Planning to overclock my FX 8320E with Gigabyte GA-FXA-990-UD3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Planning to overclock my FX 8320E with Gigabyte GA-FXA-990-UD3

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-27-2016, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
javsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Hi i'm new to overclocking and I'm planning to overclock to atleast 4.0 ghz or anything higher I can get. since running at 3.2 seems pretty damn low. Need help guys. smile.gif

my current build is

AMD FX8320e
gigabyte ga-fxa990-ud3
2x4GB hyperX 1866
600w PSU
Ice matrix 400 (Deepcool)
HD 6850 1gb 256bit DDR5


Can anybody help me get around with it?
javsanity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-27-2016, 10:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
funfordcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,307
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
I'd go into your bios then check your blk freq. I'd set it to 100 then change the mult to 38. That will bump you up to 3.8. Set your core voltage about .3 higher than it is now. Try and make it into windows and if you do and idle temps and load temps look OK, go back in bios and start bumping voltage and blk mult higher untill either you can't make it in windows or its too hot for your liking.

funfordcobra is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 06:36 AM
Senior Moderators
 
saint19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: A world beyond borders. (Bogotá, Colombia)
Posts: 3,630
Take a look of this thread. It is have almost all that you need for a good overclock.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1140459/bulldozer-overclocking-guide-performance-scaling-charts-max-ocs-ln2-results-coming


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form
The New One
(19 items)
My AMD budget build
(24 items)
CPU
6700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Ulta Gaming
GPU
GTX 1080 HoF
RAM
Mushking 4*4GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
Raystorm Pro CPU
Case
HAF X
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
BenQ XL2420Z
Keyboard
Thermaltake
Mouse
Thermaltake Saphira
Mouse
QCK
Audio
Gamecome 780
Other
APC 1500VA
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T
Motherboard
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
GPU
ASUS GTX 760 Striker Platinum
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tracer
RAM
G.Skill Trident
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Optical Drive
LG
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
Cooling
Swiftech MCR-320QP
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655-D
Cooling
XSPC Reservoir
Case
Cooler Master HAF X
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional
Monitor
BenQ XL2420z
Keyboard
TT eSports Meka G1
Mouse
TT eSports Saphira
Mouse
QCK+
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Other
Plantronics GameCom 780
▲ hide details ▲
saint19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 01:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
superstition222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,725
Rep: 218 (Unique: 102)
The Stilt said there is no reason to touch BCLK which is in contrast to that guide so there is debate.

The need for BCLK overclocking seems to be, in part, related to Gigabyte board oddities -- like the way the UD3P 2.0 won't boot with a multi above 22.

Free expression is the base of human rights, the root of human nature, and the mother of truth. — 刘晓波 (Liu Xiaobo)
superstition222 is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 05:07 AM
Senior Moderators
 
saint19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: A world beyond borders. (Bogotá, Colombia)
Posts: 3,630
With unclocked CPUs I do not see reason to use BCLK or reference clock at least that you want overclock your RAM.

In this AMD platforms, you can easily overclcok CPU, NB and HT with just multipliers while leave the based 200MHz frequency at default.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form
The New One
(19 items)
My AMD budget build
(24 items)
CPU
6700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Ulta Gaming
GPU
GTX 1080 HoF
RAM
Mushking 4*4GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
Raystorm Pro CPU
Case
HAF X
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
BenQ XL2420Z
Keyboard
Thermaltake
Mouse
Thermaltake Saphira
Mouse
QCK
Audio
Gamecome 780
Other
APC 1500VA
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T
Motherboard
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
GPU
ASUS GTX 760 Striker Platinum
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Tracer
RAM
G.Skill Trident
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Itachi Desktar
Hard Drive
Crucial M500
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Optical Drive
LG
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
Cooling
Swiftech MCR-320QP
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655-D
Cooling
XSPC Reservoir
Case
Cooler Master HAF X
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional
Monitor
BenQ XL2420z
Keyboard
TT eSports Meka G1
Mouse
TT eSports Saphira
Mouse
QCK+
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Other
Plantronics GameCom 780
▲ hide details ▲
saint19 is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 05:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NicksTricks007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,259
Rep: 58 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint19 View Post

With unclocked CPUs I do not see reason to use BCLK or reference clock at least that you want overclock your RAM.

In this AMD platforms, you can easily overclcok CPU, NB and HT with just multipliers while leave the based 200MHz frequency at default.

I semi agree with saint on this. For the sake of simplicity, only using the multipliers works perfectly fine. However, when you look at the bigger picture it will benefit you more to tinker with the other options you have available.

For instance, a good majority of the FX chips will run on lower voltage even when overclocked. Got my 8320 running 4.2 Ghz @ 1.275 volts with a bclock of 205 and multiplier of 20.5. RAM runs slightly above the stock 1600 Mhz. I don't have the guide in front of me, but I do know that I followed it pretty close when it came to disabling certain functions to maximize overclock potential.

The trick is to find a balance between all that and then trial and error. Try not to rush it and you'll be fine.
NicksTricks007 is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 07:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
superstition222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,725
Rep: 218 (Unique: 102)
Quote:
Originally Posted by javsanity View Post

Hi i'm new to overclocking and I'm planning to overclock to atleast 4.0 ghz or anything higher I can get. since running at 3.2 seems pretty damn low. Need help guys. smile.gif

my current build is

AMD FX8320e
gigabyte ga-fxa990-ud3
2x4GB hyperX 1866
600w PSU
Ice matrix 400 (Deepcool)
HD 6850 1gb 256bit DDR5


Can anybody help me get around with it?
You can probably save time by starting with what has worked with my setup instead of doing tons of micro changes like the guides suggest.

Try these settings:

22 multi
power saving states off (APM, C6, etc.)
1.355 vcore
1.24 nb core
medium LLC
RAM at stock, unless it's 1.35 or 1.5 rated in which case you may need to bump the voltage (1.5 for the 1.35 RAM and 1.63 for the 1.5 RAM)

Prime 95 to test, 768 to 900K FFT run in place while monitoring temperature with HWINFO64. Be sure to have a fan blowing onto the VRM sink and good airflow toward the northbridge sink.

You don't want to go over 60C for the CPU temp. Watch the temperatures you get on the northbridge and the VRMs.

You may need to bump your vcore to 1.36 or more. Start with 1.355 first. If you can run Prime with those settings for an hour and fifteen minutes with safe temperatures then you can try reducing your vcore one step and repeat.

If you can track down the AMD version of LinX you can also run a few rounds (around six to eight) of that (2048 size) to see if you have consistent GFLOP numbers and aren't throttling.

A good final test is to run RealBench's heavy multitasking test three times in a row.

Free expression is the base of human rights, the root of human nature, and the mother of truth. — 刘晓波 (Liu Xiaobo)
superstition222 is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
javsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Hi there. I just reached 4.0ghz at 1.225 vcore. As I stress tested it using prime95. In like about 8 minutes or so. It freezes. what could I do to prevent the freeze? do I increase the vcore value or something? I'm getting the freeze at 20x multiplier && 1.225v
javsanity is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 04:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NicksTricks007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,259
Rep: 58 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by javsanity View Post

Hi there. I just reached 4.0ghz at 1.225 vcore. As I stress tested it using prime95. In like about 8 minutes or so. It freezes. what could I do to prevent the freeze? do I increase the vcore value or something? I'm getting the freeze at 20x multiplier && 1.225v

Yes, bump up the vcore to 1.25 and if that doesn't work, go to 1.275 etc... Just keep working the vcore up until it stabilizes. What do you have llc set to?
NicksTricks007 is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
javsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
I have my LLC on bios default. and I think that's on 100%
javsanity is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off