AMD Multiplier Overclocking Guide Vishera / Bulldozer / Phenom + More GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1.1 NON-UEFI Bios Example - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Multiplier Overclocking Guide Vishera / Bulldozer / Phenom + More GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1.1 NON-UEFI Bios Example

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-23-2013, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dmfree88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 120 (Unique: 103)
maybe now that your at a higher clock LLC needs adjusting again? seems like you are boosting quite a bit. might need less LLC and more volts sometimes raising it can actually lower it aswell pending mobo (seen some crazy llc results from people lately). Some chips cant even do 5.0ghz need like 1.65v+ to handle. Others seem to do better, depends on the chip.

What mobo are you using anyways? You should put your rig in your signature like mine. Go to rig builder at the top right of screen build your rig. Then go to your profile (click your name on top right screen) and add it to your signature (like 3/4 of the way down the page). Very helpful biggrin.gif

Nice OC though. thumb.gif
dmfree88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-23-2013, 06:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
glenquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 526
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
PERFORMANCE PC DISCOUNTS!!!!!!!


AMD FX 8350 l ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z l G Skill 2x8gb 2400 CL10 l 2xGigabyte
7950 Crossfire l Cooler Master V1000 l XSPC Raystorm 750 Block/Res/Pump
(Monsta 80mm Rad: P/P 4 Corsair SP 120 High Perf) l Fractal Design XL R2 (4 Corsair AF140 Fans)
l OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 120GB l (2) 2tb Toshiba HDD l Win TV 2250 l ASUS BluRay Burner l Turtle Beach Px5
glenquagmire is offline  
post #13 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-24-2013, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
killerkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
Fixed it now:) check it out!smile.gif

Proud owner of the AMD vishera 4300 chip
killerkenny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-24-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dmfree88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 120 (Unique: 103)
You got a saberkitty smile.gif lucky you tongue.gif. There is somewhere you should go even though your vishera is only a 4 core these guys will help ALOT:

https://www.overclock.net/t/1318995/official-fx-8320-fx-8350-vishera-owners-club

theres lots of people monitoring the thread, also theres quite a few sabertooth owners. Post your results and pictures of your bios settings (prob need a phone/camera to take the pictures). They will be quick to give you some tips and also let you know if anything is "off".

I know these settings are on crosshair boards but you may want to check into them for yours:

CPU Power Duty Control to Extreme
CPU Power Response Control to Fast
CPU Power thermal Control to 140
CPU/NB Current Capability to 130%
Dram Current Capability to 130%

These can help with keeping stable and even sometimes requires less volts on cpu so you stay cooler (results may vary).

The last 2 only really needed if you have ram higher then 1866 or your ram is overclocked, these will help with stabilizing ram (cpu/nb and dram current).

added this info to OP, will be adding more as i collect it for other mobos.
dmfree88 is offline  
post #15 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-24-2013, 09:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
killerkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
Will check it out:)

tried to install 2x 140fans more into my kraken,but dont have the space under it(in my case) and IF i move rad to the top of my case,then the cover wont fit over:,( however with only 2x noctua a14 140mm on top the fans cant be heard but temp rised 2c under [email protected] which put me at 54c so hotter but silent:D

I probably have something to work with when it comes to powercontrol and the different voltages+ram settings then i might be able to push on a bit more if i master the great art: p

Proud owner of the AMD vishera 4300 chip
killerkenny is offline  
post #16 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-25-2013, 02:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dmfree88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 120 (Unique: 103)
nice. Silence is worth it sometimes. I actually have been putting off installing my ULNA adapters. Thinking of using them and seeing how far I can push while its quiet. If I can do 4.5ghz silent im happy smile.gif. Noctua is awesome sent me the adapters after I bought a used NH-D14 that didn't come with them. All I had to do was send in a picture. Had my rig for a long time now and I still tinker all the time. So dont expect to ever be done with that thumb.gif lol
dmfree88 is offline  
post #17 of 70 (permalink) Old 10-25-2013, 12:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
killerkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
I've been fooling around with my comp and now running 19x253(4848+- MHz) @1.548vcore down from shopping [email protected] setting lower:p tried 4,9ghz and 5 using higher CPU [email protected],65 and thermal control 140 instead of 130 BUT still failing at 4,9ghz sum errors,roundup etc so im at a delicate line it seems..what happens IF i set CPU power thingy from 130(current) to 140%(showing red in BIOS) guess it does something crazy?tongue.gif

Prime still running max [email protected] with Quiet fans..holy crap biggrin.gif so this time im under the "recomended 1,55vcore even at full blast biggrin.gif gonna put a 140mm fan behind board also(stock amd or a 140mm) if i can get it to stay there somehow:P

Edit: 2hrs in the test it froze frown.gif

this is my new improved run with same vcore 1.572 maxload and higher thermal control(140) temp is also higher peaking at extreme 58c but stable..is it safe to stay here or clock down would u say?:

8ivcmy.png

Proud owner of the AMD vishera 4300 chip
killerkenny is offline  
post #18 of 70 (permalink) Old 11-14-2013, 06:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madcratebuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NW Orygun
Posts: 263
Rep: 17 (Unique: 15)
I have been reluctant to raise the vcore on my ud3-R3.0/8350. I finally did it yesterday and it made a major improvement. I'm nowhere near what some of you run, Just a tiny increase to 1.428. I set LLC to medium, first time I've been off auto with that.. I'm running P95 torture and it's holding 55-56C with my 80i, about maxed out. Board temp seems very good at 34C, NB is 41C.

I have LLC at medium, bclk at 210, cpu clock at 22.0 for 4.62ghz

I have a 4.8ghz profile stored, I think I well add some more vcore to that and see if I burn it down:rolleyes: It may be more than the 80i can handle.

Great thread, thanks for the info.

Speedbird: [email protected]/CFVF-z/2x4 G Skill F3-2400/2XR9-280X/SSD's+Raptors/AX1200i/Dual AQ D5's-EK blocks on cpu, gpu and board/120.5 w/Noc f-12's controlled with AQ6 Pro in a CM932

Goonybird: [email protected]/GA990FXA-UD3R3/4x4 Corsair 1866/7970/SSD/SS 850Gold/CM240L/Aero X-Vision in a CM922.
madcratebuilder is offline  
post #19 of 70 (permalink) Old 11-14-2013, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dmfree88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 2,120
Rep: 120 (Unique: 103)
Glad you finally took the step! Keep an eye on how hot the vrm heatsink is getting. Many have had throttling issues with the rev3. Im sure others in the club would like to hear about your rev3 and what settings you use if you have no fan on the vrm and no throttling.

Great oc though you got a decent chip. Hope you see some fps gains in game now smile.gif
dmfree88 is offline  
post #20 of 70 (permalink) Old 11-14-2013, 08:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
killerkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
How hot can they get before problems occure? Mine has been around 77 at most, with too high volts tho,but still didnt get warnings etc:p clocking a phenom as i wait for money till a new fx 8350:p

Proud owner of the AMD vishera 4300 chip
killerkenny is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off