Overclock.net › Forums › Case Mods & Cases › Computer Cases › Need Opinions for New Build
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Need Opinions for New Build

post #1 of 65
Thread Starter 
Howdy forums! I'm about to start a new build, and I am looking for a little (well, maybe a lot of) advice. Most of the parts come from machines I've harvested, but I will need to buy a few things to put it all together. Please, feel free to give me your opinions!

What I have so far:
MOBO: MSI X79A-GD45
Processor: 12 core 3.2ghz Intel
RAM: lots (32gig ddr3)
GPU's: Nvidia (MSI technically) GTX760 and GTX660

I need a case and a PSU to put this stuff in. For the PSU, I like this: http://www.amazon.com/Sentey%C2%AE-Power-Supply-750w-Bronze/dp/B00I3NUDVC/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8

I still haven't found a case I like. I would like one that doesn't have all the space up front for drives. I don't need it. I doubt I'll have any optical drives at all. It would also be cool if it was pink or black/pink. I also need keyboard/mouse/monitor too, but that's pretty easy. If you have any opinions on these, I'm all ears.

I'm building this as a Christmas present for my son. He LOVES Minecraft. I'm sure it will get used for homework and general messing around on the 'net too. It might be overkill, but I already own the expensive parts. And lastly, no, I'm not liquid cooling it. It's out of my price range.

Lemme know what you guys/gals think.
Edited by jgrote - 11/8/15 at 8:26pm
post #2 of 65

MSI doesn't make CPUs, but both Intel and AMD do.

 

You would never need liquid cooling for this.

 

The PSU that you found there is actually one of those "avoid-at-all-costs" type of PSUs. It's no good. Even if it were a good quality-made PSU, the power capacity is massive overkill for this.

 

Here's a PSU that's known to be of high quality at a price that's still very reasonable: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/cooler-master-power-supply-rs550amaag1s1

 

It's $50 after a $30 mail-in rebate.

It's a computer!
(19 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage) ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850) GTX 780 ASUS DirectCU II (1228 / 6300, 1.180V) G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (C:\) 250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (D:\) 150 GB WD VelociRaptor Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner Thermaltake Frio Win 7 Home Premium x64 SP1 Retail AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC) 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO Corsair HX650 (Bronze, ordered on 12-12-2009) CM 690 Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate 
Mouse PadAudioAudio
Basic, but premium round X-Fi Titanium HD Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable... 
  hide details  
Reply
It's a computer!
(19 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage) ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850) GTX 780 ASUS DirectCU II (1228 / 6300, 1.180V) G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (C:\) 250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (D:\) 150 GB WD VelociRaptor Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner Thermaltake Frio Win 7 Home Premium x64 SP1 Retail AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC) 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO Corsair HX650 (Bronze, ordered on 12-12-2009) CM 690 Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate 
Mouse PadAudioAudio
Basic, but premium round X-Fi Titanium HD Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable... 
  hide details  
Reply
post #3 of 65
Thread Starter 
Thank you for the link. Not that I'm doubting you, but why is the PSU I linked so bad, and have such good reviews on Amazon? Also, do you have any recommendations for case?
post #4 of 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgrote View Post

Thank you for the link. Not that I'm doubting you, but why is the PSU I linked so bad, and have such good reviews on Amazon? Also, do you have any recommendations for case?

 

Because almost no customer review is written by a PSU expert. Too many people just go "Yep, it works. 5 stars. It's a PSU and it works. What more can I say?" A LOT MORE. Study any PSU review on JonnyGURU.com and you'll see. You can find PSUs that are 10x worse than this Sentey unit that have excellent customer reviews because no one knows what they're talking about.

 

The world of PSUs is very complex. The gist of why this particular PSU should be avoided is, it's just a very low-quality PSU due to what's inside and also the build quality inside - as well as the low quality of the power delivery. It's just a junker. The PSU that I linked to is the cheapest safe-to-recommend PSU that I can recommend in good conscience.

 

This PSU-related stuff is the only thing that I'm able to contribute here.

It's a computer!
(19 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage) ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850) GTX 780 ASUS DirectCU II (1228 / 6300, 1.180V) G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (C:\) 250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (D:\) 150 GB WD VelociRaptor Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner Thermaltake Frio Win 7 Home Premium x64 SP1 Retail AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC) 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO Corsair HX650 (Bronze, ordered on 12-12-2009) CM 690 Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate 
Mouse PadAudioAudio
Basic, but premium round X-Fi Titanium HD Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable... 
  hide details  
Reply
It's a computer!
(19 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage) ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850) GTX 780 ASUS DirectCU II (1228 / 6300, 1.180V) G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveOptical Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (C:\) 250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (D:\) 150 GB WD VelociRaptor Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner 
Optical DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner Thermaltake Frio Win 7 Home Premium x64 SP1 Retail AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC) 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO Corsair HX650 (Bronze, ordered on 12-12-2009) CM 690 Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate 
Mouse PadAudioAudio
Basic, but premium round X-Fi Titanium HD Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable... 
  hide details  
Reply
post #5 of 65
Thread Starter 
Thanks for the info. I will adjust accordingly. Are there any others out there with advice?
post #6 of 65
recommendations reviewed by OCN PSU experts

http://www.overclock.net/t/183810/faq-recommended-power-supplies

there is a reason it's a sticky thread on the PSU section smile.gif

and a few things... pink color scheme for your son? it's really hard to find a "good" case with pink color scheme since most pink cases are not that great... would you settle for an all black case? maybe home depot the pink accents if that's really important?

12 core processor for your son? what's he doing, getting his 3rd PHD from MIT @ 12 yrs old or something? biggrin.gif it's almost a shame to pair that up with "weak" GPU's like that biggrin.gif not saying 660 or 760's are weak but compared to a 12 core they definitely don't look like they belong biggrin.gif if he's only doing minecraft, it's almost better to get him a skylake i3 or i5 then run the 660 with it. and you can get an itx and go pink with a decent case like this

http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Mini-DTX-Mini-ITX-SG13P/dp/B0148P0CT6/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1447170694&sr=1-1&keywords=SilverStone+Technology+Mini-DTX%2C+Mini-ITX+Small+Form+Factor+Computer+Case+SG13P+Pink
Edited by psyclum - 11/10/15 at 7:52am
post #7 of 65
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyclum View Post

recommendations reviewed by OCN PSU experts

http://www.overclock.net/t/183810/faq-recommended-power-supplies

there is a reason it's a sticky thread on the PSU section smile.gif

I figured, but I'm still new here, and still finding all the info I can. I'll read up on PSU's tonight. (This is not the only place I'm using for my research.) I guess I should have started with a more basic PSU question though; What size do you think is adequate, will give me room for growth, but isn't complete overkill?
edit: found this: http://outervision.com/power-supply-calculator
Quote:
and a few things... pink color scheme for your son? it's really hard to find a "good" case with pink color scheme since most pink cases are not that great... would you settle for an all black case? maybe home depot the pink accents if that's really important?

I've discovered this. He likes black and pink together. Who am I to tell him what is cool? I lost my "cool" status the day I became a parent.
Quote:
12 core processor for your son? what's he doing, getting his 3rd PHD from MIT @ 12 yrs old or something? biggrin.gif it's almost a shame to pair that up with "weak" GPU's like that biggrin.gif not saying 660 or 760's are weak but compared to a 12 core they definitely don't look like they belong biggrin.gif if he's only doing minecraft, it's almost better to get him a skylake i3 or i5 then run the 660 with it. and you can get an itx and go pink with a decent case like this

http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Mini-DTX-Mini-ITX-SG13P/dp/B0148P0CT6/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1447170694&sr=1-1&keywords=SilverStone+Technology+Mini-DTX%2C+Mini-ITX+Small+Form+Factor+Computer+Case+SG13P+Pink

I'm on a serious budget, and I already own this stuff. Better than that, I actually own 2 identical setups. (And they're both brand new) Pretty much all I need is a case, PSU, keyboard, and mouse. Minecraft is what's got his attention right now, but I'm sure he'll be into something else later. At least I'll have a PC that will be able to handle whatever I throw at it for a while.
Edited by jgrote - 11/10/15 at 5:28pm
post #8 of 65
black and pink is a really difficult combo to find. i've only ever seen white and pink in stock colors. if black and pink is what he likes, you are honestly looking at a trip to home depot for some painters tape and a can of self priming krylon for the pink parts

as far as power consumption, the only 12 core intel i know of that has 3.2ghz in it's spec is the xeon E5 2695v2 which comes in at 115w TDP (unless you meant 12 thread instead of 12 cores)

and with the GTX 760 drawing 170w TDP, you are looking at 285w for just the 2 processors. add in a generous misc power draw of maybe 100w you are looking at 385w PSU at stock clocks during benchmark loads. if you aren't going to overclock it at all, a quality 400w can push that system. so it really depends on how much you are looking at OCing and future plans of the system. do you intend to SLi somewhere in the lifetime of this rig? do note that minecraft isn't going to touch this systems capabilities anytime in the near future so... biggrin.gif

i suppose we need more info on what your plans are for this rig and how much futureproofing you intend to do for it to give a proper recommendation of how much PSU to recommend.

other recommendation is DEFINITELY get an SSD for the OS drive smile.gif i cant imagine building a system like that and still relying on platters for booting up smile.gif SSD for OS is an absolute must these days.
post #9 of 65
Thread Starter 
My gawd, that was extremely helpful. You sort of answered everything I was wondering. I'm fully prepared to mod a case to fit my needs. I have the skills and tools to make something really cool. My only concern is time. I say 12 cores, because that's what the computer tells me when I check my computer, about. I'm most definitely a novice (at best) when it comes to various components. I've put a few PC's together, but really I was just installing parts into a case more than anything else. All of the parts listed above are already built and installed in something, but it is not a PC per se. It was in an industrial machine. I was considered DOA because it wouldn't boot up. The MFG of the machine just replaced the whole thing. I took it apart and found that the RAM had come loose on the MOBO.

I see this unit getting a better GPU at some point, and maybe some OC, just for the fun of it. It seems having 1 great GPU is better than 2 okay GPU's. However, I don't know what SLi means, so I can't answer that intelligently. I may also use this unit as my media server, but not for now. I may just build another one from the other parts I have. My present media server is getting a little old, although working just fine for now.

What it comes down to is I have the ability to have a monster of a computer, so why not see what it can do?


PS, when I get started, there will be pics. I've done more than a few build threads in my past, and I know they mean nothing without pics! If you want to see how I bastardize things, read this: http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f145/h6-into-my-sf-70682/

And to give you a laugh, look at this response I got on the forum I spend most my time: http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f76/attn-computer-builders-538553/#post5470858 Now you can see why it's so difficult to get good answers.
Edited by jgrote - 11/10/15 at 8:52pm
post #10 of 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgrote View Post

All of the parts listed above are already built and installed in something, but it is not a PC per se. It was in an industrial machine. I was considered DOA because it wouldn't boot up. The MFG of the machine just replaced the whole thing. I took it apart and found that the RAM had come loose on the MOBO.

I see this unit getting a better GPU at some point, and maybe some OC, just for the fun of it. It seems having 1 great GPU is better than 2 okay GPU's. However, I don't know what SLi means, so I can't answer that intelligently. I may also use this unit as my media server, but not for now. I may just build another one from the other parts I have. My present media server is getting a little old, although working just fine for now.
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f145/h6-into-my-sf-70682/

hum... if it's an industrial / server grade machine, then you've better put up a few pics on what the the thing looks like... was the MSI X79A-GD45 the original mobo that came with the industrial machine? if not, there may be some problems in terms of compatibility between the mobo and the chip itself. this may be the most important question for this build since an 12 core $2000+ Xeon E5 server grade chip is significantly different then a normal 6 core $500 i7 enthusiast grade chip biggrin.gif until that's sorted out, we'll just leave that alone for now

as far as SLi, that's the nvidia way of saying putting more then vid cards in the same machine. the amd equivalent is called crossfire or simply xfire. obviously if you use 2 x 170watt vid card in the machine, then it's using 340watts for video cards instead of just 170watts for a single video card. when recommending PSU, we need to know what you intend to do in the future so you don't have an undersized PSU for that intended need. the most powerful video cards today can draw up to 400w of power so that also need to be put into consideration as to how far you intend to upgrade this machine.

it seems to me you have some things to think over and get back to us in terms of how much upgrades / overclocking you intend to do so we can properly spec out the PSU you need.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Computer Cases
Overclock.net › Forums › Case Mods & Cases › Computer Cases › Need Opinions for New Build