[Official] AMD Ryzen DDR4 24/7 Memory Stability Thread - Page 225 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD Ryzen DDR4 24/7 Memory Stability Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2241 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 05:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 924
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Did anyone else know that with Samsung b-die you can drop tRCDWR to as low as 8 and maintain stability? I just learned that from a Buildzoid video.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	45
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	256924  


AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2242 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 10:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 68
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Did anyone else know that with Samsung b-die you can drop tRCDWR to as low as 8 and maintain stability? I just learned that from a Buildzoid video.
loweered mine to 8 and it seems stable for me. I only testes wih tm5 though.
Saiger0 is offline  
post #2243 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hesee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Saiger0 View Post
loweered mine to 8 and it seems stable for me. I only testes wih tm5 though.
I have been running it with 8 (3200mhz, dual rank) about 1.5 years so far. Works just fine.
hesee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2244 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 10:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 924
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I asked about it in another thread and 1usmus says that 8 is too low and will be overridden by the memory controller. So what I've done is set it to 12 and that actually seems to behave as expected ie performance gains and stability lost. Also, I'm assuming that 8 was indeed too low as using 14 produced the same results in testing.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #2245 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 12:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hesee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
I asked about it in another thread and 1usmus says that 8 is too low and will be overridden by the memory controller. So what I've done is set it to 12 and that actually seems to behave as expected ie performance gains and stability lost. Also, I'm assuming that 8 was indeed too low as using 14 produced the same results in testing.
Hmm. I haven't measured it with 2700x, but using value 8 with 1700 and summitridge agesa 1.0.0.6 it produced better results in synthetics than 14.
hesee is offline  
post #2246 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 01:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
0razor1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NOIDA , Delhi & NCR , India
Posts: 760
Rep: 29 (Unique: 24)
2600 question

Guys,

I can run my 2600 w/ 3600 CL17 Kingston B-dies at 3.30 GHz no issue, barring showing CL18 in CPU-z (mobo page) despite being CL17 per XMP and manual override.

Voltages:
CPU: 1.40 (this will see some changes since I'm just at 4.1 GHz and I have an incoming 360 rad AIO)
IMC: 1.20 (what's the upper limit?)
Board: MSI x370 titanium (Feb BIOS updated 1.0.0.6 I believe.)

Do advise on how to proceed. The 3600 ran at CL17 with my 6600k with a mild SA boost.

I am 84% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you? HERE
Steam --> 0razor1
0razor1 is offline  
post #2247 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 11:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
herericc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 91
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by 0razor1 View Post
Guys,

I can run my 2600 w/ 3600 CL17 Kingston B-dies at 3.30 GHz no issue, barring showing CL18 in CPU-z (mobo page) despite being CL17 per XMP and manual override.

Voltages:
CPU: 1.40 (this will see some changes since I'm just at 4.1 GHz and I have an incoming 360 rad AIO)
IMC: 1.20 (what's the upper limit?)
Board: MSI x370 titanium (Feb BIOS updated 1.0.0.6 I believe.)

Do advise on how to proceed. The 3600 ran at CL17 with my 6600k with a mild SA boost.
From what I understand you're WAY overdoing it on your VSOC... Most people recommend using like 0.9 to 1V TOTAL on the SOC not 1.2V... Try turning it down it might improve your stability. Ryzen+ needs way less voltage on the SOC than Ryzen1.

herericc is offline  
post #2248 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tekjunkie28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 242
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by herericc View Post
From what I understand you're WAY overdoing it on your VSOC... Most people recommend using like 0.9 to 1V TOTAL on the SOC not 1.2V... Try turning it down it might improve your stability. Ryzen+ needs way less voltage on the SOC than Ryzen1.
This isn't probably anything to write home about but I can run 3533 at 14-14-14 with better than XMP timings with a SOC of 0.61 or 0.63. I forget but for my particular processor this is the sweet spot as anything over doesnt do anything and under makes it just slightly unstable. I run 3400 14 14 14 28 with the rest of the timing following the fast or better timings on the calculator. I have been rock solid for months now.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

tekjunkie28 is offline  
post #2249 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
binder87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 150
Rep: 0
Hey all.
So im on the verge of giving up and thought i might give a 16gb kit that i have one last chance before im selling it. I purchased a 2x8gb g.skill trident z f43200c16d16gtzb for a great price. According to what i read its a samsung e-die, dual ranked (even though RTC reads it as single rank. Strange). For the life of me , i can't get it to work at 3200 with T1...only 2. It also has boot holes where itll refuse to post at lower speeds but itll post at 3200 (not stable though). I tried different tweaks according to the ryzen memory calculator...also voltage up to 1.48v. Nothing. I really don't wanna sell this kit, but so far I'm getting better results with my 2666 micron b die kit 😕. Any insight? Ryzen 5 1600, msi b350 gaming plus (yeah, its ****). Not the latest bios, but maybe from 2 months ago
binder87 is offline  
post #2250 of 2448 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 09:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,832
Rep: 848 (Unique: 620)
Quote: Originally Posted by binder87 View Post
Hey all.
So im on the verge of giving up and thought i might give a 16gb kit that i have one last chance before im selling it. I purchased a 2x8gb g.skill trident z f43200c16d16gtzb for a great price. According to what i read its a samsung e-die, dual ranked (even though RTC reads it as single rank. Strange). For the life of me , i can't get it to work at 3200 with T1...only 2. It also has boot holes where itll refuse to post at lower speeds but itll post at 3200 (not stable though). I tried different tweaks according to the ryzen memory calculator...also voltage up to 1.48v. Nothing. I really don't wanna sell this kit, but so far I'm getting better results with my 2666 micron b die kit 😕. Any insight? Ryzen 5 1600, msi b350 gaming plus (yeah, its ****). Not the latest bios, but maybe from 2 months ago
binder, do yourself a favor and sell that. Get yourself the G.Skill FlareX 3200 Cl14. Once those arrive, sell that 2666.
rdr09 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Atomfix
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off