[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club - Page 374 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3731 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 04:16 AM
AMD User
 
DigDeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 240
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by gasolin View Post
set multiplier to auto
You cant use Auto if u overclock.

RYZEN R5 2600 | GIGABYTE B450M DS3H | XFX RX 580 8gb GTS Black Edition | Patriot VIPER 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ | WD Blue 2TB WD20EZRZ | Transcend 110S 512 GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
DigDeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3732 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 04:22 AM
AMD User
 
DigDeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 240
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I will p state overclock only P0 max frequency and see what happens, I should do this before asking, sorry Some say it works, some say nothing works, as soon as you try to overclock frequency or even voltage goes to 100%

For this guy it works


RYZEN R5 2600 | GIGABYTE B450M DS3H | XFX RX 580 8gb GTS Black Edition | Patriot VIPER 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ | WD Blue 2TB WD20EZRZ | Transcend 110S 512 GB | Windows 10 Pro x64

Last edited by DigDeep; 08-29-2019 at 04:31 AM.
DigDeep is offline  
post #3733 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 12:52 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 149
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
Finally received all 3 parts for my new system.
- Ryzen 3600x
- Gigabyte aorus elite x570
- G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series 16 GB DDR4 3200 MHz CL15 1.35 V Memory Kit

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
All ready for OCing.
Should I start tuning things in Bios or Ryzen Master?


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4300 v1.34
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3734 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 01:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,951
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
All ready for OCing.
Should I start tuning things in Bios or Ryzen Master?


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
Start by finding limits to PBO first, whatever best frequency you see would probably be your practical limit of OC on all cores. Also see what you can do about memory before deciding on top OC. In BIOS of course.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #3735 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 02:06 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 149
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
Start by finding limits to PBO first, whatever best frequency you see would probably be your practical limit of OC on all cores. Also see what you can do about memory before deciding on top OC. In BIOS of course.
Thanks but I see most people mentioning Ryzen Master.
It's not easier to change settings in real time and test what works or not, than to boot in Bios every time just to change a small setting?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4300 v1.34
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is online now  
post #3736 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 02:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,951
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
Thanks but I see most people mentioning Ryzen Master.
It's not easier to change settings in real time and test what works or not, than to boot in Bios every time just to change a small setting?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
RM is software and as such is susceptible to errors that could (and often do) necessitate it's uninstallation and/or CMOS reset making you loose more time. For most changes, computer has to reboot anyway.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #3737 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 03:35 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 149
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
RM is software and as such is susceptible to errors that could (and often do) necessitate it's uninstallation and/or CMOS reset making you loose more time. For most changes, computer has to reboot anyway.
Nice,.good to know.
Any guide that you can recommend for starting messing with the bios?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4300 v1.34
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is online now  
post #3738 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 05:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,951
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
Nice,.good to know.
Any guide that you can recommend for starting messing with the bios?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
As I said before and most others found out, practical limit for all core OC with 3rd gen Ryzen is it's actual boost frequency that happens under full load on one or some core (mostly one core) so it's a good place to start setting multiplier and voltage.
So, let's say you find out that it boosts on one core to 4.25GHz, than you can start by setting multiplier to 42.5 with voltage up to 1.4v and test. Nobody can really tell you how far you can go as there's no 2 identical configurations due to "silicone lottery" etc.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #3739 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 06:34 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 149
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
As I said before and most others found out, practical limit for all core OC with 3rd gen Ryzen is it's actual boost frequency that happens under full load on one or some core (mostly one core) so it's a good place to start setting multiplier and voltage.

So, let's say you find out that it boosts on one core to 4.25GHz, than you can start by setting multiplier to 42.5 with voltage up to 1.4v and test. Nobody can really tell you how far you can go as there's no 2 identical configurations due to "silicone lottery" etc.
1.4v?
I see that most people try to stick around the 1.3v level.
Isn't 1.4v too high?
Also when u setup manually the multi and the speed (like.42.5x and 100) is it just for the max frequency for high load or is remaining active as long at the pc is ON?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4300 v1.34
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is online now  
post #3740 of 3825 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,951
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
1.4v?
I see that most people try to stick around the 1.3v level.
Isn't 1.4v too high?
Also when u setup manually the multi and the speed (like.42.5x and 100) is it just for the max frequency for high load or is remaining active as long at the pc is ON?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
Well, got to start somewhere, you can always lower it later on, it's just important to find out it's maximum frequency. It's quite safe voltage and if you leave it on auto, BIOS will probably try to push it much higher, like 1.5 or more !!!
And of course, if you set all manually, then it will stay at those settings with very little variation.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off