Ryzen Essential Info with link to owners info DB - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen Essential Info with link to owners info DB

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
@Undervolter

Cheers, +rep mate thumb.gif .

@Mr Splash

Welcome aboard mate thumb.gif .

I received my C6H yesterday wheee.gif . The AM4 bracket was stuck on (front clips removed) redface.gif . After verification from Elmor that I wouldn't damage the board by using a hairdryer to warm the plate up. I can confirm it will remove very easily using that method, just take you time getting it warm (didn't go for toasty tongue.gif ), in my case it left no residue of the adhesive on the PCB either smile.gif .

So I carefully kitted out board for launch aGMXnd I had failure to launch frown.gif , the information is in this post. So today grabbed some CMK8GX4M2A2400C14 and now my Ryzen rig has risen biggrin.gif .

Currently installing Win 7 Pro, the integrated USB drivers have worked as I had functioning mouse wink.gif . I'm also going for a UEFI install of Win 7 Pro, using similar method to my thread on M7R. After verification will post screenies smile.gif .
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 07:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 87 (Unique: 41)
Great Thread gupsterg !!

+rep

majestynl is offline  
post #13 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Welcome smile.gif , no worries smile.gif .

Got to do some more to OP. My spare time yesterday and some today has been used up by the RAM fault issue and getting OS on/setup.

Anyone installing Win 7 this is how it went on my C6H:-

i) Win 7 Pro x64 ISO, this did not have "to date" updates integrated but only the USB drivers.
ii) After OS install, I installed the AM4 chipset drivers from AMD site.
iii) WiFi card's driver, GC-WB867D-I, I use Intel driver from Intel site and not Gigabyte.
vi) Crimson driver for Fury X, then ICC profile for monitor.

And no "unknown" devices in device manager biggrin.gif .

I have onboard LAN disabled as don't use it, that does require driver. Onboard sound was picked up, but that will be disabled later as use the GPU's audio output over DP to monitor, then plug my headphones in to it.

So far very smooth install of OS and a few less drivers than my i5/Z97 setup smile.gif . Like how the AMD AM4 driver had SMBus, etc as "all in one" package smile.gif . Keeping "bloatware" at bay so far wink.gif .
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 08:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 87 (Unique: 41)
gupsterg,

After a successful oc on 4000mhz im testing lowering the voltage and speeds when IDLE on ryzen. So far no success.With editing Pstates i get lower voltage on idle, that's great but the speed is messed up. It doesn't speed up to 4000mhz.

See more info and screenshots @ : https://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/rog-crosshair-vi-overclocking-thread/970#post_25912710

Your section on the Pstates probably need to be updated with a bit more info. Will help you with that after successful tests.
In meanwhile, the 2 links are the same in the pstate section! wink.gif

majestynl is offline  
post #15 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 04:47 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
Great thread, will submit info once I finalize specs.
finalheaven is offline  
post #16 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 07:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RWGTROLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 59
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Ryzen 7 1700x - 3.8ghz @ 1.352v Max temp 74c
Coller H80i
MSI B350 Tomahawk
G.skill 3200mhz @ 2666 16 18 18 38 1T

Validation - http://valid.x86.fr/mkepu3

Made in China
YD170XBCM88AE
UA 1707SUT

RWGTROLL is offline  
post #17 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
@majestynl

I found at stock UEFI and balanced windows power profile I was hitting only 3.2GHz (idle 1.55GHz), if I changed power plan to performance, one core would hit 3.7GHz and idle was 3.3GHz. I was aiming to have an OC the same way as on my i5/Z97, ie down clocking/volting on idle and all boosting the same on load.

Playing with the settings Elmor highlighted and using balanced windows power profile has given me 1.55GHz idle and all core max at 3.7GHz @ 1.1875V in UEFI (not seeing 1.35V spike in UEFI or OS biggrin.gif ).

So here is my settings:-
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
ExT 1 (defaults kept)



ExT 2 (defaults kept)



Digi + (VRM Spread spectrum only changed)



CBS 1 (Global C State Control set to Enabled)




CBS 2


Quick stability test on RB stress mode (had earlier tested profiles from 3.3GHz to 3.6GHz)



3.8GHz @ 1.187V BSOD under RB redface.gif , 3.75GHz @ 1.187V WHEA error but no BSOD. Both of these down volt/clock so CPU is not going into OC Mode on my R7 1700 smile.gif .

Plan to later today do longer testing of this setup.

@finalheaven

No worries smile.gif .

@RWGTROLL

Cheers will update DB ASAP smile.gif .
gupsterg is offline  
post #18 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 05:39 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is offline  
post #19 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 6,817
Rep: 354 (Unique: 199)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

@Sgt Bilko

OP FAQ Windows 7 updated with video of creating ISO with USB driver. Post 13 has pretty much what I did for my OS after install.

Thank you! +Rep biggrin.gif

AMD Community Manager for ANZ


Sgt Bilko is offline  
post #20 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 87 (Unique: 41)
@@gupsterg

I see, thanks for sharing your results. Mine is doing reallt strange. I have a 1800x, so i dont see where he gets the 3200mhz from.
P states are in hex and calculated so they need to hit 4000Mhz! But is doesn't...
Im thinking its something with windows 10..

Going to test today, will start from scratch again.. update will follow!

majestynl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off