8320 Overclock tweaks - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

8320 Overclock tweaks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
legi9n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Hi, first of all this was my first overclock, i think it went pretty well biggrin.gif
Specs:
AMD 8320 @ 3.5Ghz
MSI 990FXA GD65
8GB RAM
ATI R9 270 2GB
COOLER: CM EVO 212

So, my goal was to put my cpu @ 4.5/6/7Ghz, which isnt possible (right now) as i'll explain later on, i got it at 4.4Ghz, as you can below are my attempts to OC the CPU

For the last OC i ran PRIME for 30MIN

My final settings are the CPU 4.4Ghz @ 1.452V, 25 idle and 50 at load (56 at PRIME95)

I changed this in the BIOS
AMD COOL N QUIET - DISABLED
CORE C6 STATE - DISABLED
C1E SUPPORT - DISABLE
SPREAD SPECTRUM - DISABLE

I used PRIME95 and HWTMonitor.

The idea of this thread was to help achieve 4.5/6/7 if its possible with a few tweaks
legi9n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 05:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,181
Rep: 982
Re-enable cool n quiet, c6, c1e after stable.

I dont know the bios of that motherboard but set LLC to medium and set NB Voltage to 1.2-1.4 to stablize 4.5 - 4.6

Here is my FX 8310 at 4.5 ghz (run 4.4 24/7 though)
Leave core performance boost on (I showed disabled but said leave on in video)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOQDMpFihAI

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/f8vusi
R7 [email protected] XFX 390X https://valid.x86.fr/4kmsxd
[email protected] Sapphire Tri-X 290http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
Finally Ivy
(16 items)
CPU
Intel 3770K 4.5 ghz 1.29v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
G.Skill SNiper Gaming Series 16 gb (2x8gb) 1866mhz
RAM
G.skill Ares 8 gb (2x4gb) 2400mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb x2 (6tb)
Optical Drive
LIte-On 20X DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Corsair H90
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
HP w237ld 23" 1080P
Monitor
Viewsonic VG2230wm 22"
Keyboard
SK-1788
Mouse
Logitech G400
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
legi9n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Thanks, will try and tell you

EDIT: tried 4.5 @ 1.452 it freezes on PRIME, then tried 1.48 and no problems as of yet, cant go over those volts as my BIOS wont let me, so I'm pretty happy with that.

Also the temps never exceeded 54ºC @ PRIME
legi9n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 11:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,181
Rep: 982
Seems super high. You sure you have llc and nb voltage set. At 4.4 I run 1.3x and 4.5 1.425 I think


Llc medium
NB 1.2-1.4

Id drop the volts a few and set memory to 1.65

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/f8vusi
R7 [email protected] XFX 390X https://valid.x86.fr/4kmsxd
[email protected] Sapphire Tri-X 290http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
Finally Ivy
(16 items)
CPU
Intel 3770K 4.5 ghz 1.29v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
G.Skill SNiper Gaming Series 16 gb (2x8gb) 1866mhz
RAM
G.skill Ares 8 gb (2x4gb) 2400mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb x2 (6tb)
Optical Drive
LIte-On 20X DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Corsair H90
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
HP w237ld 23" 1080P
Monitor
Viewsonic VG2230wm 22"
Keyboard
SK-1788
Mouse
Logitech G400
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 11:39 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,580
Rep: 301
That board does not have LLC so what it is set to is the voltage before vdroop. It is probably running at or below 1.4 under a full load.

"No taxation without representation."
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 11:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,181
Rep: 982
Wow 990fxa no llc.

Well in that case be happy with 4.5

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/f8vusi
R7 [email protected] XFX 390X https://valid.x86.fr/4kmsxd
[email protected] Sapphire Tri-X 290http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
Finally Ivy
(16 items)
CPU
Intel 3770K 4.5 ghz 1.29v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
G.Skill SNiper Gaming Series 16 gb (2x8gb) 1866mhz
RAM
G.skill Ares 8 gb (2x4gb) 2400mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb x2 (6tb)
Optical Drive
LIte-On 20X DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Corsair H90
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
HP w237ld 23" 1080P
Monitor
Viewsonic VG2230wm 22"
Keyboard
SK-1788
Mouse
Logitech G400
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 12:53 PM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,580
Rep: 301
Hey, don't knock it. The GD65 is currently the best board MSI offers and it could go much higher than that with proper cooling and software. I don't know if the Control Center and Click bios II for the GD80 works with the GD65, but if it does then that board is good for 4.8 or so with reliability.

The GD80 versions can be found here. https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=107133.0

"No taxation without representation."
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2016, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
legi9n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Yeah, I'm happy with that, thx for the help guys biggrin.gif

In response to the 4.8Ghz i already hit the thermal wall with my 212
legi9n is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-06-2016, 06:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
greg1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 70
Rep: 0
guys can i ask something? for 4.6/7 Ghz (only with multipl) for stability i must raise up nb voltage? cause my system isnt stable even with 1.500 vcore (soryy for my english)
greg1313 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-06-2016, 09:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,546
Rep: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1313 View Post

guys can i ask something? for 4.6/7 Ghz (only with multipl) for stability i must raise up nb voltage? cause my system isnt stable even with 1.500 vcore (soryy for my english)

The North bridge is a separate chipset, so it has no relation to the CPU's overclockability. You gain nothing from overvolting it.
Undervolter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off