Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [Legit Reviews] Diamond Radeon HD 3870 1GB GPUs Don't Have 512-bit Memory Interfaces
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

[Legit Reviews] Diamond Radeon HD 3870 1GB GPUs Don't Have 512-bit Memory Interfaces

post #1 of 2
Thread Starter 
Looks like there is a good reason for the the "512-bit" 3870s to not offer a performance improvement...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legit Reviews
Miscommunication Between our Factory and Engineering

This past Tuesday we did an article on the Diamond Viper Radeon HD 3870 1GB video card and it turns out some of the details in that article were incorrect. When the Diamond Multimedia launched the first 1GB ATI Radeon HD 3870 graphics card they had the memory interface incorrectly labeled as 512-bit. One of our sharp eyed readers that purchased the card caught the mistake and let us know about it. We looked around the internet and found that Diamond and every retailer selling the card has the memory interface listed at 512-bit.

Legit Reviews contacted the Diamond Multimedia marketing department and asked them to confirm that the video card had a 512-bit memory interface. After a quick phone call overseas it turns out that the card is not! Mistakes like this happen all the time and we are pointing it out as our article on Tuesday had bad information in it. We obtained that information from the Diamond Multimedia website and the preliminary specification sheet that was sent out to review sites.

In an official statement for Legit Reviews, Diamond Multimedia had this to say on the issue.

"Upon looking into this, it seems that there was some miscommunication between our factory and engineering. We have confirmed that the box is correct in stating 256-bit memory interface. We truly apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. We will be fixing all online sources to reflect the correction." - Diamond Multimedia PR on 4/25/2008

It seems that the box has the correct information on it, but everthing on the internet is incorrect. The Diamond Viper Radeon HD 3870 1GB video card is available at CompUSA, Newegg, Mwave, Zipzoomfly, Tigerdirect, E******** and NCIX. All of these stores have the wrong information listed.

Hopefully over the next few days many of the retailers will be able to update the details of the Diamond Viper Radeon HD 3870 1GB video card. Thanks again to all the sharp eyed consumers that caught the typo and let us know about it! It would have been interesting to see this card with a 512-bit memory interface, but what can you do.
Source: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/702/1/
Primary
(15 items)
 
Secondary
(13 items)
 
In progress
(10 items)
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
5820K @ 4.2/3.5GHz core/uncore, 1.175/1.15v Gigabyte X99 SOC Champion (F22n) Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti (F3P) @ 2025/1485, 1... 4x4GiB Crucial @ 2667, 12-12-12-28-T1, 1.34v 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Plextor M6e 128GB (fw 1.06) M.2 (PCI-E 2.0 2x) 2x Crucial M4 256GB 4x WD Scorpio Black 500GB Noctua NH-D15 
OSMonitorKeyboardPower
Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 BenQ BL3200PT Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless (MX Brown) Corsair RM1000x 
CaseMouseAudio
Fractal Design Define R4 Logitech G402 Realtek ALC1150 + M-Audio AV40 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
X5670 @ 4.4/3.2GHz core/uncore, 1.36 vcore, 1.2... Gigabyte X58A-UD5 r2.0 w/FF3mod10 BIOS Sapphire Fury Nitro OC+ @ 1053/500, 1.225vGPU/1... 2x Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US @ 2000, 10-11-11-30-T1,... 
RAMHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
1x Crucial BLT4G3D1608ET3LX0 @ 2000, 10-11-11-3... OCZ (Toshiba) Trion 150 120GB Hyundai Sapphire 120GB 3x Hitachi Deskstar 7k1000.C 1TB 
CoolingOSPowerCase
Noctua NH-D14 Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 Antec TP-750 Fractal Design R5 
Audio
ASUS Xonar DS 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7-6800K @ 4.3/3.5GHz core/uncore, 1.36/1.2v ASRock X99 OC Formula (P3.10) GTX 780 (temporary) 4x4GiB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 11-13-12-28-T2, 1.33v 
Hard DriveHard DriveCoolingOS
Intel 600p 256GB NVMe 2x HGST Travelstar 7k1000 1TB Corsair H55 (temporary) Windows Server 2016 Datacenter 
PowerCase
Seasonic SS-860XP2 Corsair Carbide Air 540 
  hide details  
Reply
Primary
(15 items)
 
Secondary
(13 items)
 
In progress
(10 items)
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
5820K @ 4.2/3.5GHz core/uncore, 1.175/1.15v Gigabyte X99 SOC Champion (F22n) Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti (F3P) @ 2025/1485, 1... 4x4GiB Crucial @ 2667, 12-12-12-28-T1, 1.34v 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
Plextor M6e 128GB (fw 1.06) M.2 (PCI-E 2.0 2x) 2x Crucial M4 256GB 4x WD Scorpio Black 500GB Noctua NH-D15 
OSMonitorKeyboardPower
Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 BenQ BL3200PT Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless (MX Brown) Corsair RM1000x 
CaseMouseAudio
Fractal Design Define R4 Logitech G402 Realtek ALC1150 + M-Audio AV40 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
X5670 @ 4.4/3.2GHz core/uncore, 1.36 vcore, 1.2... Gigabyte X58A-UD5 r2.0 w/FF3mod10 BIOS Sapphire Fury Nitro OC+ @ 1053/500, 1.225vGPU/1... 2x Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US @ 2000, 10-11-11-30-T1,... 
RAMHard DriveHard DriveHard Drive
1x Crucial BLT4G3D1608ET3LX0 @ 2000, 10-11-11-3... OCZ (Toshiba) Trion 150 120GB Hyundai Sapphire 120GB 3x Hitachi Deskstar 7k1000.C 1TB 
CoolingOSPowerCase
Noctua NH-D14 Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 Antec TP-750 Fractal Design R5 
Audio
ASUS Xonar DS 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i7-6800K @ 4.3/3.5GHz core/uncore, 1.36/1.2v ASRock X99 OC Formula (P3.10) GTX 780 (temporary) 4x4GiB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 11-13-12-28-T2, 1.33v 
Hard DriveHard DriveCoolingOS
Intel 600p 256GB NVMe 2x HGST Travelstar 7k1000 1TB Corsair H55 (temporary) Windows Server 2016 Datacenter 
PowerCase
Seasonic SS-860XP2 Corsair Carbide Air 540 
  hide details  
Reply
post #2 of 2
wow.... fail! I almost considered buying one, lol.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Hardware News
Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [Legit Reviews] Diamond Radeon HD 3870 1GB GPUs Don't Have 512-bit Memory Interfaces