Undervolting/Editing P-States For Piledriver using AMD MrsTweaker (Mini Guide) - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Undervolting/Editing P-States For Piledriver using AMD MrsTweaker (Mini Guide)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivan View Post

http://puu.sh/9U7eq/888d011024.png that's what I got initially on msrTweaker. And PScheck was missing the rows for P1 2 3 but I got em back now! http://puu.sh/9U7gS/86e05934d4.png

So I got my issue solved, actually. All I did in bios was turn core multiplier and fsb back to auto. (And turbo, cause stock settings. but I doubt that matters) (maybe my 240 fsb caused the other states to not get used, considering fsb impacts em all, so that's less potential complications)

Ah, glad you found it. Yes, unfortunately undervolting and overclocking don't go well together. You actually gave me the idea to edit and add that this guide is intended for non overclocked configuration.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 02:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,628
Rep: 133 (Unique: 101)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post

Ah, glad you found it. Yes, unfortunately undervolting and overclocking don't go well together. You actually gave me the idea to edit and add that this guide is intended for non overclocked configuration.

Hey the tool does offer customization for the full load and half load turbo, so those might actually see some more use with this c;

~ Enjoy life, have a great day ~
Yes, I really am that tivvv3 guy from youtube who makes LoL videos by the same philosophy. Whoa!
Also Unconditional Basic Income advocate.
Tivan is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivan View Post

Hey the tool does offer customization for the full load and half load turbo, so those might actually see some more use with this c;

Well, the turbo applies when not all cores are fully loaded. However, you can edit the max P-state (non turbo), to an overclocked value. As long as you keep bus at "auto", MAYBE it could work. A benefit with the turbo values, is that you can undervolt those too. 1.42v is too high. Mine does 4Ghz at 1.34v. But i have turbo disabled.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 02:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,628
Rep: 133 (Unique: 101)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post

Well, the turbo applies when not all cores are fully loaded. However, you can edit the max P-state (non turbo), to an overclocked value. As long as you keep bus at "auto", MAYBE it could work. A benefit with the turbo values, is that you can undervolt those too. 1.42v is too high. Mine does 4Ghz at 1.34v. But i have turbo disabled.

P1(msrtweak)/Pb1(pscheck) is the full load turbo (the one that can kick in when all cores are working) which you can't adjust in bios, but I heard there's other software that can fiddle with it too. Also strangely all my states work now even though I went back to manual fsb. Maybe I broke something and fixed it by turning things off and on c;

But yeah I'll stay away from things I can't stresstest for now, my psu over current protection is a bit sensitive on the cpu rail (had this issue over 2 boards and cpus so pretty sure it's that and it's been consistent past certain voltage ever since I got it really, so I don't feel too pressed to replace it c;)

~ Enjoy life, have a great day ~
Yes, I really am that tivvv3 guy from youtube who makes LoL videos by the same philosophy. Whoa!
Also Unconditional Basic Income advocate.
Tivan is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivan View Post

P1(msrtweak)/Pb1(pscheck) is the full load turbo (the one that can kick in when all cores are working) which you can't adjust in bios, but I heard there's other software that can fiddle with it too. Also strangely all my states work now even though I went back to manual fsb. Maybe I broke something and fixed it by turning things off and on c;

But yeah I'll stay away from things I can't stresstest for now, my psu over current protection is a bit sensitive on the cpu rail (had this issue over 2 boards and cpus so pretty sure it's that and it's been consistent past certain voltage ever since I got it really, so I don't feel too pressed to replace it c;)

The 3.8 turbo, works with all cores unparked, but i don't think with all cores fully loaded. The reasoning is this: as long as the TDP is below the limit, then all cores will remain active. BUT, if you stress test them all together, i don't think it will hold...It will probably fall to the previous (non turbo) state, because all cores at 100% is above TDP. i think... So how do you stress that for stability?

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #16 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 03:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,628
Rep: 133 (Unique: 101)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post

The 3.8 turbo, works with all cores unparked, but i don't think with all cores fully loaded. The reasoning is this: as long as the TDP is below the limit, then all cores will remain active. BUT, if you stress test them all together, i don't think it will hold...It will probably fall to the previous (non turbo) state, because all cores at 100% is above TDP. i think... So how do you stress that for stability?

Well, you'd still have to test it in a regular state first. Or maybe selectively force different turbo/high level states through PScheck, it MIGHT be assumable to be stable with half the cores at your desired turbo and half the cores at max regular state clocking, applied to lower states for stress testing, repeat with cores swapped.
Quick test seems to indicate that PScheck applies mixed states nicely http://puu.sh/9Uesf/4315129ba9.png (both cores of a given module require the same clock though)
Of course it's hard to verify that the theory works c; Nice to have easy access to the full load turbo either way!

edit: also, I have turbo off now but I seem to remember it was possible to actually force turbo states with PScheck when I had turbo enabled. maybe 50% sure on that c;

~ Enjoy life, have a great day ~
Yes, I really am that tivvv3 guy from youtube who makes LoL videos by the same philosophy. Whoa!
Also Unconditional Basic Income advocate.
Tivan is offline  
post #17 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-03-2014, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivan View Post

Well, you'd still have to test it in a regular state first. Or maybe selectively force different turbo/high level states through PScheck, it MIGHT be assumable to be stable with half the cores at your desired turbo and half the cores at max regular state clocking, applied to lower states for stress testing, repeat with cores swapped.
Quick test seems to indicate that PScheck applies mixed states nicely http://puu.sh/9Uesf/4315129ba9.png (both cores of a given module require the same clock though)
Of course it's hard to verify that the theory works c; Nice to have easy access to the full load turbo either way!

edit: also, I have turbo off now but I seem to remember it was possible to actually force turbo states with PScheck when I had turbo enabled. maybe 50% sure on that c;

RIght. Besides, there is a workaround. You can just overclock for a while, stress test at 3.8, find the voltage and then go back and put it in the bat file.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #18 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-16-2015, 02:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 919
Rep: 35 (Unique: 29)
Thanks for the guide, I've been thinking about exactly this for a while now! thumb.gif
BruceB is offline  
post #19 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-16-2015, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post

Thanks for the guide, I've been thinking about exactly this for a while now! thumb.gif

You 're welcome! We need more undervolters! biggrin.gif

EDIT: Since you dug out the thread, i took the opportunity to update the 1st post with a new indicative string of values for [email protected]

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #20 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 12:20 PM
Turtle Lives Matter
 
damric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Azalea City
Posts: 4,645
Rep: 425 (Unique: 330)
Is this similar to the old PhenomMSRTweaker?
damric is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off