Help: Overclocking FX-6100 with an Asus Sabertooth 990FX - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help: Overclocking FX-6100 with an Asus Sabertooth 990FX

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Hi, I am new with this scorpius setup and I need assistance on reaching a stable 4.5ghz mark or better.

RIght now I am at 4.5ghz that can boot but experiencing hardware failures on Prime95 and AIDA64 benchtests.

On Cinebench 11.5 I usually get a 5.02 score.
On SuperPI it takes 15min to process a 32mb iteration.

Here are my specs for now. (please check RIG)

And here are my BIOS settings.

D.O.C.P = On
Multiplier = 22.5
Memory Frequency = 1600mhz
CPU/NB Frequency = 2200mhz
CPU Volts = 1.4500
The rest are set to AUTO.

With this noob overclock(I know I am a noob) setup I could POST and go to windows and perform simple tasks without any bluescreen either on Cinebench, LinX and or IBT.

BUT can't pass PRIME95, I am getting an error of "Illegal Sumout" - "Hardware Failure"

I need your help guys with my Setup. I know my RIG is adequate enough to pass a 4.5ghz mark FULL 24/7 Stable.

I really need your help.
If you have this similar motherboard and processor, please post your settings aswell let me copy it smile.gif if its okay.

Info:
Asus Sabertooth 990FX BIOS Update 0901 (latest from ASUS) from 0705.
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 4gbx2 1600Mhz C9
PSU: Seasonic Xseries X850
Cooling: Antec Kuhler H620 with DeepCool Z9 Thermal grease, Scythe Kaze Jyuni 1900RPM push pull config.

here are some of my UEFI Screenshots.
450
450
450

TridentKeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
bump smile.gif

TridentKeeper is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IOSEFINI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 2,955
Rep: 331 (Unique: 255)
first of all you have to disable Turbo Core. --> test and see if you still get that error

Intel CPU:
3770K; QX9650; D930
Intel mobo:
ASUS Maximus V Gene; GIGABYTE X48T-DQ6

AMD CPU:
2x8350; 8320; 8300; 8120; 1090T; 960T; 840T; 955; 5800K; 3870K
AMD mobo:
ASUS Crosshair III, IV, V; F2A85-M Pro; F1A75-M Pro R2.0; GIGABYTE 990FXA-UD7; ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E
IOSEFINI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 09:34 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 2,582
Rep: 270 (Unique: 198)
We have the same memory, You have to manually set timings for it to be stable at 1600MHZ

AI Overclock tuner - Manual

Ratio - 22.5

AMD Turbo Core - Disabled

PCIE - Freq - 100

Spread Spectrum(s) - Disabled

CPU/NB Frequency - AUTO

HT Link - AUTO

Goto the Advanced CPU config tab and DISABLE all the power savings etc, Disable the whole list.


DRAM Timmings: (FYI: Make sure ECC mode is Disabled) = AUTO, AUTO, Disabled, Disabled, Enabled, Enabled

9
9
9
24
6
6
6
9
12
160
41
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO = 7.8ms
2T
CPU - Load LIne Calibration = High
CPU/NB Load Line = High
CPU Current Capability = 120%
CPU/NB Current capability = 100%
PWR Phase Control = Optimized
CPU Voltage Frequency = AUTO
VRM Spread SPectrum = Disabled
CPU Power Duty Control = T.Probe
Voltages: Manual Control

CPU - 1.3975v or around there.

DRAM Voltage - 1.50625

The rest AUTO


FYI: Idle Volts should be 1.380v , Under Load your Vcore should goto 1.360 Volts, AMD reccomends starting at 1.350v for 4500MHz

ASRock X99 Taichi / Intel i7-6800K / G.SKILL 4x4GB DDR4-2400 / Samsung SM961 128GB / RX Vega 56 / EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W / Acer ED323QUR / Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"Humans aren't the only species on Earth, We just act like it..."
garikfox is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by garikfox View Post

We have the same memory, You have to manually set timings for it to be stable at 1600MHZ
AI Overclock tuner - Manual
Ratio - 22.5
AMD Turbo Core - Disabled
PCIE - Freq - 100
Spread Spectrum(s) - Disabled
CPU/NB Frequency - AUTO
HT Link - AUTO
Goto the Advanced CPU config tab and DISABLE all the power savings etc, Disable the whole list.
DRAM Timmings: (FYI: Make sure ECC mode is Disabled) = AUTO, AUTO, Disabled, Disabled, Enabled, Enabled
9
9
9
24
6
6
6
9
12
160
41
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO
AUTO = 7.8ms
2T
CPU - Load LIne Calibration = High
CPU/NB Load Line = High
CPU Current Capability = 120%
CPU/NB Current capability = 100%
PWR Phase Control = Optimized
CPU Voltage Frequency = AUTO
VRM Spread SPectrum = Disabled
CPU Power Duty Control = T.Probe
Voltages: Manual Control
CPU - 1.3975v or around there.
DRAM Voltage - 1.50625
The rest AUTO
FYI: Idle Volts should be 1.380v , Under Load your Vcore should goto 1.360 Volts, AMD reccomends starting at 1.350v for 4500MHz



Thank you good sir for the insight, can't wait to go home from work to test this settings out. I knew it was my RAM settings, I am just scared of adjusting it. I'll try it our once I get home, let you know asap.

TridentKeeper is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by IOSEFINI View Post

first of all you have to disable Turbo Core. --> test and see if you still get that error

Thank you for the reply. I will try that as soon as I go home from work, Ill let you know asap.

TridentKeeper is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 10:59 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 2,582
Rep: 270 (Unique: 198)
FYI: Also make sure your Kuhler 620 is set as Intake, Not Exhaust.

http://blog.antec.com/cooling/asetek-air-flow-matters/

ASRock X99 Taichi / Intel i7-6800K / G.SKILL 4x4GB DDR4-2400 / Samsung SM961 128GB / RX Vega 56 / EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W / Acer ED323QUR / Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"Humans aren't the only species on Earth, We just act like it..."
garikfox is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by garikfox View Post

FYI: Also make sure your Kuhler 620 is set as Intake, Not Exhaust.
http://blog.antec.com/cooling/asetek-air-flow-matters/

Yep already did that from day one smile.gif thank you again!

TridentKeeper is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-16-2012, 02:11 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
garikfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 2,582
Rep: 270 (Unique: 198)
FYI: 4.5GHz might be a bit much for the FX-6100 so Ill put some different options on the table, Make sure to always use CPU LLC on High.

These setting should work for the FX-6100 since its what I tested my FX-6100 with.

My FX-6100 (VID 1.225v or 1225mv)

4.2GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3375v

4.3GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3500v

If you keep the voltage Below 1.35v it will dramitically increase the lifespan of the CPU


Heres a Good OC guide from AMD

http://sites.amd.com/us/Documents/AMD_FX_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf


Keep in mind that the green Voltage/Frequency chart at the bottom are "Under Load Voltages"

ASRock X99 Taichi / Intel i7-6800K / G.SKILL 4x4GB DDR4-2400 / Samsung SM961 128GB / RX Vega 56 / EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W / Acer ED323QUR / Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"Humans aren't the only species on Earth, We just act like it..."
garikfox is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-17-2012, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TridentKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by garikfox View Post

FYI: 4.5GHz might be a bit much for the FX-6100 so Ill put some different options on the table, Make sure to always use CPU LLC on High.
These setting should work for the FX-6100 since its what I tested my FX-6100 with.
My FX-6100 (VID 1.225v or 1225mv)
4.2GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3375v
4.3GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3500v
If you keep the voltage Below 1.35v it will dramitically increase the lifespan of the CPU
Heres a Good OC guide from AMD
http://sites.amd.com/us/Documents/AMD_FX_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf
Keep in mind that the green Voltage/Frequency chart at the bottom are "Under Load Voltages"

HI,

Thank you for the tips and links smile.gif I really appreciate it.

I downloaded the AMD Overdrive software just to test the waters and to lessen by reboot time aswell. (once I get full stability on the clocks and settings I get from AMD Overdrive, i'll implement that on the BIOS.)

Here are the latest update.

1. Given with the settings you suggested, 4.2GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3375v or 4.3GHz - In BIOS set Vcore = 1.3500v, I cant get full stability without increasing my volts to 1.400v. (stable at 4.2ghz @ 1.4v)
2. Still trying to mix and match some settings to attain the 4.5ghz goal. (4.5ghz @ 1.4500v can boot but not pass PRIME95 blend test or the SMALL test)
3. What if I increase the NB speed, would that make a difference?
4. what If I increase by FSB speed(indeed it will affect my RAM speed)?

Ill post the screenshot of the AMD Overdrive soon once I get home.

Again thanks for the input.

TridentKeeper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off