Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [TT] MSI HD6970 Lightning overclocked review
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

[TT] MSI HD6970 Lightning overclocked review - Page 4

post #31 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoopaScoopa;13083623 
1) 1021Mhz didn't change much at all... 1 fps...
2) Both my Asus DCII 570s hit 1020Mhz with 1.17V and cost less than this 6970 TFIII. 1000+Mhz can be obtained by every DCII 570.

lol... Stock comparison... This is OCN, not stockclock.net

I'll restate my conclusion again: Most people don't have triple monitors though so the 6970 is a better choice at 2560x1600 and below if you're running CFX since you can crank the AA up if you want. They do poorly in single configurations though. Even a 560 beats it...

Look, I don't understand why the 6970s do so poorly at 5760x1080 in BC2, HAWX 2, Mafia II and Lost Planet 2 either. They should actually be coming out on top since they have more frame buffer and scale so well that they're equal to two 570s at 1920 and 2560. Maybe a simple CAP update will fix this? Maybe the Xfire bottleneck is coming into play here?

Hawx 2, Mafia 2 and Lost Planet 2 are NVIDIA favoring games, if you didn't know. BC2 just does poorly on these new cards compared to the 5000 series but it's still not that bad. Perhaps it's just the drivers that need maturing. And a 560 Ti is not faster than a 6970, SLI or single.
Quote:
Both my Asus DCII 570s hit 1020Mhz with 1.17V and cost less than this 6970 TFIII. 1000+Mhz can be obtained by every DCII 570.

And a 6970 DCII may do 1100MHz on the core and 1525+ on the memory or higher, same for the Lightning, what's your point?.. If the performance didn't go up from overclocking in that review, it may be an unstable overclock and it could be the reviewers fault. These scale just as well as Fermi when overclocked. You need to stop posting those charts all the time. They are getting old.
Edited by Razi3l - 4/11/11 at 9:55am
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500k @ 4300Mhz Biostar TP67XE Waiting to buy a new one 8GB 1600Mhz 7-8-7-21 1T 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung 840 SSD [250GB] Antec H20 620 Windows 7 x64 Acer S242HL 
PowerCase
Thermaltake 775W NZXT Phantom [White] 
  hide details  
Reply
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500k @ 4300Mhz Biostar TP67XE Waiting to buy a new one 8GB 1600Mhz 7-8-7-21 1T 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung 840 SSD [250GB] Antec H20 620 Windows 7 x64 Acer S242HL 
PowerCase
Thermaltake 775W NZXT Phantom [White] 
  hide details  
Reply
post #32 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razi3l;13084899 
Hawx 2, Mafia 2 and Lost Planet 2 are NVIDIA favoring games, if you didn't know. BC2 just does poorly on these new cards compared to the 5000 series but it's still not that bad. Perhaps it's just the drivers that need maturing. And a 560 Ti is not faster than a 6970, SLI or single.

The results just showed that a 560 OCd performs better than a single 6970 in BC2. You can try to defend it all you want, but the results are there. The 6000 series scales better than Fermi though so they make up for it in 2-way and 3-way price/performance. If you're just going to get one card, the 6970 would be a bad choice. If you're going to 2/3/4way, get a 6000.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razi3l;13084899 
And a 6970 DCII may do 1100MHz on the core and 1525+ on the memory or higher, same for the Lightning, what's your point?..
That the 570 DCII is cheaper and performs better at 5760x1080 and is just as good at resolutions below that? 1100Mhz on a 570 is far more performance than 1100Mhz on a 6970. Just because the clock speeds may be similar, doesn't mean they equal performance. You should know this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razi3l;13084899 
If the performance didn't go up from overclocking in that review, it may be an unstable overclock and it could be the reviewers fault. These scale just as well as Fermi when overclocked. You need to stop posting those charts all the time. They are getting old.

So you're trying to claim they don't know how to review cards now? Please... The performance didn't go up because some GPUs have a limit at which point there is severe diminishing returns. That's why 80Mhz didn't make a difference. Nvidia's GPUs have the same issue as well. It's not the reviewer that doesn't know how to OC here...

They keep doing fresh reviews every week and keep getting the same results. I don't really care if you think they're "old" or you're "tired" of seeing proper OC benchmarks; they're valid and continue to produce the same results over and over again.

The 6970s don't have severe performance issues with other games. But they still don't do any better than the 570s at any point, they're equal. Your only upside to using 6970s is that when you go 2-3way you can crank up the AA. But anything beyond 4xAA at 2560x1600 isn't discernible to your eye. Clearly the CAP profiles on BC2, Mafia II, Lost Planet 2 and HAWX 2 are bugged at 5760x1080. Why is this so hard to understand? They could be doing better, but they're not.

Like I said, most people don't play on triple 1080p monitors, so the 6970 is a better choice when in 2-way. For me though, I'll buy buying 3 monitors shortly, which is why I went with the DCII 570s. I'd rather buy a 6990 now and another one in 2012 but their scaling with triple monitors is preventing me from choosing them.
Edited by PoopaScoopa - 4/11/11 at 1:33pm
post #33 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoopaScoopa;13086603 
For me though, I'll buy buying 3 monitors shortly, which is why I went with the DCII 570s.

Listen...................I think nobody is listening to you. Also, I was not either, and get rid of that ATI under your avatar and check Nvidia. You look kookoo.gif bashin' ATI wink.gif

As for what I think about this 6970 Shazam!...L@@KING forward to some Lightning this week cool.gif
Edited by drBlahMan - 4/11/11 at 1:44pm
post #34 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoopaScoopa;13086603 
The results just showed that a 560 OCd performs better than a single 6970 in BC2. You can try to defend it all you want, but the results are there. The 6000 series scales better than Fermi though so they make up for it in 2-way and 3-way price/performance. If you're just going to get one card, the 6970 would be a bad choice. If you're going to 2/3/4way, get a 6000.

There is nothing wrong with the 6970. It's a good card, price could always be lower but that's it. One benchmark from one website means nothing.
Quote:
That the 570 DCII is cheaper and performs better at 5760x1080 and is just as good at resolutions below that? 1100Mhz on a 570 is far more performance than 1100Mhz on a 6970. Just because the clock speeds may be similar, doesn't mean they equal performance. You should know this.

You're right. 1100Mhz on a 570 would be a lot more because it would be an overclock of 50%, but I don't think there are any which will do that. 1100 on a 6950 is just 25% which is still very nice but it doesn't mean every card can do that and same can be said for the 570. I never said same clocks equal same performance either. You were saying the 570 can overclock, and I said so can the 6970, that's it. And just because the 570 is cheaper in the USA, doesn't make it a better card. In case you've forgotten, the USA doesn't account for the rest of the world and in the EU/UK for example, the average price of a 570 and 6970 is about the same, and the 6970 and 570 DCIIs cost the same here.
Quote:
So you're trying to claim they don't know how to review cards now? Please... The performance didn't go up because some GPUs have a limit at which point there is severe diminishing returns. That's why 80Mhz didn't make a difference. Nvidia's GPUs have the same issue as well. It's not the reviewer that doesn't know how to OC here...

And where did you figure this from?.. I never said they don't know how to review, I said they must be overclocking wrong (unstable oc). It was only a 9% overclock on the 6970 compared to the larger overclock on the the other cards. And by the way, even that should give more than 1 fps, so the overclock was most likely unstable but there are lots of things that can affect it. Since Bad Company 2 doesn't have a fixed benchmark tool, it will never always be the same.
Quote:
They keep doing fresh reviews every week and keep getting the same results. I don't really care if you think they're "old" or you're "tired" of seeing proper OC benchmarks; they're valid and continue to produce the same results over and over again.

The graphs from the particular review you keep linking to is old it seems. They also don't seem to mention what drivers they are running so I can't say whether it's catalyst 11.4 or older but the latest have shown to give considerable performance increases at times. I'm not here discussing how reputable this review site is, I'm saying you need to stop posting the same graphs. Reviews will always contradict one another. Where the 570 is faster here for example, in the Anandtech review the 6970 is faster. What is your point?
Quote:
The 6970s don't have severe performance issues with other games. But they still don't do any better than the 570s at any point, they're equal. Your only upside to using 6970s is that when you go 2-3way you can crank up the AA. But anything beyond 4xAA at 2560x1600 isn't discernible to your eye. Clearly the CAP profiles on BC2, Mafia II, Lost Planet 2 and HAWX 2 are bugged at 5760x1080. Why is this so hard to understand? They could be doing better, but they're not.

When will you understand that Mafia 2/LP2 and Hawx2 prefer NVIDIA cards? I mean they even have "The way it's meant to be played" in the intro.. what more?.. It's not uncommon to see certain games favour one side over another. Far Cry 2 is another example.
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500k @ 4300Mhz Biostar TP67XE Waiting to buy a new one 8GB 1600Mhz 7-8-7-21 1T 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung 840 SSD [250GB] Antec H20 620 Windows 7 x64 Acer S242HL 
PowerCase
Thermaltake 775W NZXT Phantom [White] 
  hide details  
Reply
    
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
i5-2500k @ 4300Mhz Biostar TP67XE Waiting to buy a new one 8GB 1600Mhz 7-8-7-21 1T 
Hard DriveCoolingOSMonitor
Samsung 840 SSD [250GB] Antec H20 620 Windows 7 x64 Acer S242HL 
PowerCase
Thermaltake 775W NZXT Phantom [White] 
  hide details  
Reply
post #35 of 80
You still haven't learned that comparing stock clocks is not the same as overclock comparisons...
Clearly you didn't even bother to look at the review or you would of seen a screenshot showing 11.4 on GPU-Z... The same results are shown week after week in every review. The last review was done on April 7 which produced the same results. You're going to have to try some other method to dismiss them.

Sorry but some random poster that's upset about benchmark results and is trying to claim a well established review site doesn't know how to OC is pretty hilarious. That's exactly what they do and do well. If you want to claim it's somehow unstable, then complain on the review thread and show them up. Since you don't even understand that GPUs have a limit at which they stop showing any more significant gains even with more voltage, it's highly unlikely you have any reputable experience in OCing to speak on it.

I have momentarily tested my 570s at 1.212V with higher clocks but didn't see much of a difference in fps and wasn't comfortable running it 24/7 like that even with 6 VRMs so I backed down to 1020Mhz at 1.17. You still haven't grasped the concept that you can't just keep overclocking it to 2000Mhz with linear gains along the way. The extra 80Mhz on the 6970 made no difference and neither will 1100Mhz.

You're right, there is nothing wrong with the 6970. It's just not very powerful by itself. They scale amazingly well in 2/3-way though which makes up for it since Nvidia doesn't seem to scale very well at the moment.
Edited by PoopaScoopa - 4/11/11 at 6:38pm
post #36 of 80
This review convinced me to get this card.

http://www.overclockers.com.au/article.php?id=948935&P=2

This MSI card doesn't compete with the 570, it beats it.

It does compete with the gtx580.

Nuff said.

Sweet card.

I tried to order it Sunday night... the egg is sold out. I bet the price will jump from 386 when the card is back in stock
My First Build
(15 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
I7-860 2.8/OC'ed 3.60 FPO/batch # L935B730 Asus P7P55d Evo MSI 580 TF II OC 8 Gig Corsiar DDR3 1600 XMP 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
WD Black 750 Samsung H50, pull/push Win7 Pro 64 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
HP 2509B 25" 1920x1080 Steelseries backlit Merc Corsiar TX650 Thermatake V9 Black 
MouseAudio
Rat 7 Asus Xonar DG 
  hide details  
Reply
My First Build
(15 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
I7-860 2.8/OC'ed 3.60 FPO/batch # L935B730 Asus P7P55d Evo MSI 580 TF II OC 8 Gig Corsiar DDR3 1600 XMP 
Hard DriveOptical DriveCoolingOS
WD Black 750 Samsung H50, pull/push Win7 Pro 64 
MonitorKeyboardPowerCase
HP 2509B 25" 1920x1080 Steelseries backlit Merc Corsiar TX650 Thermatake V9 Black 
MouseAudio
Rat 7 Asus Xonar DG 
  hide details  
Reply
post #37 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoopaScoopa;13090825 
You still haven't learned that comparing stock clocks is not the same as overclock comparisons...
Clearly you didn't even bother to look at the review or you would of seen a screenshot showing 11.4 on GPU-Z... The same results are shown week after week in every review. The last review was done on April 7 which produced the same results. You're going to have to try some other method to dismiss them.

Sorry but some random poster that's upset about benchmark results and is trying to claim a well established review site doesn't know how to OC is pretty hilarious. That's exactly what they do and do well. If you want to claim it's somehow unstable, then complain on the review thread and show them up. Since you don't even understand that GPUs have a limit at which they stop showing any more significant gains even with more voltage, it's highly unlikely you have any reputable experience in OCing to speak on it.

I have momentarily tested my 570s at 1.212V with higher clocks but didn't see much of a difference in fps and wasn't comfortable running it 24/7 like that even with 6 VRMs so I backed down to 1020Mhz at 1.17. You still haven't grasped the concept that you can't just keep overclocking it to 2000Mhz with linear gains along the way. The extra 80Mhz on the 6970 made no difference and neither will 1100Mhz.

You're right, there is nothing wrong with the 6970. It's just not very powerful by itself. They scale amazingly well in 2/3-way though which makes up for it since Nvidia doesn't seem to scale very well at the moment.

From the Source in the OP:

x3986_27_msi_radeon_hd_6970_2gb_lightning_overclocked_video_card_review.png.pagespeed.ic.MbFE9_Xmpk.png


Look at the bottom and compare the Sapphire 6970 at stock and the TFIII at 1015MHz.

For 2560x1600:

Stock: 38FPS 880Mhz
TFIII: 44FPS 1015Mhz

Some simple division shows 15% increase in core speed - 15% increase in FPS. The 6970 won't scale linearly with core speed past 929MHz, right... rolleyes.gif

Just admit that you are quoting some very strange benchmarks.cool.gif
post #38 of 80
HD 69XX scale very well with overclocks. I know cause i tested my HD 6950. Also though HD 6970 might not be the fastest Single GPU it does blow away any GTX560.
Ishimura
(21 items)
 
Silent Knight
(13 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3770K @ 4.6GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX eVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid AMD Radeon R9 16GB DDR3-2400MHz  
Hard DriveHard DriveCoolingCooling
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB Toshiba X300 5TB Corsair H100i GTX eVGA Hybrid Water Cooler  
CoolingOSMonitorKeyboard
4x GentleTyphoon AP-15 Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Philips Brilliance BDM4065UC 4K Razer BlackWidow Chroma  
PowerCaseMouseMouse Pad
eVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3 Define Nano S Logitech G502 Proteus Core PECHAM Gaming Mouse Pad XX-Large 
AudioAudioAudioAudio
Audioengine D1 DAC Mackie CR Series CR3 Audio-Technica ATH-M50 Sennheiser HD 598 
Audio
Sony XB950BT 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 4.2GHz ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB @ 1200/1500 2x 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3-1600 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
OCZ Agility 3 60GB WD Caviar Green 1.5TB 2 x Seagate Barracuda 2TB XSPC Raystorm 
CoolingCoolingOSPower
EK-FC7970 XSPC RS360 Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Corsair TX750 
Case
NZXT Switch 810  
  hide details  
Reply
Ishimura
(21 items)
 
Silent Knight
(13 items)
 
 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
Intel Core i7 3770K @ 4.6GHz ASRock Z77E-ITX eVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid AMD Radeon R9 16GB DDR3-2400MHz  
Hard DriveHard DriveCoolingCooling
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB Toshiba X300 5TB Corsair H100i GTX eVGA Hybrid Water Cooler  
CoolingOSMonitorKeyboard
4x GentleTyphoon AP-15 Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Philips Brilliance BDM4065UC 4K Razer BlackWidow Chroma  
PowerCaseMouseMouse Pad
eVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3 Define Nano S Logitech G502 Proteus Core PECHAM Gaming Mouse Pad XX-Large 
AudioAudioAudioAudio
Audioengine D1 DAC Mackie CR Series CR3 Audio-Technica ATH-M50 Sennheiser HD 598 
Audio
Sony XB950BT 
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 4.2GHz ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB @ 1200/1500 2x 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3-1600 
Hard DriveHard DriveHard DriveCooling
OCZ Agility 3 60GB WD Caviar Green 1.5TB 2 x Seagate Barracuda 2TB XSPC Raystorm 
CoolingCoolingOSPower
EK-FC7970 XSPC RS360 Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit Corsair TX750 
Case
NZXT Switch 810  
  hide details  
Reply
post #39 of 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spct;13091574 
This review convinced me to get this card.

http://www.overclockers.com.au/article.php?id=948935&P=2

This MSI card doesn't compete with the 570, it beats it.

It does compete with the gtx580.

Nuff said.

Sweet card.

I tried to order it Sunday night... the egg is sold out. I bet the price will jump from 386 when the card is back in stock

A 570 at stock... haha When are people going to learn. You don't compare a heavily OC'd card to a stock one. An OC'd 570 beats a stock 580. Should we say it's better than a 580 by your logic? What a genius...

Reviews that only OC one card are so useless, it's funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCPUser;13091577 
From the Source in the OP:

x3986_27_msi_radeon_hd_6970_2gb_lightning_overclocked_video_card_review.png.pagespeed.ic.MbFE9_Xmpk.png


Look at the bottom and compare the Sapphire 6970 at stock and the TFIII at 1015MHz.

For 2560x1600:

Stock: 38FPS 880Mhz
TFIII: 44FPS 1015Mhz

Some simple division shows 15% increase in core speed - 15% increase in FPS. The 6970 won't scale linearly with core speed past 929MHz, right... rolleyes.gif

Just admit that you are quoting some very strange benchmarks.cool.gif
That's in AvP. Each game scales differently.

You're also comparing a reference PCB with fewer VRMs to a Lightning model... OCP prevents the Sapphire from achieving similar performance at high current draws. They do not scale linearly from 1000Mhz to 1100Mhz as I stated already. There's a difference between 880Mhz to 1000Mhz and 1000Mhz to 1100Mhz. It's apparent you've never actually tested this yourself or you would of already known this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er;13091707 
HD 69XX scale very well with overclocks. I know cause i tested my HD 6950. Also though HD 6970 might not be the fastest Single GPU it does blow away any GTX560.
You're right, they do scale extremely well. Nvidia should certainly be embarrassed. But in BC2, the benchmark showed that a 560 @ 1004Mhz beat a 6970 @ 941. The gap closes at 2560 though and certainly won't scale as good as two 6950s unlocked to 6970s will.
Edited by PoopaScoopa - 4/15/11 at 7:50pm
post #40 of 80
not a fanboy here..but these cards are meant for extreme and for those who can afford it..nothing to complain on it either nothing wrong for you guys to be smearing over one's face with this card..
Anti-Wuttz!!
(13 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD A6-3650 @ 4ghz Asrock A75Pro4-M AMD HD6530D OCZ Flex 
Hard DrivePowerCase
160gb WD Cavar Blue Bench Disk HEC Rapter Open Air 
  hide details  
Reply
Anti-Wuttz!!
(13 items)
 
  
CPUMotherboardGraphicsRAM
AMD A6-3650 @ 4ghz Asrock A75Pro4-M AMD HD6530D OCZ Flex 
Hard DrivePowerCase
160gb WD Cavar Blue Bench Disk HEC Rapter Open Air 
  hide details  
Reply
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Hardware News
Overclock.net › Forums › Industry News › Hardware News › [TT] MSI HD6970 Lightning overclocked review