[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club - Page 361 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3601 of 3696 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 05:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
asefsef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Saiger0 View Post
this one The SVI2 TFN value is the most accurate.


After doing some reading, I confirm SVI2 TFN value is the true CPU voltage.

Question now is: when people say "oh you should stay below 1.4v for the cpu" are the youtubers, gurus and forum posters referring to this voltage or the vCore?

I've seen AMD and MSI only mention 1.4v vcore for their recommendations, usually they're talking about how much to enter into the bios. So staying safe at 1.4v really means keep below 1.3v at the SVI2 TFN reading?
asefsef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3602 of 3696 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 10:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,248
Rep: 859 (Unique: 628)
Quote: Originally Posted by asefsef View Post
After doing some reading, I confirm SVI2 TFN value is the true CPU voltage.

Question now is: when people say "oh you should stay below 1.4v for the cpu" are the youtubers, gurus and forum posters referring to this voltage or the vCore?

I've seen AMD and MSI only mention 1.4v vcore for their recommendations, usually they're talking about how much to enter into the bios. So staying safe at 1.4v really means keep below 1.3v at the SVI2 TFN reading?

The CPU Vcore in BIOS is shown in HWINFO64 as CPU Core Voltage (SVI2). In my R7 2700, with a negative offset of 0.05V, SVI2 shows a spike of 1.425V. I don't sweat that if it goes over 1.42V recommended max volts of AMD. The lower the better, especially for the X versions, so long as your system stays stable.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3603 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ilmazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South United States Of Europe
Posts: 851
Rep: 28 (Unique: 15)
1,[email protected] all cores from months and all is going well.....oh well.....

M8
(11 items)
Otto
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock Taichi X470
GPU
sapphire fury nitro oc
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB 16GB 3200 Cl14
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Antec HPC 850 Platinum
Cooling
noctua dual fan 120
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Operating System
microsoft windows 10 pro
Monitor
DELL U2311H
Monitor
ASUS MX34VQ
CPU
Intel Core i3/i5/i7
Motherboard
P8H77-I
GPU
AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
RAM
8 GB 1600
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Seasonic G-750
Case
Bitfenix Prodigy mitx
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
DELL U2311H
▲ hide details ▲
ilmazzo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3604 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 01:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
asefsef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
The CPU Vcore in BIOS is shown in HWINFO64 as CPU Core Voltage (SVI2). In my R7 2700, with a negative offset of 0.05V, SVI2 shows a spike of 1.425V. I don't sweat that if it goes over 1.42V recommended max volts of AMD. The lower the better, especially for the X versions, so long as your system stays stable.
Negative offset? You mean undervolting?
asefsef is offline  
post #3605 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 01:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
asefsef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
to Sustain 1.4v at SVI2 TFN, I have to set 1.51VCore! (I use Maximum LLC)
Lol. I mean I get what you guys are saying, that SVI2 is the real CPU voltage. But 1.51v reported by cpuz, mobo, bios and so on... is this safe???!?
asefsef is offline  
post #3606 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 03:18 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
VeritronX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Australia
Posts: 954
Rep: 30 (Unique: 30)
If you have it the only sensor that is more accurate is the VR_VOUT sensor in HWinfo, that's the on-die sense pin readout from the voltage controller for the VRM. If you have two of them the second one will be the SOC voltage.

VeritronX is offline  
post #3607 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 07:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by asefsef View Post
to Sustain 1.4v at SVI2 TFN, I have to set 1.51VCore! (I use Maximum LLC)
Lol. I mean I get what you guys are saying, that SVI2 is the real CPU voltage. But 1.51v reported by cpuz, mobo, bios and so on... is this safe???!?
You are using the lowest lcc setting not the max... Use mode 2 instead... And no 1.5v is not safe you are currently frying your cpu.
Saiger0 is offline  
post #3608 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 09:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MasterBillyQuizBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 666
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
I think I missed something crucial. I am probably going to get the R5-2600. The board I'm looking at supports OC 3466 on the RAM.

Do I need the 2600X in order to clock memory to that speed? Or would I be stuck at a lower RAM speed with the "regular" R5-2600?

"wind tunnel cat is watching you reduce drag"

MasterBillyQuizBoy is offline  
post #3609 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 02:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
asefsef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Saiger0 View Post
You are using the lowest lcc setting not the max... Use mode 2 instead... And no 1.5v is not safe you are currently frying your cpu.
I've got settings from mode [1]-[8]. 8 weakest and Mode 1 seems to be the strongest from testing (the one I use). You're saying mode [2] is stronger than mode [1]?

Edit:
Nah, just tested it. Mode 2 is weaker than Mode 1 I was using.
Thanks for suggestion tho. Was hoping I missed out on some stronger LLC..

Last edited by asefsef; 03-02-2019 at 02:29 PM.
asefsef is offline  
post #3610 of 3696 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 02:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by asefsef View Post
I've got settings from mode [1]-[8]. 8 weakest and Mode 1 seems to be the strongest from testing (the one I use). You're saying mode [2] is stronger than mode [1]?

Edit:
Nah, just tested it. Mode 2 is weaker than Mode 1 I was using.
Thanks for suggestion tho. Was hoping I missed out on some stronger LLC..
dont use the strongest llc it will degrade your cpu over time. use mode 2
Saiger0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off