fx-8120 + sabertooth 990fx - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

fx-8120 + sabertooth 990fx

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
idle
cpu - 46c
vcore1 - 50c
vcore2 - 49c
vcore 1.176v~

load (prime95 - large ffts, 10 minutes)
cpu - 60c
vcore1 - 65c
vcore2 - 58c
vcore - 1.140v

using the coolermaster hyper 212 evo with cougar vortex pwm fans. oc in bios set to manual awith everthing on auto but the memory, set to 1866, the ram default. what is the deal here?

edit: using MASSCOOL G751 Shin-Etsu Thermal Interface Material.... i applied four small(1/4 pea size) dots of paste at the four points of a square onto the cpu. i apllied i once and removed the hs and checked it, looked good. applied it again and put it together havent checked it since then, out of paste. seems to me that the vcore is hot too though so ... ?
mattlb0619 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 12:18 AM
No.2 in Gaming
 
MrPerforations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes,England
Posts: 1,935
Rep: 79 (Unique: 58)
voltage is too high, 1.55 is the highest i have heard of on water cooling.
i have a zalman performa air cooler, and its idle is 40c ,but the core temps are saying much less,at 3.8ghz iam hiting the thermal barrier of 61c.
if you go into amd overdrive look at board status and tmpin1,thats the highest temp and the ione to watch in my book.

CPU
AMD Ryzen™ 1700 3.75ghz
Motherboard
MSI™ X370 Gaming Pro Carbon™
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
RAM
Avexir™ Blitz™ 3200 CL16 @ 3200
Hard Drive
Seagate™ 2TB Barracuda™
Optical Drive
ASUS™ DRW-24D5MT
Power Supply
EVGA™ Supernova™ 1000 G2
Cooling
XSPC™ Raystorm™ 750 2x EX360 Radiators
Case
Coolermaster™ Cosmos Pure Black
Operating System
Windows™ 10 x64
Monitor
Electriq™ VM280UHD 4k
Keyboard
RII™ K66 Red Switch mechanical keyboard
Mouse
EasySMX™ Red Gaming mouse
Audio
Creative labs™ sb x-fi titanium
Audio
Logitech™ 540x 5.1
▲ hide details ▲


MrPerforations is offline  
post #3 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
mattlb0619 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 12:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IrishV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Arcadia, California
Posts: 523
Rep: 26 (Unique: 24)
I have to lean towards a improperly seated cooler. remove, clean, reapply tim, and re-install the cooler.

I have seemed to over look the last part of your post due to lack of sleep apply the tim in a pea size shape i the middle of the cpu chip. As far as i know this is the most efficient way of doing it also do you have the flat bottom 212 or the one with the gaps along the pipe flat bottom follow above the pipe gap way fill the pipe gaps a little bit before following the pea method. forgive any errors in my grammar .

May I never be complete. May I never be content. May I never be perfect. ~Chuck Palahniuk.

And for those who seem to think they are superior to others.

You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake. You are the same decaying organic matter as everyone else, and we are all part of the same compost pile. ~Chuck Palahniuk.
IrishV8 is offline  
post #5 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 12:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cannon19932006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,023
Rep: 138 (Unique: 122)
Also for amd processors 1 small bb sized dot on the middle of the processor is what's recommended, more usually isn't better with thermal compound.
Cannon19932006 is offline  
post #6 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 12:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
@cannon - i didnt apply more.. i applied the norm but so that it would cover a larger area, thinner.

@irish - it is direct pipe but i wouldnt say that it isnt flat.
mattlb0619 is offline  
post #7 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 03:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 249
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
sorry for the dbl post but i have another point/?...


if it is just bad mounting or tim application, then why are the 2 vcores(as seen in the asus software) so high as well?

keep it coming guys.... love the assist.
mattlb0619 is offline  
post #8 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 03:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
magicrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlb0619 View Post

sorry for the dbl post but i have another point/?...
if it is just bad mounting or tim application, then why are the 2 vcores(as seen in the asus software) so high as well?
keep it coming guys.... love the assist.

if you are using the asus thermal monitoring software, vcore1 and vcore2 are you vrm/mos fets on the motherboard, nothing to do with the cpu. check out the thermal radar.

that being said, your cpu temps aren't horrible considering the cooler. while the 212 has a decent reputation for being a bargain, it is not a high end cooler, and the 8120 will be a handful for it if you plan on overclocking.

my preference on a heatpipe cooler is to apply the TIM and spread it very thin, making sure to get coverage. it has given me the best results with both the 212 and Xigs.

FX-6100 under liquid @ 4.55 Ghz
Ripjaws 2000 9-10-9-28
2 x 6970
Sabertooth
5 ghz club
magicrat is offline  
post #9 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 08:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hawtoothpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: King George VA
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Look at all your temps thru the ASUS Thermal Radar and see if the high temps are located around the CPU. I have a [email protected] running 24/7 with full load and getting the following temps:

CPU - 51c
Vcore1 - 52c
Vcore2 - 51c
MB - 37c
Hawtoothpk is offline  
post #10 of 57 (permalink) Old 03-15-2012, 08:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
almstsobur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 165
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawtoothpk View Post

Look at all your temps thru the ASUS Thermal Radar and see if the high temps are located around the CPU. I have a [email protected] running 24/7 with full load and getting the following temps:
CPU - 51c
Vcore1 - 52c
Vcore2 - 51c
MB - 37c

Those temps are not bad, but I do question why you have 100F MB temp? That should be much closer to ambient's since the sensor is at the bottom right corner of the board, airflow issue? My MB temps are 23-25C with a 5.0Ghz OC at 1.56V. As for the V-core they are good up to 85C before it will self throttle.

almstsobur is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off