The 1st win7 scheduler benchs are IN + x264HD + WINRAR + 7ZIP + file link + ingame batman + crysis 1 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The 1st win7 scheduler benchs are IN + x264HD + WINRAR + 7ZIP + file link + ingame batman + crysis 1

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alexmaia_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brazil
Posts: 950
Rep: 108 (Unique: 78)
Link: (I use 64bits version): http://www.mediafire.com/?y3ba4xcs50w6ki7

The BEFORE/AFTER windows scheduler patch.

My rig is in the sig. The only point not listed there is my cpu [email protected] (Only with multiplier). I know there are more efficient ways of doing it, but what matters here are the differences before and after the “magic patch”.

To do this, I uninstalled the patch, then run cine, batman arkham and saints row the 3rd. After that, without any other changes, I run the same tests, on the same order.

If you guys need more info, just ask. Glad to help. I have no real experience with this kind of testing. Feel free to point if I did anything wrong.

PS: Please, can we NOT turn this into BD bashing? I’m so tired of that. This is more of an info thread for those interested in the gains. I know I’m likely wasting my time… but…

CINEBENCH:
Very little gain… it’s there, run more than once. CPU is now recognized as 4c/8t.

cinebeforeafter.jpg

CINEBENCH with 1 thread:
cine1corebeforeafter.jpg

The one with 4c/8t is the after. Gain of 0.01… wow… world shattering. tongue.gif ahahah.

CINEBENCH 6 threads:

cine6cores.jpg
CINEBENCH 4 threads:

cine4cores.jpg

BATMAN ARKHAM CITY
… no visible gain. I did get a +3fps minimum frames, comparing 2 passes on each configuration… if you consider this palpable gain.
I did get a feeling of it running better, but it COULD be wishful thinking. Since I don’t have numbers to back me up, I won’t make a case here.
batman_BEFOREAFTER.jpg

BEFORE:
batmanac_2011_12_15_15_19_26_424.jpg

AFTER:
batmanac_2011_12_15_15_43_54_336.jpg


NEW STUFF: Ingame batman arkham city with hottie catwoman.
Well, I felt perhaps I'd see better performance ingame, instead of just running the benchmark feature. So I loaded the game and, without moving the characer from her place, rotated the camera until I got the lowest FPS. Again, change is very small... it's there, though... I ran it twice, then let the screen rest, moved here and there... those are the best results.

CONFIG:
batmanconfigs_IN.jpg

BEFORE:
batmanbefore_IN.jpg

AFTER:
batmanafter_IN.jpg


Again, I kept track of fps fluctuation and all and I can say, without fear of being wrong, that there is a difference. It is, however, still minimal. Do NOT expect miracles, or enough change to make a game go from unplayable to playable.


SAINTS ROW the 3rd:
Wow… here there is a BIG difference. The game plays much better after the patch. It’s more fluid, no stuttering…

To take this picture, I ran around and found a spot where my fps would suffer more… somewhere easy to mark. I then proceed to wait for 5 minutes or so, taking pics whenever my fps was the lowest. Really, there’s nothing more to say here than… GREAT!
Even being aware there’s a problem with AMD drivers and low FPS, it’s perfectly playable now (it wasn’t before, at least for me). Here I saw the magic happening biggrin.gif

EDIT: low graphics card usage is more of a crossfire thing atm, I think. From steam forums:
But there is still hope since volition posted a new thread on the official SR3 PC forums stating:

"Our team is well aware of the issues some users are seeing with regard to performance when meeting our minimum / recommended PC specs. Since the official release date of Saints Row: The Third, we’ve been working on optimizations to the game, which included a small patch on November 24th. We’ve also been in talks with AMD and Nvidia to look for ways to increase performance across the board both before, and after the game has been released, and we hope to have either a driver update, a game patch, or a combination of both in the near future to correct these issues. "

Hopefully it will be fixed eventually.


saintsrowthethird_dx11_2011_12_15_15_37_15_939.jpg

BEFORE:
sr3_BEFORE.jpg

AFTER:
saintsrowthethird_dx11_2011_12_15_15_36_59_649.jpg

EDIT:
SERIOUS SAM 3:
Also solid improvements. Settings are everything on ultra, 1080p. I got the spot where I found my fdps took the greatest hit, just in the beginning of the game. Saved… then loaded and took pics without moving. The pics were taken during the period of 2-3 minutes, whenever it hit a lower grade I’d SC it. As with saints row, the game now uses my xfire config better, allowing for greater fps:
BEFORE:
sam3before.jpg

AFTER:
sam3_AFTER.jpg


CRYSIS 1: The king of benches, I suppose... or it used to be. No matter, let's see how our patch deals with this one:

crysis_beforeafter.jpg

Palpable difference. Up to now, All games show some gain, no matter how small. Good news huh? =D

EDIT: 12/16/2011

WINRAR: Here folks... I have to give the news... worse results with the patch. I ran this test twice, but I don't know if I did it correctly. I just made it up.... so please patience with the noob.

I ran winrar on a x264.mp4 file of 1.18g. I let the compression reach exactly 80%, paused and took a pic. This is my best results in 2 passes:

rarbeforeafter.jpg

As you can see, it's clearly better withou the patch.

So, there it is, 1st official bad news biggrin.gif

7ZIP: as requested, here's the benchmark. Same archive used with winRAR. 2 passes each, paused at 85%. No difference at all. I'm keeping the 7zip to use with my patch, thank you very much =D

7zipbench.jpg


Looks like MS pulled the plug on the patch. I'll keep it, because gaming in where I need the most performance. Guess it's each own's call.

http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2011/12/16/microsoft-releases-amd-bulldozer-patch-by-mistake2c-incomplete-download.aspx (Thanks radaja for the link)



X264HD benchs: To do this, I used a fresh boot each time.

x264 HD BENCHMARK 3.0 RESULTS WITHOUT PATCH

Please do not compare it with older versions of the benchmark!
Please copy/paste everything below the line to to report your data

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Results for x264.exe r1342
encoded 1442 frames, 88.17 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 89.51 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 89.01 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 87.98 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.70 fps, 3966.07 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.41 fps, 3947.72 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.64 fps, 3959.38 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.81 fps, 3952.28 kb/s


x264 HD BENCHMARK 3.0 RESULTS WITH PATCH
Please do not compare it with older versions of the benchmark!
Please copy/paste everything below the line to to report your data

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Results for x264.exe r1342
encoded 1442 frames, 91.44 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 91.67 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 90.46 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 90.63 fps, 3899.02 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 43.90 fps, 3961.70 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.56 fps, 3960.99 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.59 fps, 3961.46 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 44.60 fps, 3958.33 kb/s

Not sure what to make of this. This bench was made as a request from a user.

CONCLUSION (edited_:
Great for gaming. It’s a free patch, and the results go from barely seen to solid gains. For those of you who have a BD, it’s a bloody MUST.

EDIT: It's a tradeoff. Some things turned out slower, like winRAR.

For those of you who don’t have a BD… well, it’s a cool patch, but shouldn’t be enough of an impact to make a decision of getting one or not, I believe.

Pax,
Alex.
alexmaia_br is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:17 AM
Meow!
 
djriful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8,317
Rep: 242 (Unique: 204)

Got a question, it is now recognized as 4 cores? It is really a 4Cores with 8 thread FX81x0?



~ Nothing to see here ~


djriful is offline  
post #3 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kvjavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 4,134
Rep: 197 (Unique: 173)
Any BF3 benchmarks? Or Bad Company 2?
Kvjavs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:20 AM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
pvt.joker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 772
Rep: 41 (Unique: 34)
awesome.. thanks for the info. just installed the hotfix, and rebooted. won't be able to test games till i get home, but it's something to hope for software that makes purchasing the BD worth it.. And here I was debating spending Christmas money on an intel rig (i've been running AMD for the past 12yrs solid)

Colorado OCN Users!
CO OCN Gamers Steam Group
Loki
(19 items)
Odin (fileserver)
(15 items)
Kratos
(9 items)
CPU
Intel i7 5930k
Motherboard
MSI X99A SLI Krait
GPU
Evga GTX 1080TI FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 1tb
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2
Optical Drive
Asus BW-12B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
Corsair H100
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
2x Dell U2412M in Nvidia Surround
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Keyboard
Das Keyboard v4 Professional
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Glorious Gaming XXL
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
Audio
Sennheiser HD 650
Audio
HiFiMan EF2A
CPU
Xeon X5650
CPU
Xeon X5650
Motherboard
Supermicro X8DTL-iF-O
GPU
Galaxy GT210 1gb
RAM
96gb DDR3 ECC
Hard Drive
Corsair Force 3 60gb (boot)
Hard Drive
3TB Hitachi x 12
Hard Drive
1TB Hitachi x 12
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12DX
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12DX
Case
Norco RPC 4224
Operating System
Windows Server 2012 R2
Other
LSI Megaraid Sas 9261-8I
Other
Intel RES2CV240 20 Port SAS Expander
CPU
Intel i7 6700HQ
Motherboard
Gigabyte P35Xv6-PC4K4D
GPU
Geforce 1070
Hard Drive
1TB 7200rpm HDD
Hard Drive
512gb M.2 SSD
Optical Drive
DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
15" 4K IPS Panel
Mouse
Razer Orochi
▲ hide details ▲


pvt.joker is offline  
post #5 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,132
Rep: 291 (Unique: 238)
I like how your GPU usage is only 50% on both chips. CPU Bottlenecks ftw.

I'm curious.

What if you ran those games with Crossfire disabled?

Kand is offline  
post #6 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alexmaia_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brazil
Posts: 950
Rep: 108 (Unique: 78)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djriful View Post

Got a question, it is now recognized as 4 cores? It is really a 4Cores with 8 thread FX81x0?

Yes, it's listed by cinebench as 4C/8T

Glad to run other programs to further test this, if anyone want to point me the way.
alexmaia_br is offline  
post #7 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
alexmaia_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brazil
Posts: 950
Rep: 108 (Unique: 78)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kvjavs View Post

Any BF3 benchmarks? Or Bad Company 2?

SOrry, I really don't play those games. I could do a serious sam3, but that's about it.
alexmaia_br is offline  
post #8 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:22 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,142
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Run a multithread benchmark with 4-6 threads and monitor core affinity....

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #9 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:22 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cal, India
Posts: 4,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by djriful View Post

Got a question, it is now recognized as 4 cores? It is really a 4Cores with 8 thread FX81x0?


The module-architecture points to that, so yes, sort of.
PunkX 1 is offline  
post #10 of 238 (permalink) Old 12-15-2011, 10:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Frosty88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,755
Rep: 155 (Unique: 137)
Your GPU usage is 50% on each core for the "BEFORE" Saints Row screenshot and 56% for the "AFTER" screenshot. Does Saints Row have any known issues with CFX/SLI, is that game normally CPU bottlenecked, or is it an issue with Bulldozer CPUs when running multiple GPUs?

Relationship Ender
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2600
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 8GB Pulse
RAM
G. Skill 16GB (2x8) DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
HP Ex920 PCIe NVMe 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair TX650M
Cooling
Hyper 212 RGB Black Edition
Case
NZXT H500
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware AWH2518HF
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
HyperX Pulsefire FPS
▲ hide details ▲
Frosty88 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off