AMD Multiplier Overclocking Guide Vishera / Bulldozer / Phenom + More GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1.1 NON-UEFI Bios Example - Page 7 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Multiplier Overclocking Guide Vishera / Bulldozer / Phenom + More GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1.1 NON-UEFI Bios Example

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 70 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 07:05 PM
PC Gamer
 
Jaydev16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Home
Posts: 1,697
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
I'll be getting an FX 6300 and a 78LMT USB3 this month.Anyway,I was wondering whether it would be good to stress test the cpu(and gpu) with the Starswarm Stress Test:http://store.steampowered.com/app/267130/
Since most stress tests are developed for Intel,this might be much better,no?

Why does it takes so many wise ones to silence just a few fools?Because silencing others isn't in the arsenal of wise people. There is nothing wise in silencing others and by doing it, the wise person ceases to be wise. Fools should be heard rather than silenced. Silent fools are hard to recognize. -Miroslav Horníček
CPU
AMD FX 6300
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
GPU
Asus AMD Radeon RX550
RAM
Corsair Value RAM 4GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Optical Drive
LG M-DISC Optical Disk Drive
Power Supply
Corsair VS 550
Cooling
Deepcool GAMAXX S40
Case
Lian Li Lancool PC-K59
Operating System
Windows 10 Home SL 64-bit
Monitor
AOC 18.5 inch 768p
Keyboard
Genius cheapo.......
Mouse
Lenovo cheapo.....
Mousepad
Cardboard sheet
Audio
F&D
▲ hide details ▲
Jaydev16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 70 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 07:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cpmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 715
Rep: 42 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
So should I shoot for 1.3500 on the first bump up?
Yep, that would be 1 notch. If no go, go up another notch.

Quote:
ith the Starswarm Stress Test:http://store.steampowered.com/app/267130/
Since most stress tests are developed for Intel,this might be much better,no?
That just looks like more of a gpu benchmark. The latest Prime95 works fine on FX processors, and small FFTs really heat it up. For stressing the gpu, MSI Kombustor heats the gpu up really well. smile.gif
cpmee is offline  
post #63 of 70 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 07:48 PM
PC Gamer
 
Jaydev16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Home
Posts: 1,697
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
Yeah I guess so.

Why does it takes so many wise ones to silence just a few fools?Because silencing others isn't in the arsenal of wise people. There is nothing wise in silencing others and by doing it, the wise person ceases to be wise. Fools should be heard rather than silenced. Silent fools are hard to recognize. -Miroslav Horníček
CPU
AMD FX 6300
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
GPU
Asus AMD Radeon RX550
RAM
Corsair Value RAM 4GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Optical Drive
LG M-DISC Optical Disk Drive
Power Supply
Corsair VS 550
Cooling
Deepcool GAMAXX S40
Case
Lian Li Lancool PC-K59
Operating System
Windows 10 Home SL 64-bit
Monitor
AOC 18.5 inch 768p
Keyboard
Genius cheapo.......
Mouse
Lenovo cheapo.....
Mousepad
Cardboard sheet
Audio
F&D
▲ hide details ▲
Jaydev16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 70 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 07:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madcratebuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NW Orygun
Posts: 263
Rep: 17 (Unique: 15)
I planned on getting back to this thread much sooner but was sidetracked by another build. Anyway I think I got lucky with my Rev 3 mb, no real heat issues with the vrms, just the SB. I installed a low profile sink/fan on the sb and it has kept temps under 55C. I also got lucky with the 8350, it has great P-state voltages.

# of P-States 7
P-State FID 0x1A - VID 0x0A - IDD 13 (21.00x - 1.425 V)
P-State FID 0x19 - VID 0x0D - IDD 13 (20.50x - 1.387 V)
P-State FID 0x18 - VID 0x13 - IDD 12 (20.00x - 1.313 V)
P-State FID 0x12 - VID 0x1B - IDD 10 (17.00x - 1.212 V)
P-State FID 0xC - VID 0x23 - IDD 8 (14.00x - 1.112 V)
P-State FID 0x5 - VID 0x2C - IDD 5 (10.50x - 1.000 V)
P-State FID 0x10C - VID 0x36 - IDD 4 (7.00x - 0.875 V)

The 20x p-state is one of the lowest I have seen.

This is my 24/7 clock with a 240L modified and lots of air. No heat issues with a extra 200mm side fan on a pair of 7970's.

cpuz46_zpsad9dba94.jpg

Been thinking of upgrading this MB, UD5 UD7, or maybe the new revision 4.

Speedbird: [email protected]/CFVF-z/2x4 G Skill F3-2400/2XR9-280X/SSD's+Raptors/AX1200i/Dual AQ D5's-EK blocks on cpu, gpu and board/120.5 w/Noc f-12's controlled with AQ6 Pro in a CM932

Goonybird: [email protected]/GA990FXA-UD3R3/4x4 Corsair 1866/7970/SSD/SS 850Gold/CM240L/Aero X-Vision in a CM922.
madcratebuilder is offline  
post #65 of 70 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 07:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Propheciah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
Hey, I was wondering how much I could undervolt my FX 8320 if I'm on the stock 3.5 GHz. 1.425 volts is way too high to stock. What kind of voltage could I shoot for? Should I use LLC if I'm running my CPU at stock? I'm just messing around with some ideas at the moment
Propheciah is offline  
post #66 of 70 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 08:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cpmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 715
Rep: 42 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Hey, I was wondering how much I could undervolt my FX 8320 if I'm on the stock 3.5 GHz. 1.425 volts is way too high to stock.
Try 1.35v and turn Turbo off. If good in stability testing, try a notch lower and repeat.
cpmee is offline  
post #67 of 70 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
amdcrankitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Nice guide and good deal of info! I recently aquired some new hardware and Im interested in performing some minimal overclocking and any new info or suggstions would be greatly appreciated! Also anyone that has a simular setup in the bios settings especially disabling or enabling any settings I would be eternally gratefull for any new info! This by itself is a great tweaking guide glad I found it! Surely will help give me guidence on my new setup! Thanks for any help I can get like I said Im more or less doing a limited amount of OCing just to see what I can acheive without smoking my RIG! LOL

My current specs are:

AMD FX 9590

Amd Radeon Gamer series 2133
Asus Radeon R9 290 XD
Amd FXSeries Liquid Cooling!

Thanks for any info greatly appreciated
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
amdcrankitup is offline  
post #68 of 70 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 06:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Propheciah View Post

Hey, I was wondering how much I could undervolt my FX 8320 if I'm on the stock 3.5 GHz. 1.425 volts is way too high to stock. What kind of voltage could I shoot for? Should I use LLC if I'm running my CPU at stock? I'm just messing around with some ideas at the moment

Anywhere from 1.18 to 1.25v (effective voltage as shown in CPU-Z, not BIOS value necessarily). With almost guaranteed between 1.22v-1.25v. I mean Prime95 10h stable. If you don't want to use Prime95, you can probably go lower, at the price of slight instability.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #69 of 70 (permalink) Old 07-03-2014, 03:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
this is what i have for now, been running prime95 for an hour without any error. got 55*C max temp in hwmonitor.

i've been thinking, is this worth it? because if not, then i may end up just staying at stocks and enabling all the power saving options. less heat, less power. currently my ram voltage is at 1.550v

i've seen some fx6300 users getting more than 4.0ghz with less voltage or same voltage as this(see pics). if i raise mine to 4.1ghz a worker will get an error so i need to up the voltage again which is not really my plan.

not sure what im doing wrong frown.gif help....

btw i have cooler master hyper 212x

edron is offline  
post #70 of 70 (permalink) Old 07-05-2014, 07:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hotrod33809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So I have a a ud5 + 8320 running at stock everything and at various times the screen will turn black and I will get a DVI no signal. Occasionally, right after the dvi no signal all the fans will spin at 100% for about 2 second then return to normal speed. The sound also goes out when this happens and the only way to fix the signal is to restart the pc. At first this was rare but now is a daily occurrence sometimes happening while still loading windows. It isn't the monitor and the video card works fine in other systems. This leads me to believe it is the motherboard. On a previous page a guy talks about the cpu not having enough voltage but keep in mind the system was working 100% fine for about 4 months and everything is stock. Any help or suggestions would be appreciative.
Hotrod33809 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off