[Official] RYZEN 7 1800X | 1700X |1700 Owners Club & 4GHz+ Club - Page 202 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] RYZEN 7 1800X | 1700X |1700 Owners Club & 4GHz+ Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2011 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 01:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,917
Rep: 96 (Unique: 69)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullbringer View Post

Finally got to upload the screengrab of my max oc on cpu and mem, here you go. biggrin.gif

I have opened a technical support case for rma at Asus, but have not heard back from them yet. I will keep you posted on anything I might find out about the self-destroying C6H's.

Which bios are you running. I have never seen a 43 deg on this chip unless it was 0702 .
nycgtr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2012 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TristanL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Witten, Germany
Posts: 156
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
did my build today, seems to run without major problems so far

1800X
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
HyperX DDR4 2666 CL13 (Installed in A2 & B2)
Thermalright Macho X2

but i do have a few questions:

1. Right now it will only boot with 2400MHz set as the RAM speed (second DOCP Profile) with 2666 (even set manually) I have to reset the Bios.
The Bios is the newest (504) - am i missing something or is this just one of the expected things that might happen with early BIOS Versions?

my temperature seems fairly high:

even while in BIOS it hits the 55-60°C, i did some small benches stresstests with CPUZ and got up to 75°C, as you can see the voltage seems pretty high (no OC!) in the BIOS it is set to the default 1.35V. Are these temps still normal or should I re check the cooler?

3. last but not least, there is an unknown device displayed in the device manager, and even google cant really find what it is (latest AMD Chipset is installed) Any Ideas?


(pls excuse my poor writing it was an exiting build/day and now i need to calm down and get some rest)

Bonus 3D Mark 11 Performance Score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12031119

Rig down below

Monitor: #1 Dell S2716DG (GSYNC, 1440p, 144Hz) & #2 Dell Professional P2418D (1440p, 60Hz)
Notebook: ThinkPad T490s
Side Mac: mini (mid 2011)
Follow me on Instagram
MAX
(23 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X @ 3.7GHz (PBO ~4.1-4.35GHz)
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-PRO
GPU
Palit GTX 1080 GameRock Premium Edition
RAM
16GB Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 32Gb/s NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB
Optical Drive
LG Electronics GH24NS95 DVD-RW SATA 1.5Gb/s
Power Supply
600 Watt be quiet! Pure Power 10 CM Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
Cooling
Noctua NF-A14 FLX (Output)
Cooling
Noctua NF-A14 FLX (Input)
Cooling
Noctua NF-A14 FLX (Input)
Case
Corsair Carbide 600Q
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64bit
Monitor
Dell S2716DG
Monitor
Dell Professional P2217H
Keyboard
SteelSeries Apex M500
Mouse
Zowie ZA11 with paracord
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK heavy
Audio
Superlux HD668B
Audio
FiiO E10K Olympus 2 DAC
Audio
Auna MIC-900B
▲ hide details ▲
TristanL is offline  
post #2013 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dir_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,496
Rep: 101 (Unique: 96)
I'm still looking for a mobo, got everything else at the house. Is the mATX ASrock AB350m Pro4 really out or vaporware? That's the one i want but i have not seen it in the states from anyone.

dir_d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2014 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:21 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,773
Rep: 333 (Unique: 238)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobiman View Post

Hardware fr have updated their review with interesting results when you undo core parking. http://www.hardware.fr/articles/956-2/zen-architecture-equilibree.html
Disabling core parking is among the first things I do and check for even with a quad core CPU...
Sadly it doesn't seem like reviewers know much about Win power options, you can rename the profiles to what ever you want, create your own etc. what matters is what you set inside those profiles, you can set min/max CPU clock, parking, cooling, PCIe speeds, and other stuff that can affect performance for various parts of the computer.
For an old game that would run many many unbelievable FPS, I've actually made a special profile once that would limit the CPU down so it doesn't run full throttle when it can 800MHz instead for the task needed as such the power and cooling are very very different.

For those that don't know how to set parking, it's in power options, just enable it with this for Win10:
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\0cc5b647-c1df-4637-891a-dec35c318583]
"Attributes"=dword:00000000

In other words this balanced/performance profile thing is useless that's going on in reviews, just go into your profile and set the CPU to what you want not what M$ predefined the profile with.


^ This works for Intel to drop clocks and volts even with manual volts set. 99% base clock, 100% = Turbo = OC clock.
Dunno how Ryzen likes it, if it wants always 100% and forbid Windows to fiddle with clocks and leave it to the CPU or if it wants the states to be changed by Windows like it's on Intel.
JackCY is offline  
post #2015 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 953
Rep: 59 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post


takes me around 1.47v for 4.0 to be benchable

It's stats like that that make me just want to keep the 1800x I've got right here and run it at stock instead of faffing about lol

I take it you've got to reboot between using Ryzen Master? You can't like have a mult-core profile, where it clocks to 3.9Ghz on all cores and a "default" one where XFR kicks in for 4.1Ghz on less cores?
SpecChum is offline  
post #2016 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 101
Rep: 38 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TristanL View Post

did my build today, seems to run without major problems so far

1800X
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
HyperX DDR4 2666 CL13 (Installed in A2 & B2)
Thermalright Macho X2

but i do have a few questions:

1. Right now it will only boot with 2400MHz set as the RAM speed (second DOCP Profile) with 2666 (even set manually) I have to reset the Bios.
The Bios is the newest (504) - am i missing something or is this just one of the expected things that might happen with early BIOS Versions?

my temperature seems fairly high:

even while in BIOS it hits the 55-60°C, i did some small benches stresstests with CPUZ and got up to 75°C, as you can see the voltage seems pretty high (no OC!) in the BIOS it is set to the default 1.35V. Are these temps still normal or should I re check the cooler?

3. last but not least, there is an unknown device displayed in the device manager, and even google cant really find what it is (latest AMD Chipset is installed) Any Ideas?


(pls excuse my poor writing it was an exiting build/day and now i need to calm down and get some rest)

Bonus 3D Mark 11 Performance Score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12031119

I have the same board and 1700x that I have been messing with. It's really picking with ram, I have some Corsair 3200 that I used with it and it did not like anything over 2666. Anything over that or trying to use XMP/DOCP resulted in failed boots. I had my chip under water and idle temps with the latest 504 bios were reading around 55 also, I think it's just being reported incorrectly.

If you downloaded the 1.3GB file with the chipset drivers, extract the whole thing to a folder and have windows search the directory for the driver. That's what I had to do to get rid of that entry in device manager.

metal409 is offline  
post #2017 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,403
Rep: 168 (Unique: 123)
Quote:
Originally Posted by axiumone View Post

You're going to get a variety of answers on this topic. Most of which are just hearsay and not wholly verified or based on erroneous assumptions. From my own personal testing, there's about 10% performance deficit on x16/x8 vs x16/x16, but as you've yourself stated, that's using intels platform.

Unfortunately, there will not be a way to test what the true results are on the amd platform until we see either a chip with at least 32 pcie lanes dedicated to gpu's or a motherboard that will utilize a plx/pex chip.

Having said that, I would find it unacceptable to give up performance anywhere if I've invested in a pair of 1080 ti's or TXP's.

Yeah, I know it's a lot of conjecture, but unfortunately I'm not even sure if the different platforms are capable of handling PCIE lanes in different manners .


DNMock is offline  
post #2018 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TristanL View Post

did my build today, seems to run without major problems so far

1800X
Asus Prime 370X-Pro
HyperX DDR4 2666 CL13 (Installed in A2 & B2)
Thermalright Macho X2

but i do have a few questions:

1. Right now it will only boot with 2400MHz set as the RAM speed (second DOCP Profile) with 2666 (even set manually) I have to reset the Bios.
The Bios is the newest (504) - am i missing something or is this just one of the expected things that might happen with early BIOS Versions?

my temperature seems fairly high:

even while in BIOS it hits the 55-60°C, i did some small benches stresstests with CPUZ and got up to 75°C, as you can see the voltage seems pretty high (no OC!) in the BIOS it is set to the default 1.35V. Are these temps still normal or should I re check the cooler?

3. last but not least, there is an unknown device displayed in the device manager, and even google cant really find what it is (latest AMD Chipset is installed) Any Ideas?


(pls excuse my poor writing it was an exiting build/day and now i need to calm down and get some rest)

Bonus 3D Mark 11 Performance Score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12031119

1700X
0502 @ 1.35 auto resulting in 1.45n+v (cpuz) @ bios and cpuz 36°c idle, ~42°c surfing web(setting up system)
0504 @ 1.35 target v (1.26n-1.29n v idle 1.35-6nV cpuz) max load (encoding) 44c idle 74c maxload

Asus Prime 370X-Pro
HyperX DDR4 2666 CL13 (Installed in A2 & B2)
H110i AiO going crazy rpm because of the 0504 bios temp readings

we have pretty much the same setup, im pretty sure we got the same memory, which was rated 13-13-13 on retailer, which is actually 13-14-14 xmp2
if you want to get a 2666 you should look for a supported single sided / 1R memory, you can check these on the QVL on asus specification>support site

not sure if the upcoming bios will help with the full bandwidth on dual sided / 2R memory
gen4 is offline  
post #2019 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 02:53 PM
Owner of 20 SSDs
 
ChronoBodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,712
Rep: 186 (Unique: 137)
how to enable ram 2n on gigabyte? is it channel interleaving or rank interleaving?

tried G.skill manual ram settings, didn't work, booted into Windows sure but ram speed and timing is still 2133 mhz.

I guess new better BIOs is needed. what is it that Joker got his ram to run at 3000 mhz that i can't? What's the specific setting? OR he got amd optimized ram, whereas mine is from Skylake carry over.

 https://pcpartpicker.com/b/ZZFtt6
Threadripper 1950X
MSI X399 Pro Carbon
32gb ram, 4x8gb 2133
Titan X Pascal
10 freaking SSDs.
Corsair AX1200i
ChronoBodi is offline  
post #2020 of 19171 (permalink) Old 03-06-2017, 03:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Forceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,875
Rep: 794 (Unique: 514)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyenz View Post

Is 3900 at 1.35v any good for a 1700 or i got myself a dud (like always)?

It's at least average if not above average, from what I've seen.

Forceman's Law: Any AMD/Nvidia GPU thread, no matter what the topic, will eventually include a post referencing the GTX 970.
Forceman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off