Next upgrade from 1100t? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Next upgrade from 1100t?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-20-2012, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
That_guy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wabash College
Posts: 3,774
Rep: 157 (Unique: 137)
I just got my 3x xfx 7970s in the mail today. And i think im going to upgrade my CPU. what would be a good cpu upgrade from my current cpu which is at 4.4?

ignore my ram. its 3x4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by ambusher go_quote.gif
nobody cares about them anymore, crytek sold out to the consoles and gave pc gamers the middle finger



Cpuz validation of sig rig so far smile.gif << Old rig Folding smile.gif
The Little AMD FX Bulldozer that could!

Current Rig Validation
That_guy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aStupidTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Niger , HOT !!!
Posts: 172
Rep: 21 (Unique: 18)
I would recommend getting a 2500k/2600k with a nice board like this or waiting for the ivy bridge to come out (April) and still getting the good board
biggrin.gif

here is a little comp: http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/11/03/amd_fx8150_multigpu_gameplay_performance_review/
(the performance margin between the 1100t and the fx-8150 is very small in gaming , even smaller when overclocked)

or , if you have lotsa money and/or you do editing , get a lga 2011 board and a cpu that fits the budget (performance gain in games will be small though)

The only times I am wrong are when I am not right !
If my answer has been useful , please click the REP+ button
aStupidTroll is offline  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 08:23 AM
Still on Sandy Bridge
 
metal_gunjee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: US - Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,375
Rep: 48 (Unique: 40)
You really can't do any better on the AMD side right now. If you really want more cpu power you have two options.
1) Go Intel with a Sandy Bridge or Sandy-E chip.
2) Wait around and see what AMD's Piledriver is gonna do.

Sad, but true.

Reality is not only stranger than we suppose. It may be stranger than we can suppose.
Lounge Machine
(14 items)
CPU
Core i5-2500K @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard
Asus P8P67 Pro
GPU
MSI Radeon RX570 8GB Armor OC
RAM
8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-2133 [9-11-10-28]
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos 120GB SATA3
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 2TB 5900RPM
Power Supply
700W 80+ bronze
Cooling
Xigmatek Dark Knight
Case
Lancool PC-K62 "Dragonlord"
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Rosewill RK-7300
Audio
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Other
Visiontek Killer 2100 NIC
▲ hide details ▲


metal_gunjee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 08:41 AM
Overclocked
 
hotrod717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amish Country - USA
Posts: 2,806
Rep: 92 (Unique: 63)
Quote:
Originally Posted by metal_gunjee View Post

You really can't do any better on the AMD side right now. If you really want more cpu power you have two options.
1) Go Intel with a Sandy Bridge or Sandy-E chip.
2) Wait around and see what AMD's Piledriver is gonna do.
Sad, but true.

I agree with metal gunjee, although once we see revision on bulldozer and better windows compatability and optimization for new inst. sets in win8, there may be some vindication for amd yet.

An old toothbrush is the best thing to remove tim from hard to reach places.
hotrod717 is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 09:18 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cal, India
Posts: 4,959
Any current AMD setup will bottleneck the crap outta those 7970s. Sad but true frown.gif
PunkX 1 is offline  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 09:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jtom320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,804
Rep: 128 (Unique: 109)
You have no choice but Intel with those 7970s. Depending on your resolution I could see a 2500k *technically* bottlenecking them.

But especially if gaming is your deal there is no reason to go AMD in your build.

Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling guide.
Ryzen 3000
(17 items)
CPU
R9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Master
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
32gb DDR4 3433 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 850 Gold
Cooling
HeatKiller IV AM4
Cooling
EK 1080 FE GPU Block
Cooling
Black Ice 360mm SR2
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360mm
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aqualis Fountain Thing
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
PETG
Case
Fractal S2
Operating System
Win 10
CPU
6700k (EK Supremacy Evo) *4.7 @ 1.312
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII gene
GPU
GTX 1080 FE (EK nickel/plexi)* 2075/5401
RAM
16gb Corsair 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 950pro M.2 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Steam
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Other Apps
Power Supply
EVGA 650
Cooling
EK Res
Cooling
EK pump top
Cooling
XSPC EX 360
Cooling
XSPC EX 240
Case
Fractal Arc Mini 2
Operating System
10
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 TKL
Mouse
G303
▲ hide details ▲
jtom320 is offline  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 09:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MacLeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,361
Rep: 96 (Unique: 83)
Youre using three 7970's for a single 1920x1080 monitor? Im all for MOAR but wow! eek.gif

Nothing wrong with that but at that resolution, three 7970's will have more than enough horsepower to overcome the performance difference between a 1100 and 2500K. The extra performance of Sandy Bridge doesnt really come into play until you get the very high resolutions and massive GPU muscle. Below that, AMD can still hang close enough to not be that big a difference. So with your rig, the difference would be like 150 fps vs 130 fps. You aint gonna see any difference. If you were well above 2560x1600 then Id say its probably time to jump ship to Intel but even then Id say might as well wait. Thats still a great processor especially with that big an overclock so why not hang on to it and see if you can get good frame rates from it. If so, then wait it out for Piledriver and Ivy Bridge and see what they bring.

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• HP 32Q @ 1440
Logitech G-Pro ••• Razer DeathAdder Elite
MacLeod is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 09:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Boinz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,427
Rep: 241 (Unique: 201)
Yeah, i would recommend a 2500k/2600k as was mentioned before. I've seen benchmarks with bulldozer and the 3960k, believe me, bulldozer is a bottleneck so you don't wanna go that route.
Boinz is offline  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-21-2012, 09:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,274
Rep: 879 (Unique: 637)
ivy.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 08:04 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,529
So why 3 7970's when two of them can do three monitors (eyefinity) on ultra, I have seen this reported on a couple of sites.

Score some high benchmarks I suppose though lol.
Casey Ryback is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off