FX-6300 behaving oddly - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
View Poll Results: Is there an issue with my FX-6300
Yes 0 0%
No 2 100.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

FX-6300 behaving oddly

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Commander26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I've had my FX-6300 for about 7 months now, its seen 3 board swaps and has never been OCed, started out on a MSI 760GM-P34FX, then spent a month on a Gigabyte 970A-DS3P ATX board, and is now happily sitting on my current board which is a ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0, problem I've noticed in the last month or so is a performance issue. Basically during games and video rendering the CPU works fine, is blazing fast, but im finding in stuff like Minecraft and flash based stuff its sluggish, the CPU maxes out at 100% on all the cores and the computer begins to bog down and i don't know why, its only began doing this in the past month. could it be the ASUS board doing it or is it something else?

Commander26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 11:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xKrNMBoYx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,025
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
Well I see the gradual increase in Mobo quality. Your situation sounds a bit weird. Minecraft for all I know runs on one or two cores/threads only hence an Intel with superior IPC would perform better. But your saying all your cores run at 100% bogging down your PC on it.
xKrNMBoYx is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,602
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
For starters, test your CPU's stability, running IBT AVX on Very High:

https://www.overclock.net/attachments/13202

It takes about 20 minutes, it's a basic test that you should pass. CPU is rarely at fault. Sounds more software problem to me or virus infection, but see first to pass this and also post a picture of HWMonitor to see temperatures while at full load (let's say during test 5).

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 1650 Super
Undervolter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Commander26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
here is a picture with the results after test 5


Commander26 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,602
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
It looks good to me... If you pass IBT in all 10 tests, i think you can rule out CPU and motherboard... I 'd look more towards software as culprit. Drivers, startup programs, malware... Because it's abnormal to hit 100% CPU just like that, especially in things that use few cores, like mentioned above or flash.

I assume you have also installed the 2 Win7 Microsoft patches (in google they are referred usually as "Microsoft Bulldozer fixes or patches".

Anyway, for me, the problem is software.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 1650 Super
Undervolter is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Commander26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
ill check the software and make sure theres nothing suspicious installed anywhere, im running a full system scan as we speak and i have install ALL the windows updates that were shown when i installed a fresh copy of windows 7 a few weeks ago.

Commander26 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,602
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander26 View Post

ill check the software and make sure theres nothing suspicious installed anywhere, im running a full system scan as we speak and i have install ALL the windows updates that were shown when i installed a fresh copy of windows 7 a few weeks ago.

The patches are not installed automatically through Windows Update (ask M$ why). You need to download them yourself and manually run them. Keep them saved for future use, you need to apply them everytime you reinstall Win7.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2645594

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2645594

The one about the scheduler is very important.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 1650 Super
Undervolter is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,602
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
Wait! I just saw this! CPU Vcore 1.14???? That's too low! Can you run IBT again and install CPU-Z and post an image of CPU-Z while you run IBT? No need to run many tests, just fire up IBT and post a picture with CPU-Z while you run IBT:

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 1650 Super
Undervolter is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 12:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xKrNMBoYx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,025
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
Actually 1.14v isn't that low if it was bought in the last year. I bought a FX 6300 for a friend a few months ago that can run 3.8GHz at 1.15v while passing IBT Max 50 Run, Prime 12+ hours, no crash BSODs. This was on the stock cooler.
xKrNMBoYx is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-10-2015, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Commander26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
the voltage fluctuates a bit depending on whether its running at stock speed of 3.5, at 3.8 turbo or 4.2 turbo it fluctuates from 1.056 all the way up to 1.224 when i hit 4.2

it was bouncing around so i couldnt get you an stable voltage reading to screenshot

Commander26 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off