Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [PCPer] Frame Rating Comparison - HD 7950 CrossFire vs GTX 660 Ti SLI (full review)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

[PCPer] Frame Rating Comparison - HD 7950 CrossFire vs GTX 660 Ti SLI (full review) - Page 38  

post #371 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane2207 View Post

This thread is still going?

To the rest of you: are you not bored of arguing with zgunBLADEz and KaRLiToS yet?

Regardless of how many news sites report the same thing, they're all obviously taking Nvidias money.

Guru3D, PCPer, Toms, Tech Report, etc etc - it's all a massive Nvidia payout and conspiracy.

I'd love to hang around and chat but I have to go out, I've just realised I'm all out of tinfoil tongue.gif
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

I like more guru3d on this than pcper...

They leave questions open as well as explaining everything better...

Also..
This is more neutral than pcper oh hey 7970 cfx users your second card is utterly worthless XD
You can see in their podcast how cynical they were laughing at amd on the announcement of 7990

Thats how it should be done long time ago pcper learn learn learn...

props for guru3d

Thats how IT SHOULD BE DONE..
Edited by zGunBLADEz - 4/4/13 at 2:57pm
post #372 of 542
you can't satisfy everyone, there will always be haters.. rolleyes.gif
thread is not funny. tongue.gif
post #373 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane2207 View Post

I'd love to hang around and chat but I have to go out, I've just realised I'm all out of tinfoil tongue.gif

Jokes on you.

They don't use tin anymore!
 
NZXT Source 210
(14 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Ryzen R7 1700 Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 XFX RX480 GTR Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 16GB 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Western Digital 1TB WD10EXEXSP Western Digital 1TB WD10EXEXSP 
CoolingOSPowerCase
NZXT Kraken X62 Windows 10 Pro EVGA Supernova 750 G3 NZXT S340 Glossy Black 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD FX6300 ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 XFX Radeon RX 480 Corsair Vengence LP 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
Western Digital WD5003AZEX Samsung 840 Evo Samsung 850 Pro LG GH24NS95 
CoolingOSMonitorPower
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus Windows 10 40" 1080p Vizio LED LCD HDTV Corsair CX600M 
Case
NZXT Source 210 Elite - Black 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Pentium 4 w/ HT 3.2GHz Dell N6381 Intel Extreme Graphics 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!... 512MB DDR 400 
Hard DriveCoolingOSPower
Western Digital 160GB IDE Covered in a thick layer of dust Windows XP Home Edition 32bit Dell M0148 250w 
Case
Dell Dimension 3000 
  hide details  
 
NZXT Source 210
(14 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Ryzen R7 1700 Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 XFX RX480 GTR Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 16GB 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Western Digital 1TB WD10EXEXSP Western Digital 1TB WD10EXEXSP 
CoolingOSPowerCase
NZXT Kraken X62 Windows 10 Pro EVGA Supernova 750 G3 NZXT S340 Glossy Black 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD FX6300 ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 XFX Radeon RX 480 Corsair Vengence LP 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
Western Digital WD5003AZEX Samsung 840 Evo Samsung 850 Pro LG GH24NS95 
CoolingOSMonitorPower
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus Windows 10 40" 1080p Vizio LED LCD HDTV Corsair CX600M 
Case
NZXT Source 210 Elite - Black 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Pentium 4 w/ HT 3.2GHz Dell N6381 Intel Extreme Graphics 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!... 512MB DDR 400 
Hard DriveCoolingOSPower
Western Digital 160GB IDE Covered in a thick layer of dust Windows XP Home Edition 32bit Dell M0148 250w 
Case
Dell Dimension 3000 
  hide details  
post #374 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blameless View Post


This usually true, but not always. I have games that play worse in Crossfire than with a single card. It's not terribly uncommon. Of modern games, Hawken is the prime example that comes to mind.

Anyway, just not being worse than a single card is a pretty terrible justification for crossfire. There should be obvious improvement, across the board, for all users, even those who are sensitive to inconsistent frame intervals.

some games can't even utilize multi GPU at all (which includes CF) and at some points just perform worse. the problem of multi GPU (and single) always starts at the application level (i.e. game) and should always be checked first their. only then everything else.

i just commented on the over exaggerated statement that CF is worse than single setup. i agree that CF and multi GPU in general should provide better performance along the board, aka better scaling, but it is sometimes a game problem and not always company's fault. (lets not forget that to get tot he great scalings of today's CF and SLI wasn't a short road)
"Black & Red"
(10 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5-3570k ASUS Maximus V Formula Sapphire HD 7950 OC 950Mhz Edition G.Skill 16GB (2x8G) 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 (F3-10666C... 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveCooling
Crucial M4 128GB SSD Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB ASUS DRW-24B3ST DVD Burner Antec Kuhler 920 
PowerCase
Corsair AX 750 Corsair C70 
  hide details  
"Black & Red"
(10 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5-3570k ASUS Maximus V Formula Sapphire HD 7950 OC 950Mhz Edition G.Skill 16GB (2x8G) 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 (F3-10666C... 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveCooling
Crucial M4 128GB SSD Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB ASUS DRW-24B3ST DVD Burner Antec Kuhler 920 
PowerCase
Corsair AX 750 Corsair C70 
  hide details  
post #375 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane2207 View Post

This thread is still going?

To the rest of you: are you not bored of arguing with zgunBLADEz and KaRLiToS yet?
Regardless of how many news sites report the same thing, they're all obviously taking Nvidias money.
Guru3D, PCPer, Toms, Tech Report, etc etc - it's all a massive Nvidia payout and conspiracy.
I'd love to hang around and chat but I have to go out, I've just realised I'm all out of tinfoil tongue.gif

It's sad that my reputation is taking a hit here because you CAN'T understand my point.
(I am wasting posts to talk about my points, you are all denying it because its filled with Nvidia users, how can you even tell there is uber-stutters when you don't have these AMD setups, this is annoying.)

I'm not denying the stutter issue in some games, not denying it at all.

What I say is, they are only reviewing 3 games and they are exagerating everything. It's not like AMD users were screwed up with their CrossFire setup.

But like malmental said: There will always be haters.

There is 60% more haters in this thread. (Please refer to steam statistics or Valley Thread stats to understand the meaning of this)
Quad Damage
(24 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i7 4930k @ 4.6Ghz Asus Rampage IV Extreme (Koolance Full WB) 2 x GTX 1080ti FE in SLI (EK WATERBLOCK) Corsair Dominator GT 2133 MHz (16GB) 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
3 TB Seagate OCZ Vertex 4 256GB Crucial M4 128GB ADATA SX900 128GB 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
RIVE Koolance Waterblock (VRM and PCH) Feser X-Changer 360 Feser X-Changer 240 Feser X-Changer 480 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
WaterCool MoRA3 Pro with Gentle Typhoon 3 x MCP 655 pumps (With EK top...all serial) 2 x EK FC 1080ti Blocks Windows 7 Ultimate x64 
MonitorMonitorKeyboardPower
Asus ROG Swift PG348Q (3440x1440 @100hz) CrossOver 27Q Led-P Logitech G15 EVGA SuperNova 1600T2 (Titanium) 
CaseMouseMouse PadAudio
Corsair Obsidian Heavily Modded Logitech G700 RocketFish Speed/Control M-audio AV-40 (Logitech G-35) 
  hide details  
Quad Damage
(24 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i7 4930k @ 4.6Ghz Asus Rampage IV Extreme (Koolance Full WB) 2 x GTX 1080ti FE in SLI (EK WATERBLOCK) Corsair Dominator GT 2133 MHz (16GB) 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
3 TB Seagate OCZ Vertex 4 256GB Crucial M4 128GB ADATA SX900 128GB 
CoolingCoolingCoolingCooling
RIVE Koolance Waterblock (VRM and PCH) Feser X-Changer 360 Feser X-Changer 240 Feser X-Changer 480 
CoolingCoolingCoolingOS
WaterCool MoRA3 Pro with Gentle Typhoon 3 x MCP 655 pumps (With EK top...all serial) 2 x EK FC 1080ti Blocks Windows 7 Ultimate x64 
MonitorMonitorKeyboardPower
Asus ROG Swift PG348Q (3440x1440 @100hz) CrossOver 27Q Led-P Logitech G15 EVGA SuperNova 1600T2 (Titanium) 
CaseMouseMouse PadAudio
Corsair Obsidian Heavily Modded Logitech G700 RocketFish Speed/Control M-audio AV-40 (Logitech G-35) 
  hide details  
post #376 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by looniam View Post

if you start at the beginning they talk about an AMD sponsored event with the bioshock infinite gaming stream. and also a few other points were brought up; AMD still pays to have advertising on the site and amd still gives them cards to review.

now if PCper is receiving money from nvidia to develop a tool to make AMD look bad and publish such results there can be only one logical conclusion:

amd is very very very stupid.


edit: i wonder what color the porches are?

They are obviously green, no way NVIDIA would buy them red ones. lachen.gif

Thanks for posting the podcast. So clear that these guys aren't being paid by NVIDIA, heck, NVIDIA hasn't advertised on their site for over a year, while AMD paid ads are still running there today. If anything, they would have an AMD bias in their reviews, LMAO.

Heck, they even bought their own capture card, NVIDIA didn't even provide that.

Did you hear the part where they recommend a 7950 if you're not planning multi-GPU in the future? They're so biased!
Edited by 2010rig - 4/4/13 at 3:22pm
2010rig
(14 items)
 
Galaxy S3
(8 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
X5660 @ 4.5  ASUS P6X58D-E 980TI? 12GB OCZ Platinum - 7-7-7-21 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
1 80GB SSD x25m - 3TB F3 + F4 NH-D14 Windows 7 Ultimate LG 47LH55 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Natural Wireless Keyboard Corsair 750HX CM 690 II Advanced MX 518 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Snapdragon S4 Dual core 1500mhz Adreno 225 Samsung 2GB 16GB Onboard Flash 
OSMonitorPowerCase
Android 4.4.2 - CM11 4.8" AMOLED 1280x720 2100 mAh battery Otterbox Defender 
  hide details  
2010rig
(14 items)
 
Galaxy S3
(8 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
X5660 @ 4.5  ASUS P6X58D-E 980TI? 12GB OCZ Platinum - 7-7-7-21 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
1 80GB SSD x25m - 3TB F3 + F4 NH-D14 Windows 7 Ultimate LG 47LH55 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Natural Wireless Keyboard Corsair 750HX CM 690 II Advanced MX 518 
CPUGraphicsRAMHard Drive
Snapdragon S4 Dual core 1500mhz Adreno 225 Samsung 2GB 16GB Onboard Flash 
OSMonitorPowerCase
Android 4.4.2 - CM11 4.8" AMOLED 1280x720 2100 mAh battery Otterbox Defender 
  hide details  
post #377 of 542
Thread Starter 
crysis 3 anyone?


just found some "dirt"
loon 3.2
(18 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7-3770K Asus P8Z77-V Pro EVGA 980TI SC+ 16Gb PNY ddr3 1866 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb 1 TB Seagate 3 TB WD Blue DVD DVDRW+/- 
CoolingCoolingOSMonitor
EKWB P280 kit EK-VGA supremacy Win X LG 24MC57HQ-P 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Ducky Zero [blues] EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 Stryker M [hammered and drilled] corsair M65 
AudioAudio
SB Recon3D Klipsch ProMedia 2.1  
  hide details  
loon 3.2
(18 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7-3770K Asus P8Z77-V Pro EVGA 980TI SC+ 16Gb PNY ddr3 1866 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb 1 TB Seagate 3 TB WD Blue DVD DVDRW+/- 
CoolingCoolingOSMonitor
EKWB P280 kit EK-VGA supremacy Win X LG 24MC57HQ-P 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Ducky Zero [blues] EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 Stryker M [hammered and drilled] corsair M65 
AudioAudio
SB Recon3D Klipsch ProMedia 2.1  
  hide details  
post #378 of 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by looniam View Post

crysis 3 anyone?


just found some "dirt"

THE MUSIC puke.gif *anger*

on Crysis 3 TBH they look both crappier, just on Nvidia they have a bit more toilet paper (and that's kids the worst apology ever. period) though i think it is important to note that this is 30% of speed.
Dirt 3 is flawless on both (maybe notice like 2 stutters on both)


But the videos are so out of sync that it is frustrating. (maybe i play too many RTS games, but shouldn't there be a feature to save a replay of something that plays on itself when you open it?)
and i'd love if the videos would mention the GPU setup in the end so we could have a little game to distract us from the goddamn awful music.
"Black & Red"
(10 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5-3570k ASUS Maximus V Formula Sapphire HD 7950 OC 950Mhz Edition G.Skill 16GB (2x8G) 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 (F3-10666C... 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveCooling
Crucial M4 128GB SSD Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB ASUS DRW-24B3ST DVD Burner Antec Kuhler 920 
PowerCase
Corsair AX 750 Corsair C70 
  hide details  
"Black & Red"
(10 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5-3570k ASUS Maximus V Formula Sapphire HD 7950 OC 950Mhz Edition G.Skill 16GB (2x8G) 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 (F3-10666C... 
Hard DriveHard DriveOptical DriveCooling
Crucial M4 128GB SSD Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB ASUS DRW-24B3ST DVD Burner Antec Kuhler 920 
PowerCase
Corsair AX 750 Corsair C70 
  hide details  
post #379 of 542
Am I the only one who likes the music in those videos?

On the actual topic though, these conspiracy theories are getting ridiculous. Its becoming a blight on the community. Put your critical thinking caps on for a second and you'll see why this conspiracy crap is just that: Crap.

Whether this has any effect on just a few or many, its still an issue. And if AMD gets it fixed, then we have some real competition on our hands. Competition is always great for the consumer because that drives technology. Needless conspiracies on the other hand don't drive technology.
post #380 of 542
Some guys need to understand that Ryan at pcper was using his own method for singling out runt frames etc before going to nvidia. It's simply video data, frame by frame of what your gpu is sending out.

You can record the output of your gpu and manually color code them, no need for nvidia or any software, trouble is, this takes time.

In order to do a comprehensive article you need some software to count and color and organize the data. The data is immense for an article like this. The guy actually lost money trying to get someone to come up with software and they went to nvidia for help with the coding after . All nvidia do is provide an overaly code so the guys at pcper can do proper graphs and longer benchmarks..

To do it manually you would need to check hundreds of frames for only a few seconds of video. Without the nvidia colour overlay, the partial frames and dropped frames are still detectable.

nvidia aren't paying them or those four sites in question, nothing is actaully new here. now we can with fast hard drives do a thorough test of what your gpu is sending out, view frame by frame uncompressed. this sheds light on what most of us see when playing games, stuttering, skipped frames, tearing.

triple, quad have a thrid gpu which can help if the other has a late frame, its easy to balance out frame times across 3 or more
Edited by routek - 4/4/13 at 4:38pm
My System
(13 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsOS
i7 930  Asus P6X58D-E MSI GTX 970 Gaming Windows 10 64bit 
  hide details  
My System
(13 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsOS
i7 930  Asus P6X58D-E MSI GTX 970 Gaming Windows 10 64bit 
  hide details  
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Hardware News
This thread is locked  
Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [PCPer] Frame Rating Comparison - HD 7950 CrossFire vs GTX 660 Ti SLI (full review)