Overclock.net › Forums › Consumer Electronics › Home Audio › Hi-Fi Gear › REVIEW: Brainwavz ProAlpha IEM Earphones
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

REVIEW: Brainwavz ProAlpha IEM Earphones

post #1 of 3
Thread Starter 
After a long time searching for some good IEM's I think I found some IEM that will be my regular go to set for a while. Recon that I do not have the most experience in testing audio and HI-FI gear but I have tried a few IEM and do know slightly what to look for.

Where to purchase.
I order theses Brainwavz ProAlphas IEM, from MP4nation.com about a month ago when they were available for pre-order. I bought them $30 shipped, due to mp4 nations pre-order sale, however right now they are at their regular price of $40.

Why I choose theses?
I did my search and according to my sources these IEM's are comparable or just the re-branded Visang-R02 According to this page on thread at head-fi.org, The Visang-R02 IEM are one of the best bang for the buck IEM's for under $40. Considering these facts I decided to make my purchase.

My transaction over at mp4nation went like this:
11/08/2010 Processing
11/08/2010 Processing PayPal status: Completed @ 00:33:39 Nov 08, 2010 PST
Trans ID:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Amount: 29.50 USD
11/19/2010 Mailed Out Item mailed out.
Tracking below via http://www.hongkongpost.com - Please allow upto 5 working days for tracking to update on HKP.
Tracking number: RT083399827HK
11/23/2010 Your parcel weight in grams 215.2
12/17/2010 Received at my doorstep and currently testing now.

** Shipping took almost a month but it was free shipping so I cant complain I am glad I waited.

Spec
-Type: Dynamic Driver
-Driver Diameter: 10.7mm
-Impedance: 20Ω
-Sensitivity: 112dB @ 1mW
-Frequency Range: 20~20,000Hz
-Distortion: <= 1% @ 94dB
-Channel Balance <= 2dB
-Rated Input Power: 10mW
-Maximum Input Power: 40mW
-Plug: 3.5mm, straight, gold-plated
-Cord length: 1.3 meters, y-type

Overall Package contents
Should Include foam and silicone tips(three sizes)
One case
Manual
IEM.


Pictures
I do apologize for the horrible camera phone quality. There are better ones link above or you can watch this you tube video unboxing.
121710131600.th.jpg

121710131800.th.jpg

121710132400.th.jpg

121710133000.th.jpg

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQ_guxzIO_4[/ame]

Build quality:

The first off to note is that the cord is braided in a nice silicone texture, it is thick and sturdy, I will feel comfortable about using these for every day abuse. The 3.5mm plug at the end is turned a nice angle to avoid accidental unplugs. The IEM's house is made of plastic which is a slight disappointment, but the tips are you can see in the picture is a nice chrome housing. At the IEM's housing ends there is a silicone strain relief to avoid ripping or separating the IEM from the cord, which is a must have for most people. The only real con I can think of is the cord has a slight memory characteristic and like to stay slightly bent in some spots due to packaging, also the end of the 3.5mm plug doesn't have a nicer strain relief, I will most likely just heat shrink that part later.

Silicone tips are great but can hold a lot of lint. Three different sizes but I am emailing mp4 nation for my missing foam tips

Best thing of all in my opinion is the inclusion of a freaking IEM case. It small and holds all of your IEM tips, and small enough to fit in your pocket.

My impressions on the sound quality
Compared to: Skullcandy Ink'ed

Forgive me for not using all the head-fi terminology, but I will try my best.

The bass on the pro-alphas are not as deep or booming as the skullcandy ones. But I do have to say that you hear more accurate low frequencies response. The skullcandy ones really tend to sound muddy and blur together the bass. The bass isn't going to be kicking super load, but you will perceive more accurate frequencies, so all the bass, snares, drums and other instruments can be heard. You will be able to distinguish all those low frequency notes instead of just hearing them muss together, which is what the skullcandy ones sound like.

The mids are pretty accurate, the overall sound is pretty warm in general. However I do have to say that where these IEM really shine is at higher frequencies at the highs and mids. When hearing any rock songs or songs with vocals in general the skullcandys lack the ability to produce crisp accurate vocals or those higher frequency sounds. To me it always sounds like the vocals are underpowered and hallowed out. Switching over so the Pro-Alphas I can definitely tell the difference in vocal actualization. The highs are there and not mushed together. The mids are distinguishable and do not just mush together and sound blurred out.

One part that pretty freaked me out was during this review I ran across a song by "Creed - One", there is part in the middle of the song where the sound stage really gets tested. The bass loops around the left and right ear IEM and the distance perception begins to vary close and far. Listening to this part it made me realize how accurate these IEM are in producing a good sound stage, like you are at a actual concert. With my other IEM I could not distinguish the perceived distance and space very well. These IEM are definitely a step up.

Conclusion:
Nothing more I can say then my best audiophile in training purchase.

Great overall frequency response and the overall quality of the buds will a top contender for best IEM under $40. Bass is not booming like some people like it, but definitely worth it for the accurate high and mids and superior sound stage perception.


After Burn In.
After burning in the iem's they sound really clear, the bass isnt muddy in the mids and higher frequency are clear and distinguishable. They already sounded great before, but after the burn in the upper frequencies have loosened up.
.............Will update once I burn them in.
Edited by lilraver018 - 11/13/11 at 11:10pm
post #2 of 3
These are on sale if anyone is interested!

Brainwavz ProAlpha IEM Earphones

Regular: $39.50
Now: $22.50 USD
p00k
(14 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 760 Stock Sabertooth 55i Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB G.SKILL Sniper 8GB 1600 
Hard DriveOptical DriveOSMonitor
WD Black 1TB x 2 Samsung SH-S243D Win7 Home Premium 64-bit Dell U2312HM x 2 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Steelseries G6v2 Corsair TX750W HAF 912 Razer Deathadder Black Edition 
Mouse PadAudio
Steelseries Cloth Audioengine A5+ 
  hide details  
Reply
p00k
(14 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel i5 760 Stock Sabertooth 55i Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB G.SKILL Sniper 8GB 1600 
Hard DriveOptical DriveOSMonitor
WD Black 1TB x 2 Samsung SH-S243D Win7 Home Premium 64-bit Dell U2312HM x 2 
KeyboardPowerCaseMouse
Steelseries G6v2 Corsair TX750W HAF 912 Razer Deathadder Black Edition 
Mouse PadAudio
Steelseries Cloth Audioengine A5+ 
  hide details  
Reply
post #3 of 3
Thread Starter 
Get them while they are one sale, they totally blow most IEM under $50 out of the water.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Hi-Fi Gear
Overclock.net › Forums › Consumer Electronics › Home Audio › Hi-Fi Gear › REVIEW: Brainwavz ProAlpha IEM Earphones