|
![]() |
Overclock.net - Overclocking.net > Software, Programming and Coding > Operating Systems > Windows | |
eBay Windows - what to expect?
|
||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) | ||||||||
|
4.0ghz
|
Hello guys,
I have just assembled another PC and this time I thoutht to take a different route with the OS: buy it from eBay. However, there are XP PRO SP2 copies for as low as 1$... what's the deal here? It's like very very low, I'm starting to ask questions when I see something too cheap. So 3 questions: 1. Are they likely to be pirated? 2. Are they likely to be OEM versions already activated for other rigs, so useless for me? 3. Any advices as to what should I look for, or what questions to ask to see if they're legit and usable OSes? Thanks for reading, reps of course for the helpful posts. Cheers!
|
||||||||
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) | ||||||||||||
|
Windows Wrangler
|
can't sp2 be downloaded from microsofts site tho?
__________________
OC it till it burns!!! LOL
|
||||||||||||
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) | ||||||||||||
|
AKA Murclocke
|
I wouldn't touch it.
Rule: If you have to ask, its usually a scam.
__________________
|
||||||||||||
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) | ||||||||||
|
Folding Fanatic
|
I'd message the seller and ask him straight up. Also, does it have pictures for proof?
__________________
Team Overclock Foldowzers woop - Mazeppa - OhMyGodPower - csm11 Steam: Clockwork PSN: Clockwork50
|
||||||||||
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |||||||||||||
|
PC Gamer
|
Yeah but only SP2, not the whole OS.
There are versions of XP sold with SP2 already on the disk. I'd buy on OS from somewhere reputable instead of risking alot of hassle from eBay.
__________________
Sound: X-Fi Xtreme Music -> Marantz PM4001 -> Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 / HD555 -- Upgrades soon: Samsung 24" Marantz CD5001 Denon ASD11R
|
|||||||||||||
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | ||||||||||||
|
Folding Fanatic
|
When I get home I'll check where I bought my xp pro 64 from I think I paid like $60 or so...
I'll get back to you in a couple hours...
__________________
It's easier to beg for forgiveness then to ask for permission...Just ask my wife... ![]()
|
||||||||||||
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |||||||||||||
|
PC Gamer
|
A lot of those deals sell it as "media only." Likely meaning they burned a copy of their disc and now you have it. No new key, not legit. Just a pirated copy of Windows.
__________________
|
|||||||||||||
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | ||||||||||
|
Security Sleuth
|
your not allowed to sell an oem version of Windows by itself. ebay is leagally bound to delete the sellers post if it is an oem by itself. they only way to sell oem versions legally is with hardware.
I would only get it if its sealed and unopened or if it comes with a legit sticker. i would find someone that goes to a university or a school near you. I know at my school i get office 2003pro, 4 oem keys installations of windows. 2 Winxp Pro and 2 Win x64Pro for $40 and Vista Business goes for $60
__________________
Last edited by SiNiSt3r : 03-19-08 at 12:23 AM. |
||||||||||
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | ||||||||
|
4.0ghz
|
Thanks all for the advices, reps added.
Afterall it looks like a scam to get Windows for 1 buck, oem or not oem. One of them has even a Vista Bussiness x86 bonus if getting XP SP2 for an unbelievable... you guessed it, 1 buck.In this case I only wonder what would happen if the idiots from RI*A would bother to search on eBay and find true pirates in sted of harassing colege students. It just doesn't make sense you know? Serves me well for asking. D.
|
||||||||
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) | |||||||||||||
|
WaterCooler
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Prince Edward Island
Posts: 2,135
Rep: 77
![]() Unique Rep: 70
Trader Rating: 3
|
yeah chances are it would just be a burnt disc or even an emailed/downloadable copy without an accompanied product key. also, if you notice MULTIPLE sales for the product with the same generic picture, i would be cautious. just be sure to check the sellers ratings, feedback, etc. whether the product is legit or not is only half the battle, its whether or not the seller is a decent person.
|
|||||||||||||
|
|
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|