FX 6300 with HIVE-550 PSU Overclock? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FX 6300 with HIVE-550 PSU Overclock?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
markasoftware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I'm planning on overclocking my FX 6300 CPU, but some people have been worried about my PSU being up to it. I'm hoping to be able to overclock it to at least 4.5 GHz, and I'm pretty sure that the motherboard I'm planning to buy and cooler are good enough for it. However, the PSU is 550 watts, and Rosewill, the company it's made by, doesn't seem to be the best of the best, to say the least. Will I probably manage to get everything working safely and stably at that speed with this PSU? It is on the list of recommended PSUs, but better safe than sorry

Also, in case it isn't good enough, what happens if you overclock with a bad PSU? Does it lower stability? Or does it actually damage parts?
markasoftware is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 04:41 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 869
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
Looks like a decent power supply made for Sirtec .... IMO is okey, overclock your processor without fears

Ryzen 9 3900X/2X16GB DDR4-3733@CL16/X570-I AORUS/RTX 2080 GAMING OC/IN-WIN 301/EVGA 850W
Heatkiller REV3.0+DIY AM4 Adapter/1X120+1x240mm/DDC3.25+EK DDC Res
lexer is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 04:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rubicsphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2,001
Rep: 91 (Unique: 81)
What GPU are you using in this system?



rubicsphere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 05:59 PM
Oldtimer
 
gapottberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 794
Rep: 54 (Unique: 38)
Honestly, as long as you get one with high quality components that can actual produce consistent power, you will be fine with OC a FX-6300. A 550 watt PSU is more than capable for anything short of a top tier power hog of a GFX card or duel graphics cards. Numerous videos have shown that todays modern systems rarely exceed 400 watts from the wall. A 550 PSU at 80%+ efficiency is at its worst providing 440watts of power to the system, more than enough.

The bigger question is if it has high quality components inside it to provide steady and consistent and strong power. You should look for something with 12v rails that are getting closer to 24 amps if you can even find that info on the specs, and there are several good posts on this site about picking a solid PSU. Id do a search and read what the more experience guys have to say.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiWThqgFfI4 (just a sample of what dozens of tech gurus who have shown in real world testing)

#REDTEAM
Serenity
(11 items)
Dat_Ashe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320E OCed @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard
ASRock 970 Fatality
GPU
MSI 390X
RAM
Gskill Ripjaw 16GB @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD
Optical Drive
ASUS Blue Ray
Power Supply
Thermaltake toughpower 650watt
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0
Case
Thermaltake T81
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus VX248
CPU
FX-6300
Motherboard
BIOSTAR TA970
GPU
SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 270 2GB
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1866mhz
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
ASUS Blu-ray Drive
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt PSU
Cooling
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Case
Antec GX500
Operating System
Windows 10 Technical Preview
Monitor
ASUS VX248 24" 1080p LCD Moniter
Mouse
Logitech G602 wireless gaming mouse
▲ hide details ▲


gapottberg is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
markasoftware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I'm using a single GTX 750 ti, and the psu has 41.25 amps on the +12v rail
markasoftware is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 06:47 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mad Pistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Beach, Florida
Posts: 6,334
Rep: 291 (Unique: 210)
Quote:
Originally Posted by markasoftware View Post

I'm using a single GTX 750 ti, and the psu has 41.25 amps on the +12v rail

Yea... I highly doubt that power supply is going to be taxed by your system. Overclock to your heart's content. thumb.gif



Mad Pistol is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 06:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dudewitbow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pittsburg California
Posts: 1,740
Rep: 87 (Unique: 71)
i can confirm your setup cant tax your system harder than mines does. Stock 290 with overclocked 3770k. a 6300 and 750ti should only be paltry in comparison to consumption. Yes, I use a hive 550w

Dudewitbow is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 07:03 PM
Canada Goose Puncher
 
CynicalUnicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Extra-west Virginia
Posts: 9,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by markasoftware View Post

I'm using a single GTX 750 ti, and the psu has 41.25 amps on the +12v rail

I've had success with a 650W version and more than an extra 100W in GPU. So you're fine.

I'm also assuming the OEMs for the 550W and 650W versions are the same... They probably are but I can't confirm this.

Quote: Originally Posted by TheBadBull View Post
someone sig this


CynicalUnicorn is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2015, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
markasoftware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Thank you everybody, I guess that I'll manage to save another $50 that I otherwise might have spent on a PSU!
markasoftware is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off