Ryzen Essential Info with link to owners info DB - Page 9 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen Essential Info with link to owners info DB

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 02:12 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post

OK then, 1700 @ 4.0 DMM 1.52v P95/Aida again 20 minutes each ram is the same as 1700x
YD1700BBM88AE
9GU3920N70533
UA 1705 SUT
China with the "D" marking the 1700x had it as well

What is your bios voltage setting on? Wondering how large the discrepancy is between bios voltage (or offset if you're using that) and DMM. Also whether or not you're using LLC levels.
finalheaven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #83 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,733
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
@Johan45

Many thanks smile.gif .

@finalheaven

On recommendation from @mus1mus @SuperZan @josephimports

We have Y-Cruncher.

Same room temp as x264 / RB stress mode (~22°C), this is ~5°C hotter for same OC, cooled by TR Archon SB-E X2.

Start



Just before I end



All mentioned have been using it and like x264 this is harder on CPU than RB, see josephimports post in owners thread, link.

What I can't believe is how quiet a fan profile I can maintain on the R7 [email protected] vs my i5 [email protected] Yeah large clock difference, but it's 8C/16T vs 4C/4T.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 04:53 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
@gupsterg

Hmm... what does it mean then that I can pass 10 loops of x264 easily, but fail one hour of RealBench? Because on my system, I have to raise volts to pass realbench compared to x264. Are the people you mentioned using high speed ram? I am testing at 3200 14-14-14-34.
finalheaven is offline  
post #85 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 07:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Using LLC at least on ASUS C6H is definitely not required or recommended.

Even at "Auto" setting there is no droop what so ever, no matter how hard you push the CPU. Infact generally the actual voltage output is 10-20mV (depending on the specimen) higher than the actual set point. Voltage overshoot hurts just as badly as undershoot (droop). The whole point is to minimize the variation between the different load conditions. If you need to increase the LLC to achieve stability, then your voltage set point is incorrect (insufficient) to begin with.
The Stilt is offline  
post #86 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 07:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
For stability testing I would recommend Prime95 28.10 (which generally isn't working properly on Ryzen).
With specific settings it is possible to make it stress the CPU properly: Select Custom -> Set the minimum and the maximum FFT size to 128 -> Select run FFTs in place.
The Stilt is offline  
post #87 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 07:19 PM
Stock *ahem*
 
Quantum Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,380
Rep: 307 (Unique: 237)
I heard AMD has for a long time implemented a different form of vDroop than Intel does.
Quantum Reality is offline  
post #88 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 07:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quantum Reality View Post

I heard AMD has for a long time implemented a different form of vDroop than Intel does.

The significantly tighter droop specification applies only in cases where the dLDO is used. dLDOs are not used for B1 stepping consumer parts, so the load-line specification does not apply. Infact the AM4 load-line specification is looser than it was for AM3+ for example (1.425mOhm vs. 1.3mOhm).
The Stilt is offline  
post #89 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 08:08 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

Using LLC at least on ASUS C6H is definitely not required or recommended.

Even at "Auto" setting there is no droop what so ever, no matter how hard you push the CPU. Infact generally the actual voltage output is 10-20mV (depending on the specimen) higher than the actual set point. Voltage overshoot hurts just as badly as undershoot (droop). The whole point is to minimize the variation between the different load conditions. If you need to increase the LLC to achieve stability, then your voltage set point is incorrect (insufficient) to begin with.

My Vdroop according to my settings in bios and HWiNFO is more like 40-45mV. I guess I can live with that still.
finalheaven is offline  
post #90 of 359 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 08:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
S1L3N7D3A7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 481
Rep: 36 (Unique: 25)
I still stand by my belief that If you are using power saving features of the CPU, you should not be using LLC. LLC is good for setting records where the chip needs to run at max freq all the time. Not so good for the life of the CPU, and in my experience, causes instability under idle tasks. I was able to get my 3930K running 24/7 prime95 with high levels of LLC at 4.8GHz. I cannot run that for CPU life, so settle with 4.5 without LLC and using power saving features with a much lower max cpu voltage.

I have my 1700 in now, still waiting on my board. Only going to OC using P states, no LLC.
S1L3N7D3A7H is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off