Any 9590 or 9370 overclocking results? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Any 9590 or 9370 overclocking results?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1108 (permalink) Old 07-31-2013, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mad Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 324
Rep: 36 (Unique: 34)
These cpus have been for sale for a few weeks now, but I haven't seen any overclocking results. Does anyone here have one of them?

I'm wondering if their binning makes their max overclocks any better than an 8350.
Mad Skillz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1108 (permalink) Old 07-31-2013, 05:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Derp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8,763
Rep: 735 (Unique: 515)
HW canucks tried to overclock the 9590. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/62166-amd-fx-9590-review-piledriver-5ghz-18.html


"Since our Corsair H80 and Noctua NH-U12S were both overwhelmed whenever Turbo Core was disabled and the system was left at idle (yes, you read that right: at IDLE), we decided to step things up a notch. Bringing in a Noctua NH-U14S with dual fans as a pinch hitter resulted in more acceptable temperatures and allowed for some overclocking. Though not all that much."

"With Turbo Core disabled and a bit more voltage, we were able to achieve a constant frequency of 5.016GHz on ALL cores, regardless of the situation. Unfortunately, we couldn’t get this 300MHz to a point that we would consider 24/7 stable due to the elevated temperatures it caused but it was more than capable of running a few benchmarks. "

"Throwing caution into the wind, we decided to push things even further and eventually hit nearly 5.2GHz. Unfortunately, while the system would boot into Windows, any multi-core load would shut the whole works down. No BSOD or OS freeze, just a complete reboot. It could be that at that point, we had reached the motherboard’s power limits but testing continues. "

Derp is offline  
post #3 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-23-2013, 11:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FurtadoZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 292
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Bump! Does anyone personally own any of the new 9000 series and has pushed it?

FurtadoZ9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-23-2013, 11:58 PM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,831
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
It's probably hard for some to justify the price. I wish that the 9370 was 280$ and the 9590 330$. We'd see more then i think.

Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #5 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-24-2013, 12:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FurtadoZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 292
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I've read that the 9590 is supposed to be dropping to the 500$ range, hopefully dropping the 9370 as well and making it a viable option

FurtadoZ9 is offline  
post #6 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-24-2013, 12:12 AM
 
lugal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 451
9590 is actually 300 pounds in some uk shop and 9370 should be around 180. Most eshops dont even list them in eu (none where I live) so I dont think they will be widely available to make them an option.
lugal is offline  
post #7 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-24-2013, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MacLeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,361
Rep: 96 (Unique: 83)
The 9370 is $350 right now on Newegg. Still not sure if I think its worth it or not with 8320's running $145 and able to clock nearly as high. Id love to have one to play with though. Be nice to put this Sabertooth which I think is the toughest line of motherboards on the market, to the test.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113346

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• HP 32Q @ 1440
Logitech G-Pro ••• Razer DeathAdder Elite
MacLeod is offline  
post #8 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-24-2013, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Alatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 16,904
Rep: 249 (Unique: 218)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod View Post

Sabertooth which I think is the toughest line of motherboards on the market, to the test.

Pretty much 99.9% marketing. Sabertooths are basically mainstream boards with a new coat of paint.

If you want a mobo that has the best components and clocks the best for AM3+ you're going to be looking at the crosshair. There's a reason why all the records are broken with it instead of the sabertooth.


Alatar is offline  
post #9 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-24-2013, 10:43 AM
Canada Goose Puncher
 
CynicalUnicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Extra-west Virginia
Posts: 9,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derp View Post

HW canucks tried to overclock the 9590. http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/62166-amd-fx-9590-review-piledriver-5ghz-18.html


"...It could be that at that point, we had reached the motherboard’s power limits but testing continues. "

Alatar, you're crazy/dedicated enough to hit almost 8 GHz (but only with two cores), so you should know something about this. At what point would a "normal" $100-200 motherboard (e.g. Gigabyte 990FX UD3, ASRock 990FX Extreme3) fail to supply power? Presumably the Centurions are more energy efficient and could theoretically hit higher clocks, but it'd only be by a couple/few hundred MHz at best.

Quote: Originally Posted by TheBadBull View Post
someone sig this


CynicalUnicorn is offline  
post #10 of 1108 (permalink) Old 08-25-2013, 09:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FurtadoZ9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 292
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Bump for any results smile.gif

FurtadoZ9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off