor. He literally checks the monitors himself with his team and allocated all the pixel perfect models on his eBay listing. Not to say you can't find pixel perfect on the non pixel perfect models. 90% of the community who bought from him have claimed they bought the non pixel perfect models and couldn't find anything. Again, just the quality and service that AccessoriesWhole displays is phenomenal and I'm coming back to him to get more monitors for my other computers.

For shipping standards Accessories Whole was phenomenal.
As I stated above had messages going back and forth with AcessoriesWhole.
Purchased my 3 CrossOver LED-P monitors on October 21, 2012.
Email received that he is getting the monitors and inspecting them himself.
Another email sent stating monitors are being shipped in the afternoon, October 23, 2012
October 24, 2012..... There are my doorstep.
HOW THE HELL DID HE DO THAT? Korea to New York.... Does the force exist? Did he pull the Exodia card on me? (Yu-Gi-Oh Reference)
or..... he's just that good. Came by FedEx too. Awesome service so far!

Pictures of their arrival:



This is a label and is predominately on his listing as well. The Korean/Chinese/Japanese (Sorry I just don't know) writing below the S7Q is to notify us the buyers that this panel is either "Pixel Perfect" or the panel is of "A+" grade. To be honest this is just fabricated by the seller and other sellers to give some sort of satisfaction to the buyer. Each label is exactly the same down to the supposed serial numbers. When comparing the serial numbers with the labels on the monitors they do not match. Regardless, we as the buyers can take this as a sign from AccessoriesWhole that the monitor matches his expectations and promises to meet his and your standards.



Now I can't blame AccessoriesWhole for this due the sheer destination/mileage it is from Korea to New York and the troubles of going through customs. A couple if injuries to the box but it would've been worse if there was no bubble wrap on the outside..




On the inside, the monitor and stand are protected by another sheet of bubble wrap. There are two very thick dense foams that hold the monitor into place and protect the corners and allow the monitor not to move.



The accessories are straightforward.
1. Power Brick, 2 prong cable end
2. Euro-US Adapter
3. DVI-D Cable
4. Manual






Here we have one of the monitors out and on the table. These CrossOver LED-P monitors look awesome. The sheer size compared to my old Samsung 23inch, man just blows it out of the water.



Here we have a closer look at the CrossOver logo and the OSD display functions in the front. I have to mention there really isn't any OSD. There are three buttons in the back that align in accordance to what is shown in the front.
1. Power Button
2. Increase Brightness
3. Decrease Brightness



CrossOver monitors can come in two colors. Black or White. Mine are the Black version as you can see in the front. Regardless of color the backside of the monitor is white. I really think it gives it a unique and distinct look.



On the backside of the monitor stand there is a screw that holds it down in place for regular use. When unscrewed it allows the monitor to reach its highest point in elevation and allows the monitor to rotate for portrait mode.



Here we have some angle testing, going sideways and upwards. It's pretty decent I would say maybe a 15% angle adjustment on all areas.


Here is the single input I stated above. Again this enables for less input lag since there's no other processing for multi inputs.
Also the stand dismantled and removed from the CrossOver monitors. The holes in the pack allow for 3rd part monitor stands since the CrossOver's are Vesa mount compliant.



Here are the 3 CrossOver LED-P on the floor ready to be fixed for surround sound display.




Oh wait.. here they are on the table now. Looking sweet!



Now, not everything is right as rain. I had 1 problem and 1 problem only with these monitors. The Power button on 1 of my monitors was broken. Looks like it happen on the shipping venture. Not AccessoriesWhole fault, you can only do so much. The Mystery of shipping is a vast and cruel mistress. He is sending me a brand new Power/Brightness PCB Board as soon as he gets it. Got to love the customer service they give.



AccessoriesWhole really did a good job I must say. Even with the broken power button I used a flat surface pin to turn it on and it works great. All 3 monitors are pixel perfect and near perfect back-lighting. When he checks he really checks. I'm so surprised by the quality of these monitors. It makes pictures comes to life and the detail is extraordinary. If you are in the market and believe Pixel Perfect is a scam... Head over to AccesoriesWhole his guarantee is top notch!


Here are some 2560x1440p wallpapers being used on these bad boys.





















There you have it! All Wallpapers were taken with a calibrated profile for the CrossOver Monitors.



Custom ICC Color Profiles:

[Recommended] X-Rite Eye-One Display 2 set to 6500K, Gamma 2.2 -> http://uploading.com/files/get/c1333151/PB2700Super_6500K_2_2Gamma.rar

[Default, Brighter] Apple Thunder Bolt Calibrated Profile -> http://uploading.com/files/get/9c6c3f16/Thunderbolt%2BDisplay%2BCalibrated.rar

The recommended calibration did wonders on my monitors. Everything looks great.


To install custom ICC Profiles:
Right-click desktop → Screen resolution → Advanced settings → Color Management tab → Color Management → All Profiles tab → Add
or
Right click the profile and click Install

One installed, you may use DisplayProfle, to quickly switch between profiles. Easiest way to see the difference via color profiles
Download link ->
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/downloads/DisplayProfile.zip

To stop losing your color profile on reboot please follow the instructions in this link -
http://www.laszlopusztai.net/2009/08/23/stop-losing-display-calibration-with-windows-7/




Connecting 3rd monitor for EyeInfinity or Surround Display:
Another point to bring up. If you're going to use these monitors in Surround Display or AMD Infinity Eye. It is important to connect all monitors to just 1 graphics card. Nvidia display and AMD Infinity Eye works by keep 1 active monitor. Most Graphic Cards have numerous amount of display ports in the back. My 680 Classifieds have 2xDVI, 1x HDMI, 1X Display Port. The AMD 7970 has 1x HDMI, 2x DVI, 1x Mini Display Port.
To take advantage of this connect 2 monitors to the 2x dvi slots on both cards.
For the third monitor you need a DVI to Mini/Display port adapter/converter.
I personally use this - http://www.amazon.com/Accell-UltraAV-B087B-002B-DisplayPort-Dual-Link/dp/B002ISVI3U

It is important that the adapter/converter being used has a usb power function. For some odd reason or another the monitor is not being detected without it.


Premium Cables to buy for Korean monitors:
The DVI-D cable and Power cable that are provided are great but we can drastically improve performance and longevity with a higher copper wire thickness and quality.
I personally chose to increased the AWG count, more copper is better.
All cables were bought from Monoprice.com

6ft 14AWG Power Cord Cable w/ 3 Conductor PC Power Connector Socket (C13/5-15P) - Black
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10228&cs_id=1022801&p_id=5292&seq=1&format=2

6ft 24AWG CL2 Dual Link DVI-D Cable - Black
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10209&cs_id=1020901&p_id=2686&seq=1&format=2

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Recommended Sellers to Purchase Korean Monitors

Please note that the sellers below have been tested by the community and have proven to give the utmost attention to Customer Service, Email response. They also provide astounding and effiicient Replacement/Refund/PCB request.



[1st Recommendation] *AccessoriesWhole [AW]
[2nd Recommendation] BigClothCraft [BCC]
[3rd Recommendation] RedCap [RC]
[4th Recommendation] TAPlanet [TP]



--Legend--
* Honors true Pixel Perfect Guarantee when purchasing PP monitors.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________




Final Thoughts:
Hope you guys enjoyed my review and it spurred you to either upgrade your current monitor or consider getting the CrossOver LED-P.

Here is the direct link to the listing where I first saw the product.
Direct Link - http://www.ebay.com/itm/CROSSOVER-27Q-LED-P-Perfect-Pixel-27-DVI-LG-S-IPS-QHD-2560X1440-16-9-Monitor-/120926760460?ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

A Link to his Direct Store:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/Monitors-Projectors-Accs-/162497/i.html?_ipg=&_from=&_nkw=&_armrs=1&_ssn=accessorieswhole

If any product is at 999$, yea seems high.... only reason its at that price is the product listed is currently out of stock. Just wait it out and hopefully he will get more soon.

After I saw it, I contacted AccessoriesWhole through the message function on ebay and asked for the specific monitors and for it to be done on paypal. I was impressed by his professionalism and response. Just remember they don't work on the weekend's!

My recommendation if you are interested in these monitors is to go with AccessoriesWhole. His track record is impeccable and guarantees what he says. Customer Service is exceptional and the true "Pixel Perfect" exists!!!! I've seen it with my own two eyes on these beautiful monitors.





You can also follow me on my Super Snake Cobra 5.0 Custom Rig Build Log
All the products in the review are going to be put to the test with this rig.
Comments,Questions,Concerns are always welcome!
Link - http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?&m=1748657&mpage=1
Link - http://c2cmods.com/showthread.php?361-Mustang-Cobra-build
Edited by Cloudz00x - 12/13/12 at 10:49am
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
post #2 of 160
Nice review. Does the terrible glare/reflection from the glass bother you at all?
Kota's Rig
(8 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel C2Q X3380 @ 4.0 GHz Foxconn BLACKOPS X48 XFX 7870 Double D Black Edition 2 GB 8 GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-2133 
Hard DriveCoolingPowerCase
Samsung 840 250GB Corsair Hydro H50 Push/Pull Corsair HX620 Silver AeroCool Masstige (Modded) 
  hide details  
Reply
Kota's Rig
(8 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel C2Q X3380 @ 4.0 GHz Foxconn BLACKOPS X48 XFX 7870 Double D Black Edition 2 GB 8 GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-2133 
Hard DriveCoolingPowerCase
Samsung 840 250GB Corsair Hydro H50 Push/Pull Corsair HX620 Silver AeroCool Masstige (Modded) 
  hide details  
Reply
post #3 of 160
Completely wrong thread sorry
Edited by telmedragon - 11/28/12 at 6:09pm
post #4 of 160
I'm not sure why you're saying stability is an issue with ShiMians and even give it something sensationalized like 0/10. I own 2 of them and never needed to use a custom stand (though I have some extras). Both monitors are perfectly stable. If I shake my desk, they slightly shake as well, but ever so slightly. And I have to actually shake the desk for it to happen... I had a CrossOver briefly, and while certainly its stand was quite stable, it was also near-impossible to adjust on the desk without lifting up - the rubber base was practically gluing itself onto my desk surface, which was inconvenient.
   
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7 3770 @ 4.3 GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX GTX 660 Ti + Accelero Mono Plus, 1.875V G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB at 2133MHz 9-10-11-28-1T... 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Crucial m4 Hitachi TravelStar 2.5" SATA III Intel 330  BitFenix Recon fan controller 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
Corsair H100i Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 x 4 (radiator front... Phanteks 140mm fan (exhaust) Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan (bottom intake) 
OSOSOSMonitor
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit Windows 8 Professional 64-bit (trying it out) Linux Mint Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Dell U2412M 24" LZ-GH aluminum/steel TKL keyboard Seasonic G-550 80+ Gold Fractal Design Define R4 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Monoprice dual-surface aluminum IKEA Dioder light-changing LED strip on the roof Monoprice 10 x 6.25" drawing tablet 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 2400 3.8GHz turbo boost Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 Sapphire Dual-X 7970 OC Samsung 30nm ULP  
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingCooling
Corsair Force 3 LG DVD-RW Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B Noctua NF-S12B ULN 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan Bitfenix Spectre 200mm fan Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) Ducky Shine II MX Clears Corsair AX750 BitFenix Survivor in White 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Ikea circle! NZXT Hue Lamptron FC-9 
  hide details  
Reply
   
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7 3770 @ 4.3 GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX GTX 660 Ti + Accelero Mono Plus, 1.875V G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB at 2133MHz 9-10-11-28-1T... 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Crucial m4 Hitachi TravelStar 2.5" SATA III Intel 330  BitFenix Recon fan controller 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
Corsair H100i Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 x 4 (radiator front... Phanteks 140mm fan (exhaust) Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan (bottom intake) 
OSOSOSMonitor
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit Windows 8 Professional 64-bit (trying it out) Linux Mint Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Dell U2412M 24" LZ-GH aluminum/steel TKL keyboard Seasonic G-550 80+ Gold Fractal Design Define R4 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Monoprice dual-surface aluminum IKEA Dioder light-changing LED strip on the roof Monoprice 10 x 6.25" drawing tablet 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 2400 3.8GHz turbo boost Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 Sapphire Dual-X 7970 OC Samsung 30nm ULP  
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingCooling
Corsair Force 3 LG DVD-RW Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B Noctua NF-S12B ULN 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan Bitfenix Spectre 200mm fan Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) Ducky Shine II MX Clears Corsair AX750 BitFenix Survivor in White 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Ikea circle! NZXT Hue Lamptron FC-9 
  hide details  
Reply
post #5 of 160
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevenEleven View Post

I'm not sure why you're saying stability is an issue with ShiMians and even give it something sensationalized like 0/10. I own 2 of them and never needed to use a custom stand (though I have some extras). Both monitors are perfectly stable. If I shake my desk, they slightly shake as well, but ever so slightly. And I have to actually shake the desk for it to happen... I had a CrossOver briefly, and while certainly its stand was quite stable, it was also near-impossible to adjust on the desk without lifting up - the rubber base was practically gluing itself onto my desk surface, which was inconvenient.

Exactly my point. A good stand isn't suppose to make the monitor wobble. Only instance when the monitor should wobble or move is from the force of your hand or maybe a hard bump or uplift to the table there on. I do agree the Shimians are better stability wise then Catleaps but the construction of the stand and stability is the factor and both fail in those categories.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kota View Post

Nice review. Does the terrible glare/reflection from the glass bother you at all?

Not at all, the thing you gotta remember is the only reason monitors have the reflection glass instead of it being non reflective is to increase the depth of colors. So everything is done to make the colors look more vibrant. Also for stylish effects but I dont care much for that. The glare really doesn't bother me, when in a game or just on the desktop I dont notice it at all. When the monitors are off I actually do appreciate the glare/reflection.
Edited by Cloudz00x - 11/29/12 at 4:51am
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
post #6 of 160
running same 3 as well. They are nice for sure.
post #7 of 160
Nice review
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.7GHz (1.352v) ASRock Z68 Professional Gen 3 Fatal1ty Edition MSI GTX 980 Ti Golden Gaming Edition @ 1500MHz 16GB Mushkin Redline 4X4GB @ 2133MHz 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD Crucial M4 128GB SSD Seagate 2TB HDD 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung Writemaster Corsair H100i GTX Windows 10 Pro x64  Overlord Tempest X270 OC @ 120Hz 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Sentey@ Cobalt Pro Seasonic 750X Gold Corsair Carbide Air 540 Mionix Naos 7000 
Mouse PadAudioAudioAudio
Razer Sphex Aune T1 + Philips E88CC SQ Tube Audio-Technica WS99 JVC FXT90 Limited Edition 
AudioAudioAudioOther
AntLion ModMic Earsonics SM3 V2 + Toxic Copper Cable Creative Gigaworks T3 4 x 120mm Gelid Solutions Blue LED Fans 
OtherOther
2 x 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon Fans  Lamptron FC5 V2 Fan Controller 
  hide details  
Reply
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.7GHz (1.352v) ASRock Z68 Professional Gen 3 Fatal1ty Edition MSI GTX 980 Ti Golden Gaming Edition @ 1500MHz 16GB Mushkin Redline 4X4GB @ 2133MHz 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD Crucial M4 128GB SSD Seagate 2TB HDD 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung Writemaster Corsair H100i GTX Windows 10 Pro x64  Overlord Tempest X270 OC @ 120Hz 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Sentey@ Cobalt Pro Seasonic 750X Gold Corsair Carbide Air 540 Mionix Naos 7000 
Mouse PadAudioAudioAudio
Razer Sphex Aune T1 + Philips E88CC SQ Tube Audio-Technica WS99 JVC FXT90 Limited Edition 
AudioAudioAudioOther
AntLion ModMic Earsonics SM3 V2 + Toxic Copper Cable Creative Gigaworks T3 4 x 120mm Gelid Solutions Blue LED Fans 
OtherOther
2 x 120mm Scythe Gentle Typhoon Fans  Lamptron FC5 V2 Fan Controller 
  hide details  
Reply
post #8 of 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudz00x View Post

Exactly my point. A good stand isn't suppose to make the monitor wobble. Only instance when the monitor should wobble or move is from the force of your hand or maybe a hard bump or uplift to the table there on. I do agree the Shimians are better stability wise then Catleaps but the construction of the stand and stability is the factor and both fail in those categories.

So a very slight wobble when physically forcefully shaking a table warrants a 0/10 stability rating? Again, you are sensationalizing and bashing a perfectly good product based on some odd assumption. I've had a CrossOver and 2 ShiMians with tempered glass, and I prefer the ShiMians by far. Personal preferences are subjective, but I don't give CrossOvers a poor rating because their LED light for the power button is visible where the frame joins, thus making it look cheap and poorly constructed, etc.
   
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7 3770 @ 4.3 GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX GTX 660 Ti + Accelero Mono Plus, 1.875V G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB at 2133MHz 9-10-11-28-1T... 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Crucial m4 Hitachi TravelStar 2.5" SATA III Intel 330  BitFenix Recon fan controller 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
Corsair H100i Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 x 4 (radiator front... Phanteks 140mm fan (exhaust) Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan (bottom intake) 
OSOSOSMonitor
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit Windows 8 Professional 64-bit (trying it out) Linux Mint Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Dell U2412M 24" LZ-GH aluminum/steel TKL keyboard Seasonic G-550 80+ Gold Fractal Design Define R4 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Monoprice dual-surface aluminum IKEA Dioder light-changing LED strip on the roof Monoprice 10 x 6.25" drawing tablet 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 2400 3.8GHz turbo boost Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 Sapphire Dual-X 7970 OC Samsung 30nm ULP  
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingCooling
Corsair Force 3 LG DVD-RW Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B Noctua NF-S12B ULN 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan Bitfenix Spectre 200mm fan Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) Ducky Shine II MX Clears Corsair AX750 BitFenix Survivor in White 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Ikea circle! NZXT Hue Lamptron FC-9 
  hide details  
Reply
   
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7 3770 @ 4.3 GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX GTX 660 Ti + Accelero Mono Plus, 1.875V G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB at 2133MHz 9-10-11-28-1T... 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Crucial m4 Hitachi TravelStar 2.5" SATA III Intel 330  BitFenix Recon fan controller 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
Corsair H100i Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 x 4 (radiator front... Phanteks 140mm fan (exhaust) Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan (bottom intake) 
OSOSOSMonitor
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit Windows 8 Professional 64-bit (trying it out) Linux Mint Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Dell U2412M 24" LZ-GH aluminum/steel TKL keyboard Seasonic G-550 80+ Gold Fractal Design Define R4 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Monoprice dual-surface aluminum IKEA Dioder light-changing LED strip on the roof Monoprice 10 x 6.25" drawing tablet 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 2400 3.8GHz turbo boost Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 Sapphire Dual-X 7970 OC Samsung 30nm ULP  
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingCooling
Corsair Force 3 LG DVD-RW Zalman CNPS9900MAX-B Noctua NF-S12B ULN 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-14 Fractal Design R2 Silent 140mm fan Bitfenix Spectre 200mm fan Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
Achieva ShiMian 27" IPSB (tempered glass) Ducky Shine II MX Clears Corsair AX750 BitFenix Survivor in White 
MouseMouse PadOtherOther
Logitech MX518 Ikea circle! NZXT Hue Lamptron FC-9 
  hide details  
Reply
post #9 of 160
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevenEleven View Post

So a very slight wobble when physically forcefully shaking a table warrants a 0/10 stability rating? Again, you are sensationalizing and bashing a perfectly good product based on some odd assumption. I've had a CrossOver and 2 ShiMians with tempered glass, and I prefer the ShiMians by far. Personal preferences are subjective, but I don't give CrossOvers a poor rating because their LED light for the power button is visible where the frame joins, thus making it look cheap and poorly constructed, etc.

Regardless, as you said personal preferences are subjective and so is this review. The review is meant to highlight the CrossOver's and and explain the differences between the monitors. If it bothers you that much, you have the ability to create your own review. Thank for reading.
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
Super Cobra 5.0
(15 items)
 
DD Torture Rack
(15 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3930K RAMPAGE IV EXTREME 4x Evga GeForce GTX 680 Classified 32Gig Corsair Dominator Platinum 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveOS
2x Seagate 3TB Barracuda 256g Sasmung 830 Pro LG DVD Windows 7 64bit Pro 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEx 1500 Cosmos II 
MouseMouse PadAudio
tt esports lvl10 mouse SteelSeries SX Asus Essence STX 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Intel 3930k 3x Evga GTX 680 Corsair Dominator Platinum 16g 1866 Segate 3TB barracuda 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
Samsung 830 124G SSD LG Blu-Ray Dvd Burner EK Water Cooling Windows 7 Home 64bit 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
CrossOver 27Q LED-P Ducky Shine II Evga NEX1500 PSU Danger Den Torture Rack 
MouseMouse PadAudio
TT eSports LVL10 SteelSeries SX Corsair SP2500 
  hide details  
Reply
post #10 of 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevenEleven View Post

So a very slight wobble when physically forcefully shaking a table warrants a 0/10 stability rating? Again, you are sensationalizing and bashing a perfectly good product based on some odd assumption. I've had a CrossOver and 2 ShiMians with tempered glass, and I prefer the ShiMians by far. Personal preferences are subjective, but I don't give CrossOvers a poor rating because their LED light for the power button is visible where the frame joins, thus making it look cheap and poorly constructed, etc.

if an led light location is where you base your judgement of it's poorly constructed when entire monitor is made of metal...then not sure what would make you happy?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Monitors and Displays
Overclock.net › Forums › Components › Monitors and Displays › [Review] CrossOver LED-P 2560x1440p Monitors