what is core c6 state exactly? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

what is core c6 state exactly?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
edalbkrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: QC, Philippines
Posts: 4,613
Rep: 220 (Unique: 198)
I read in another thread that is should be disabled, and i got a higher bench score compared to it enabled on a higher clockspeed.
see screenshot, 4ghz beat 4.1ghz in cinebench




other settings are the same.
turbo core = disabled
vcore = 1.37
northbridge = stock
ht = stock
bus speed = stock

.
Rabasu i7-3770K
(13 items)
Rabasu FX6100
(13 items)
CPU
i7 3770K
Motherboard
ECS H77H2-M3
GPU
MSI RX 580 Armor 8GB OC
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Blu
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Optical Drive
Sony DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 620W
Cooling
stock
Case
Coolermaster Elite 430
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
BenQ E2220 1080p
Mouse
A4tech X7 710BH
CPU
A8 7410 2.5Ghz
GPU
Radeon R5 M335 2GB
RAM
4GB DDR3L
Hard Drive
1 TB HDD
Case
Dell Inspiron 5455
Operating System
Windows 8.1
CPU
AMD FX 6100 4.0 Ghz 6-core
Motherboard
Asus M5A78L-MLX3 AM3+
GPU
Powercolor HD7730 1GB DDR5
RAM
16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Optical Drive
Sony DVDRW
Power Supply
Aerocool Strike-X 500watts
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper212+ with 2x140mm Deepcool UF140
Case
CoolerMaster Elite 430
Operating System
Windows 7 x64 / Mint x64
Monitor
BenQ E2220 1080p
Mouse
A4tech X7 710BH
▲ hide details ▲
edalbkrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-20-2012, 09:44 AM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,242
Rep: 596 (Unique: 494)
Quote:
This was an implementation decision made during Microsoft’s Windows NT kernel design, and based on our experiences with both processor vendors' hardware, it wasn't considered a "feature" to either company. Of course, it affected Intel in a much different way than AMD. The problem Intel had in Vista was one of power consumption. For every migration, you had to write-combine the Nehalem architecture’s L3 cache, which cost power.


This changes with Windows 7 and a feature called ideal core. If a task’s needs are being addressed by one core, the operating system will let you stay there. This means two things to Intel: first, you don’t use power on the migration, and second, idle cores are able to remain in a C6 state. Purportedly, this migration fix alone will yield an extra 10 to 15 minutes of battery life on Nehalem-based notebooks, though this won’t become a major issue until the mobile dual-core Arrandale launches later this year. Perhaps more interesting, though, is that processors without C6 will not realize this gain (including AMD’s CPUs).”

Source;

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/fx-8150-zambezi-bulldozer-990fx,3043-7.html

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
Cigar ATX PC
(14 items)
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Open Water Loop
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Microsoft Sidewinder X5
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD 128GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640
Motherboard
ASRock N68C-GS
GPU
NVIDIA 6600GT
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Optical Drive
Power Supply
Thermaltake TR2 600W
Cooling
Thermaltake Max Orb
Case
Cigar Boxes
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Viewsonic 19” Flatscreen CRT
Keyboard
Gigabyte GK-K6800 103
Mouse
Zalman ZM-M300
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance MM200
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-20-2012, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
edalbkrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: QC, Philippines
Posts: 4,613
Rep: 220 (Unique: 198)

so it basically turns the other cores in a sort of sleep mode if one or two are enough for the task?
i wonder still how i gained a higher benchmark score when the test uses all cores at 100%

do you know if there are any other power saving features that i should turn off to gain some speed?

.
Rabasu i7-3770K
(13 items)
Rabasu FX6100
(13 items)
CPU
i7 3770K
Motherboard
ECS H77H2-M3
GPU
MSI RX 580 Armor 8GB OC
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Blu
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Optical Drive
Sony DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 620W
Cooling
stock
Case
Coolermaster Elite 430
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
BenQ E2220 1080p
Mouse
A4tech X7 710BH
CPU
A8 7410 2.5Ghz
GPU
Radeon R5 M335 2GB
RAM
4GB DDR3L
Hard Drive
1 TB HDD
Case
Dell Inspiron 5455
Operating System
Windows 8.1
CPU
AMD FX 6100 4.0 Ghz 6-core
Motherboard
Asus M5A78L-MLX3 AM3+
GPU
Powercolor HD7730 1GB DDR5
RAM
16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB
Optical Drive
Sony DVDRW
Power Supply
Aerocool Strike-X 500watts
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper212+ with 2x140mm Deepcool UF140
Case
CoolerMaster Elite 430
Operating System
Windows 7 x64 / Mint x64
Monitor
BenQ E2220 1080p
Mouse
A4tech X7 710BH
▲ hide details ▲
edalbkrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-22-2012, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wallachia
Posts: 1,835
Rep: 107 (Unique: 61)
If you want maximum performance turn off C1 (help with DPC latency -sound card dont like C1) ,CnQ (i am disabling this since i was using X2 6400+ -it was always dropping the peak performance enabled ) ,APM (to avoid throttling) , C6 (avoid parking ,even though the patches on W7 do this smarter) .
Also turbo core should be turned off as when you are playing with the others enumerated seems to not kick in if ever was (rarely seen it working on my 4100FX with my 970A-UD3 .i suspect the mobo in culprit .
The turbo clock can be considered a safe overclocking shelf.
Of course the CnQ and C6 off means more power consumption if you care about this.
You can gain more performance by setting the HT at 2600 manually if you are lucky to use a board that sets it default ay 2400MT for unknown reasons (as my board does)

Over & Out !
Dromihetes is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2015, 04:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JaviHache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
I dont know if you can read german, but here it says Turbo will not kick in in full swing if C6 State is deactivated. That's probably the reason why you were not getting the best benchmark. Turbo is 4.2Ghz vs 4.12 from your overclock.

https://www.google.de/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin/threads/408737-AMD-FX-Vishera&ved=0CB8QFjAAOApqFQoTCO2uhJ_3vcgCFQcyGgodnmcDjg&usg=AFQjCNHFkw-EWyLU2g6YkFAJZObU8Qm9jQ&sig2=AP3bSYvrbYbDgtQLGsdHGg
JaviHache is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-12-2015, 04:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,550
Rep: 858 (Unique: 327)
Depending on the CPU / APU model, the highest boosted frequency PState usually has a C6-state requirement.
For example on FX-8370 which has 4.0GHz (P0, base), 4.1GHz (Pb1, boost) and 4.3GHz (Pb0, boost) states, the C6-state requirement is set to four. This means that the highest PState (4.3GHz, Pb0) will not activate unless half of the cores are currently in C6 active state.

If you disable C6-state this condition can obviously never be met, and the highest boosted state will never activate.
In this case the CPU will operate at the highest frequency PState which doesn´t have the C6-state requirement (4.1GHz Pb1).

Likewise if you disable APM(Master) feature from the bios, it will essentially disable Turbo.
Killing APM will kill the power management and after that the CPU no longer knows how much power it consumes.

Requirements for Turbo (CPB):

- CPB Enabled
- C6 Enabled
- APM Enabled

Failing to meet any of those will render Turbo either partially or complete useless.
The Stilt is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 11:59 AM
IRC: #amd-overclocking
 
HuggyBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bustling metropolis of Hamilton, OH
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

Likewise if you disable APM(Master) feature from the bios, it will essentially disable Turbo.
Killing APM will kill the power management and after that the CPU no longer knows how much power it consumes.
Could you explain a little more what you mean by "...CPU no longer knows how much power it consumes"? I always thought that the VRMs handled how much power to deliver to the CPU and that the CPU never really "knew" how much power it was or wasn't consuming. Your statement makes me believe that I am totally wrong.

Apologies if my question seems like it's coming from an idiot, but I don't know what I don't know so I thought it was worth asking.

Everything is funny as long as it is happening to somebody else.
HuggyBear is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off