[OFFICIAL] FX-8320/FX-8350 Vishera Owners Club - Page 6836 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] FX-8320/FX-8350 Vishera Owners Club

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #68351 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-04-2019, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,873
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alastair View Post
Which begs the question. Surely there is some voltage I can tweak to stabilize 303 BCLK.

VDDA
NB
NB 1.8
NB HT voltage.

Aaai. This thing. I love it and hate it at the same time.
lol It's a platform for those who have a relentless curiousity and a high tolerance for frustration.

Wish I had better clues for you. Early bios GD80's don't do so well with high frequency ram, later versions do. ( aimed more at phenom 2 is my supposition) seem to do better with nb speeds later bios versions seem to be the opposite, hitting 2400mhz on ram but struggling to get top nb speeds.


cssorkinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #68352 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-04-2019, 01:26 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Alastair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Benoni (South Africa)
Posts: 6,229
Rep: 261 (Unique: 163)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
lol It's a platform for those who have a relentless curiousity and a high tolerance for frustration.

Wish I had better clues for you. Early bios GD80's don't do so well with high frequency ram, later versions do. ( aimed more at phenom 2 is my supposition) seem to do better with nb speeds later bios versions seem to be the opposite, hitting 2400mhz on ram but struggling to get top nb speeds.
I just think there is a dead spot. So I am testing 270 Bclk. Which leaves me with 2160 memory and 2700NB.

So far I have been loosening my timings. So far at 10-11-11-31. That extra 160MHz DRAM is causing issues. I have a feeling I will be testing cas 11 shortly and hoping for the best. I think it's time to invest in a 2400 kit or better.

GHOST rev 4
(26 items)
Rura Penthe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 WAVE
RAM
Avexir Core 2 3600MHz 18-20-20-44
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint HD502HI
Power Supply
CoolerMaster V1300 Platinum
Cooling
XSPC D5 Bay Res
Cooling
1x CoolerMaster Storm Force 200
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE360
Cooling
6x CoolerMaster Jetflo's 120mm
Cooling
XSPC D5 Vario
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream CE280
Cooling
6 Corsair ML140's
Cooling
Barrow Vega 64 full cover waterblock.
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
Dell SE2717H
Keyboard
Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Mionix Alioth
Audio
GX Gaming SW-G2.1 3000
Audio
Kingston Hyper X Cloud Core
CPU
AMD Athlon 860K
Motherboard
Asus A88X-Pro
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
RAM
G-Skill Ares 2133 CL10 8GB (2x4GB)
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000VX003
Optical Drive
Samsung HD502HI
Power Supply
Seagate M12II 620W
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer A30
Case
Corsair Carbide SPEC-02
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit
Keyboard
Razer Lycrosa
CPU
Intel Celeron G1840
Motherboard
MSI Z97-Guard Pro
GPU
Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
GPU
XFX RX480 reference edition 8G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4g
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
RAM
G-Skill Ares F3-1600C9D
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
Power Supply
Gigabyte XP1200M
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Alastair is offline  
post #68353 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 08:50 PM
FX-5000
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 974
Rep: 67 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alastair View Post
Which begs the question. Surely there is some voltage I can tweak to stabilize 303 BCLK.

VDDA
NB
NB 1.8
NB HT voltage.

Aaai. This thing. I love it and hate it at the same time.
Going off the sig.....

NB at 2.7ghz if stable, keep it that way. HT speeds at 3Ghz is ok. I've had mine past 4Ghz. At 4.2Ghz HT, the IMC had gotten damaged and will only run single channel memory. MacsBeach at Warp9 can confirm this.

Really the loss in stability comes from Cpu temps and too high NB frequency and Memory OCs.

At any rate my daily voltages for NB and HT where.
HT = 1.45v 3Ghz = 1.5+ between 3Ghz and 4Ghz.
Cpu/NB 1.35-1.45v depending on memory clocks. Higher clocks higher voltage.
NB (core) 1.3v (never exceeded this personally)
Cpu and memory vary too much this depends on your hardware really.
^Very actively cooled ^

Ultimately, the best performance gains would be in 200Mhz cpu increments. If you ran a bucket of Ice water in a loop on that cpu, I bet you'd be around 5.4-5.6Ghz. And you'd be surprised how far you can go with just your current voltage used now at 5.1Ghz....


ShrimpBrime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #68354 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 08:51 PM
FX-5000
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 974
Rep: 67 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alastair View Post
Which begs the question. Surely there is some voltage I can tweak to stabilize 303 BCLK.

VDDA
NB
NB 1.8
NB HT voltage.

Aaai. This thing. I love it and hate it at the same time.
Going off the sig.....

NB at 2.7ghz if stable, keep it that way. HT speeds at 3Ghz is ok. I've had mine past 4Ghz. At 4.2Ghz HT, the IMC had gotten damaged and will only run single channel memory. MacsBeach at Warp9 can confirm this.

Really the loss in stability comes from Cpu temps and too high NB frequency and Memory OCs.

At any rate my daily voltages for NB and HT where.
HT = 1.45v 3Ghz = 1.5+ between 3Ghz and 4Ghz.
Cpu/NB 1.35-1.45v depending on memory clocks. Higher clocks higher voltage.
NB (core) 1.3v (never exceeded this personally)
Cpu and memory vary too much this depends on your hardware really.
^Very actively cooled ^

Ultimately, the best performance gains would be in 200Mhz cpu increments. If you ran a bucket of Ice water in a loop on that cpu, I bet you'd be around 5.4-5.6Ghz. And you'd be surprised how far you can go with just your current voltage used now at 4.95Ghz....


ShrimpBrime is offline  
post #68355 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 02:24 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Alastair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Benoni (South Africa)
Posts: 6,229
Rep: 261 (Unique: 163)
Quote: Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime View Post
Going off the sig.....

NB at 2.7ghz if stable, keep it that way. HT speeds at 3Ghz is ok. I've had mine past 4Ghz. At 4.2Ghz HT, the IMC had gotten damaged and will only run single channel memory. MacsBeach at Warp9 can confirm this.

Really the loss in stability comes from Cpu temps and too high NB frequency and Memory OCs.

At any rate my daily voltages for NB and HT where.
HT = 1.45v 3Ghz = 1.5+ between 3Ghz and 4Ghz.
Cpu/NB 1.35-1.45v depending on memory clocks. Higher clocks higher voltage.
NB (core) 1.3v (never exceeded this personally)
Cpu and memory vary too much this depends on your hardware really.
^Very actively cooled ^

Ultimately, the best performance gains would be in 200Mhz cpu increments. If you ran a bucket of Ice water in a loop on that cpu, I bet you'd be around 5.4-5.6Ghz. And you'd be surprised how far you can go with just your current voltage used now at 4.95Ghz....
Well In know that HTT doesn't effect memory at all since that is CPU <> Northbridge. So High HTT has helped me with my multi-card setups. But I have not seen a benefit above 3000 though. And I am not running high HT voltage either for that speed. I am only one click above stock at 1.2125V for NB-HT and 1.1125 for NB. System seems happy back at my every day 4.95 @ 1.48V, 2700 CPU-NB @ 1.3875V and 2000 DRAM 9-9-10-27 @ 1.8v. Its just that 3MHz extra making 27MHz extra on the CPU-NB that causes the whole system to fall flat. Seems there is a volt wall there. And its made worse by temps as well. If I keep socket below 65C it errors about 50% into HCI memtest. Socket temp goes above 70 and it errors almost instanty when you try running the test.



Cant put Ghost in an ice bucket I am afraid. besides I dont know how much even with some exotic cooling my M5A99FX would handle. Its a good board but it isnt a Saberkitty or a CH-V. And what is with Asus dumbing down the TUF range? Man when ryzen came out I was looking forward to a Sabertooth for ryzen with just as good capabilities as the CH-VI or VII with just a cheaper price tag. Now TUF is the kid that sits in the corner sniffing glue.

If You Can Cool It! You Can Clock It! (AMD's Vishera)
GHOST rev 4
(26 items)
Rura Penthe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 WAVE
RAM
Avexir Core 2 3600MHz 18-20-20-44
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint HD502HI
Power Supply
CoolerMaster V1300 Platinum
Cooling
XSPC D5 Bay Res
Cooling
1x CoolerMaster Storm Force 200
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE360
Cooling
6x CoolerMaster Jetflo's 120mm
Cooling
XSPC D5 Vario
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream CE280
Cooling
6 Corsair ML140's
Cooling
Barrow Vega 64 full cover waterblock.
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
Dell SE2717H
Keyboard
Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Mionix Alioth
Audio
GX Gaming SW-G2.1 3000
Audio
Kingston Hyper X Cloud Core
CPU
AMD Athlon 860K
Motherboard
Asus A88X-Pro
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
RAM
G-Skill Ares 2133 CL10 8GB (2x4GB)
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000VX003
Optical Drive
Samsung HD502HI
Power Supply
Seagate M12II 620W
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer A30
Case
Corsair Carbide SPEC-02
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit
Keyboard
Razer Lycrosa
CPU
Intel Celeron G1840
Motherboard
MSI Z97-Guard Pro
GPU
Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
GPU
XFX RX480 reference edition 8G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4g
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
RAM
G-Skill Ares F3-1600C9D
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
Power Supply
Gigabyte XP1200M
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Alastair is offline  
post #68356 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 04:10 AM
FX-5000
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 974
Rep: 67 (Unique: 48)
Yours is hot. Thats likely your main issue with the cpu frequency. The NB is probably maxed out already with FX chips.
You have a decent board. Temps are a bif FX issue. More so than anything else.
FX-9590 runs a pstate of 1.5250v at its max turbo frequency. A lot of chips will need around the same volts to achieve 5.2ghz.
I think you have a decent overclock and should be happy with it.


ShrimpBrime is offline  
post #68357 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 04:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AVATARAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 74
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Very interesting things that I learn in this few pages, thanks
When I back at home I will try to tune up a bit more NB and RAM.

@ShrimpBrime thanks about info for ice water, temps and 5GHz++ voltage ! This is very interesting !

About RAM speed, I have Team Group 2400MHz RAM, before that I had 2133MHz and from my tests I can't see benefit after ~2164-2200MHz and lower timings in AIDA64.
In read/write/copy depend of speed/timing between 2164-2432 (9-11-11-29 and 10-12-12-32) I can't see much difference.
With 1.70v I can achieve 2500+ (can't remember) but was pointless. Maybe with high NB is possible I don't know.

Last time when I search in the net, I saw some pics that show 2600-2700MHz RAM speed and they had the same read/write/copy. And because that I think that after ~2200MHz with lower timings is pointless to go.
FX-8370

AVATARAT is offline  
post #68358 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 05:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,873
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
Quote: Originally Posted by AVATARAT View Post
Very interesting things that I learn in this few pages, thanks
When I back at home I will try to tune up a bit more NB and RAM.

@ShrimpBrime thanks about info for ice water, temps and 5GHz++ voltage ! This is very interesting !

About RAM speed, I have Team Group 2400MHz RAM, before that I had 2133MHz and from my tests I can't see benefit after ~2164-2200MHz and lower timings in AIDA64.
In read/write/copy depend of speed/timing between 2164-2432 (9-11-11-29 and 10-12-12-32) I can't see much difference.
With 1.70v I can achieve 2500+ (can't remember) but was pointless. Maybe with high NB is possible I don't know.

Last time when I search in the net, I saw some pics that show 2600-2700MHz RAM speed and they had the same read/write/copy. And because that I think that after ~2200MHz with lower timings is pointless to go.
FX-8370

Just be aware that you can't compare different versions of aida 64 results.


Put up a screeny of your settings and aida results - the fellows here might have some suggs .


cssorkinman is offline  
post #68359 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 05:40 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Alastair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Benoni (South Africa)
Posts: 6,229
Rep: 261 (Unique: 163)
Quote: Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime View Post
Yours is hot. Thats likely your main issue with the cpu frequency. The NB is probably maxed out already with FX chips.
You have a decent board. Temps are a bif FX issue. More so than anything else.
FX-9590 runs a pstate of 1.5250v at its max turbo frequency. A lot of chips will need around the same volts to achieve 5.2ghz.
I think you have a decent overclock and should be happy with it.
I wouldn't say temps are holding me back at all. At least not from a CPU frequency perspective. As 5GHz is very easy to attain and stabilize.

It's the CPU-NB clock that is throwing me off. Anything over 2700 is a crapshoot. Evn with 1.47V applied. Core temps under load like Prime or IBT don't break 60C. And generally sit around 55c or less.

Socket temps are another story because I know I riding the limit of what this motherboard is capable of by conventional cooling means (VRM fan and backside socket fan.) socket temps will hit 70s under stress test. And at 5GHz will actually break 80C socket. But funnily enough it doesn't throttle at those temps. Because my VRM temps are only at about 80C or so. I've noticed throttling of I turn my VRM fan down and it breaks 110C VRM it throttles.

GHOST rev 4
(26 items)
Rura Penthe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI VEGA 64 WAVE
RAM
Avexir Core 2 3600MHz 18-20-20-44
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint HD502HI
Power Supply
CoolerMaster V1300 Platinum
Cooling
XSPC D5 Bay Res
Cooling
1x CoolerMaster Storm Force 200
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE360
Cooling
6x CoolerMaster Jetflo's 120mm
Cooling
XSPC D5 Vario
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream CE280
Cooling
6 Corsair ML140's
Cooling
Barrow Vega 64 full cover waterblock.
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
Dell SE2717H
Keyboard
Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Mionix Alioth
Audio
GX Gaming SW-G2.1 3000
Audio
Kingston Hyper X Cloud Core
CPU
AMD Athlon 860K
Motherboard
Asus A88X-Pro
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
RAM
G-Skill Ares 2133 CL10 8GB (2x4GB)
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000VX003
Optical Drive
Samsung HD502HI
Power Supply
Seagate M12II 620W
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer A30
Case
Corsair Carbide SPEC-02
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit
Keyboard
Razer Lycrosa
CPU
Intel Celeron G1840
Motherboard
MSI Z97-Guard Pro
GPU
Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
GPU
XFX RX480 reference edition 8G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4g
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
RAM
G-Skill Ares F3-1600C9D
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
Power Supply
Gigabyte XP1200M
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Alastair is offline  
post #68360 of 68370 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 07:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AVATARAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 74
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
Just be aware that you can't compare different versions of aida 64 results.

Put up a screeny of your settings and aida results - the fellows here might have some suggs .
Yes, there can be a little difference but the chip is old and the result will be near the same. Never mind, you said before that you have some good and fast memory sticks. Can you test it with them please ?
AVATARAT is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off