[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club - Page 401 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] RYZEN 5 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4001 of 4018 (permalink) Old 07-31-2020, 02:42 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,490
Rep: 96 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by samgu View Post
Thank you for pointing it out, I haven't noticed that.
In the screenshot by Schmuckley it showed a 3800XT chip but only 6 cores and 6 threads active, so that's where I reached my conclusion.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4002 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 03:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,042
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Testing a new batch of R5 3600 and currently oc'ed to 4.2GHz all core at 1.18v. This is on a Gigabyte B550, BIOS F1. RAM is currently running using XMP.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.18v.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	135.6 KB
ID:	364402  


By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #4003 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 04:41 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,490
Rep: 96 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Testing a new batch of R5 3600 and currently oc'ed to 4.2GHz all core at 1.18v. This is on a Gigabyte B550, BIOS F1. RAM is currently running using XMP.
Shouldn't those be clocking a lot higher than that? My ryzen 5 2600 can do 4.2 ghz allcore. A newer 3600 chip should at least do faster than that.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4004 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 05:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,042
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Shouldn't those be clocking a lot higher than that? My ryzen 5 2600 can do 4.2 ghz allcore. A newer 3600 chip should at least do faster than that.
Actually, i had to raise the voltage a bit to 1.2v. Tried a game and kept crashing. Stopped with the current volts.

Not sure if it will clock higher. Can't test while using the Spire cooler. It does seem to use a lot less volts to boot at 4.2GHz. My old one uses 1.39v for same oc. One thing, tho, it seems this new one heats up higher. So, the lower the volts the better.

Will test further.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #4005 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 01:52 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,490
Rep: 96 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Actually, i had to raise the voltage a bit to 1.2v. Tried a game and kept crashing. Stopped with the current volts.

Not sure if it will clock higher. Can't test while using the Spire cooler. It does seem to use a lot less volts to boot at 4.2GHz. My old one uses 1.39v for same oc. One thing, tho, it seems this new one heats up higher. So, the lower the volts the better.

Will test further.
Oh well that explains it, you're on the stock air cooler so no wonder it gets hot. I had assumed that most people using ryzen chips would at least use some form of AIO if they're trying to overclock their processor any bit at all. The stock air coolers are for stock speed (mostly) and are going to seriously limit any overclocking potential.
kithylin is offline  
post #4006 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 03:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,042
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Oh well that explains it, you're on the stock air cooler so no wonder it gets hot. I had assumed that most people using ryzen chips would at least use some form of AIO if they're trying to overclock their processor any bit at all. The stock air coolers are for stock speed (mostly) and are going to seriously limit any overclocking potential.
Got some custom watercooling waiting back in Africa. Just hoping to get a flight back before winter there is over to get some oc'ing done. My other R5 3600 is under a U12S.

Temp reaches 75c in Cinebench R20 at 4.2GHz.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 08-06-2020 at 03:38 PM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #4007 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 10:00 PM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 720
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Oh well that explains it, you're on the stock air cooler so no wonder it gets hot. I had assumed that most people using ryzen chips would at least use some form of AIO if they're trying to overclock their processor any bit at all. The stock air coolers are for stock speed (mostly) and are going to seriously limit any overclocking potential.
Not true.
Got my 3600x running fine at all core 4.300 for games or 4.400 for benchmarks with stock cooler.

Games wouldn't run hotter than 60 degrees. Benchmarks would hit 92 degrees sometimes

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz, Mugen Rev.B, v1.46, 3rd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 15-14-13-1T 1.46v
Official Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!

Last edited by rastaviper; 08-07-2020 at 05:09 AM.
rastaviper is offline  
post #4008 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-07-2020, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Banedox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 1,244
Rep: 24 (Unique: 24)
Banedox is offline  
post #4009 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-07-2020, 04:52 PM
French loving Japan!
 
nolive721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: yokohama
Posts: 528
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Super disappointed. I bought my 3600 from amazon few days ago when it was at 154$. Received it yesterday to find out its a 1922 batch

I did not open the box nor installed the cpu on my board obviously because with all these stories of poor early days chips i am not willig to keep this sample to be honest, too much of a gamble if it overclocks poorly

I would not say shaddy commercal behavior from Amazon but..

What you guys think?

PC GAMING AEROCOOL P7 C1 WHITE VERSION CPU RYZEN 5 [email protected] 4Ghz/1.45V CPU cooler ID COOLING FROSTFLOW+ SNOW EDITION MB ASROCK B350 PRO4 GPU VEGA64 LC 1700Mhz Core 1190Mhz VRAM RAM CORSAIR LPX 16Gb @ 3066Mhz WINDOWS 10 PRO NVME PATRIOT BOOT DRIVE

Last edited by nolive721; 08-07-2020 at 05:01 PM.
nolive721 is offline  
post #4010 of 4018 (permalink) Old 08-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,490
Rep: 96 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by nolive721 View Post
Super disappointed. I bought my 3600 from amazon few days ago when it was at 154$. Received it yesterday to find out its a 1922 batch

I did not open the box nor installed the cpu on my board obviously because with all these stories of poor early days chips i am not willig to keep this sample to be honest, too much of a gamble if it overclocks poorly

I would not say shaddy commercal behavior from Amazon but..

What you guys think?
I don't know if you even have a return case there. They did send you a new 3600 sealed in the box. Unless the listing specifically said a certain revision number in the listing? There's no guarantee what you'll get when you buy new chips like this. They probably have had this on a shelf or in a box since the 3600 first launched. It's still a new chip just like you paid for. You can try and return it though.
kithylin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off