[Official] AMD Ryzen DDR4 24/7 Memory Stability Thread - Page 391 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD Ryzen DDR4 24/7 Memory Stability Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-29-2020, 12:40 PM
Because I was inverted...
 
Gadfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 534
Rep: 50 (Unique: 34)
Quote: Originally Posted by fingon82 View Post
Still tolerable. I would tolerate up to 1.45v. Just tighten some latencies some more and thats it

There are factory kits working at 1.45v,its not much
For B-Die 1.5v is perfectly acceptable for 24/7 use. I have a g.skilll memory kit rated at 1.5v out of the box.

You just have to watch the dimm temps, make sure you keep them below 50'C. even a small amount of airflow makes a big difference. With just some air from a cheap fan I dropped dimm temps from 51'C to below 40'C at 1.49v.
Gadfly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-29-2020, 01:51 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,514
Rep: 109 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Joseph Mills View Post
Is there a chart that shows what needs to change for the different errors in TM5?
I'm hitting 9, 10, and 14 after an hour and a half testing on TM5.

(calling on @Veii for this one)
No one bothered to make a chart so far
But just open the MT.cfg
Most of them make sense after some testing time
9,10 are burst tests, mostly related to vDIMM
14 what they call mirror move , is cloning data between banks
Can be mostly related to tFAW, tRRDS, tWTRS

Logically viewed
It choked on a burst test and then didn't have enough voltage left for a mirror copy
Try stepping down vDIMM a tiny bit
Burst test size 4Mb is only voltage related, as memory shouldn't have enough time to take time to (p)recharge, on such small dataset
soo most of the time it's just a voltage crash
8mb can be relate to timings choking it, same as 16mb will relate to issues with delays
32mb is quite big, that mostly relates to an actual timeout or tRFC issue
Can be tRCD related too

Your current pattern indicates just a burst testing crash
+1 or -1 step on vdimm
If nothing works play with lower procODT and so also lower vSOC with it

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo

Last edited by Veii; 06-29-2020 at 10:04 PM.
Veii is online now  
post #3903 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-29-2020, 10:19 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,514
Rep: 109 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by PuffyArgos View Post
Hey guys, newbie here. I only became interested in RAM OCs a few week ago and have spent the time since reading and tweaking and read and tweaking. I was hoping I could elicit some comments or suggestions on my current timings to get my latency down a bit more.


3950x @4000mhz all-core PBO disabled
16gb (2x8gb) 3600mhz 14-14-14-14-28-42 @1.45v
CAD_Bus 24-20-24-24ohm ProcODT 40ohm
Asus ROG Strix x570-F
I appreciate any thoughts, thanks guys.
Hello,
You actually already made good progress
There are just tiny bugs you couldn't have thought off before

VDDCR SOC runs at 1.363v
What ryzen master shows is actually accurate
That happens because your cLDO_VDDG is already at 1.1v while only the cLDO_VDDP is at 900mV
Soo the board thinks
"Oh he used 200mV stepping, let's continue to use it for stability sake"
That's why you end up at near 1.3v SOC

Please enable UncoreOC mode inside AMD OVERCLOCKING
Afterwards, drop procODT lower and fix vSOC to 1.1v
Usually 1.1v should work well with 34-36,9
It might be fine for 30ohm but will be a bit much for 28ohm
* in case your board even allows to run 28 instead of 30ohm procODT

About your timings, really nothing to complain
You might want to push tRTP down to 6, and lower tRDWR to 7 / tWRRD 1
In order to get that 2T away, you will need to increase ClkDrvStrengh a tiny bit
SLC both of them should be able to go down to 3 instead 4
but that work is for a another day

As you run procODT 40ohm, hitting 1900FCLK will be far away
Focus so far on lowering every voltage except vDIMM
Which speaking of, please give it a bit more
1.46v shouldn't bother even bad ICs
You run tRCD 14 on 3600MT/s which is not bad at all
But A2 PCB-kits love voltage
Either voltage or high ClkDrvStrengh impedance under CAD_BUS

Your work for now:
- tRTP 6, tRDWR 7,
- vDIMM >1.46,
- procODT <36.9ohm, vSOC not higher than 1.125, better 1.1v
- ClkDrvStrengh >24ohm
- focus on going to 1867/1900 FCLK after you lowered every voltage

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo

Last edited by Veii; 06-29-2020 at 10:23 PM.
Veii is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3904 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 01:10 AM
What's a 'Puffy Argos'??
 
PuffyArgos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Oxfordshire, U.K.
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Hello,
You actually already made good progress
There are just tiny bugs you couldn't have thought off before

VDDCR SOC runs at 1.363v
What ryzen master shows is actually accurate
That happens because your cLDO_VDDG is already at 1.1v while only the cLDO_VDDP is at 900mV
Soo the board thinks
"Oh he used 200mV stepping, let's continue to use it for stability sake"
That's why you end up at near 1.3v SOC

Please enable UncoreOC mode inside AMD OVERCLOCKING
Afterwards, drop procODT lower and fix vSOC to 1.1v
Usually 1.1v should work well with 34-36,9
It might be fine for 30ohm but will be a bit much for 28ohm
* in case your board even allows to run 28 instead of 30ohm procODT

About your timings, really nothing to complain
You might want to push tRTP down to 6, and lower tRDWR to 7 / tWRRD 1
In order to get that 2T away, you will need to increase ClkDrvStrengh a tiny bit
SLC both of them should be able to go down to 3 instead 4
but that work is for a another day

As you run procODT 40ohm, hitting 1900FCLK will be far away
Focus so far on lowering every voltage except vDIMM
Which speaking of, please give it a bit more
1.46v shouldn't bother even bad ICs
You run tRCD 14 on 3600MT/s which is not bad at all
But A2 PCB-kits love voltage
Either voltage or high ClkDrvStrengh impedance under CAD_BUS

Your work for now:
- tRTP 6, tRDWR 7,
- vDIMM >1.46,
- procODT <36.9ohm, vSOC not higher than 1.125, better 1.1v
- ClkDrvStrengh >24ohm
- focus on going to 1867/1900 FCLK after you lowered every voltage
This is perfect, exactly the type of feedback I was hoping for. I really appreciate your thoughts.

I only use Ryzen Master to capture my timings for screen shots. All timings/voltages are managed in BIOS. I didn't notice RM was reporting SOC voltage of 1.36. That's mildly terrifying as I've been running this 24/7 for about 21 days. HWiNFO has been reporting 1.1v this whole time (what I use on a daily basis to track voltages and temps). Any chance it was RM that thought "Oh he used 200mV stepping, let's continue to use it for stability sake" while the board was actually sticking to 1.1v on all other boots?

Looks like I have a few things to work on anyway. I look forward to reporting back with results. Thanks again for the help.

RandomX Machine
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3950x 4200mhz 1.2125v IF 1833mhz
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X570-F Gaming
GPU
Nvidia GT710 2GB
RAM
16GB (2X8GB) 3666mhz 14-14-14-14-26-40 tRFC 240 1.48v
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2 80+ PLATINUM, 1000W
Cooling
Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280
Case
Phanteks Eclipse P400 DRGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
PuffyArgos is offline  
post #3905 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 05:53 AM
Intel in 2020 LOL
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,128
Rep: 46 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Anyone looking for a G.Skill 3600C15 2X8GB kit? Newegg has them at the lowest I think I've ever seen.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...82E16820232306
MAAAAAN that price is so GOOOOD. Holy balls. High-tier B-die for just $125. Amazing!

AMD Bliss
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 - 2019PGT
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max - 1.0.0.6
RAM
2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3600C15 @3800 14-15-12-28-40 1T 1.52V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Cooling
be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Case
Phanteks P350X
Monitor
Asus VG245HE
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Audio
Asus Cerberus
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460
Motherboard
Gigabyte B85M-D3H-A
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury @1600 CL10
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Golden King Pro SF-500P14PE 500W 80+ Platinum
Cooling
Intel Stock Cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG245HE TN 1080p 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard
Gigabyte P43-ES3G
GPU
Asus R9 270X Top 2GB
RAM
2x2048MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Sirtec High-Power 80+ 400W
Cooling
Some 92mm cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Several LG/BenQ 17" 1280x1024 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 2013
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Speed WoT Edition
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rares495; 06-30-2020 at 05:57 AM.
rares495 is online now  
post #3906 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FranZe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 89
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Anyone looking for a G.Skill 3600C15 2X8GB kit? Newegg has them at the lowest I think I've ever seen.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...82E16820232306
They dont deliver to me

My PC
(12 items)
Second PC
(14 items)
Third PC
(11 items)
CPU
AMD 3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte aorus master X570
GPU
2080ti Trio X
RAM
Ripjaws 3600 @ 3733 14-16-14
Hard Drive
xpg sx8200 pro 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 5TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 5TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM750X
Cooling
Noctua U12A
Case
Fractal Design Define C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
AOC 32" 144Hz
CPU
5930k
Motherboard
MSI X99A Xpower
GPU
Evga Gtx 1080 FTW
GPU
Msi 1080 Aero
GPU
Msi 1080 Aero
RAM
Crucial DDR4 Ballistix Sport
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Hard Drive
HGST 4TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Optical Drive
Asus BD-Reader
Power Supply
Evga Supernova G2 850W
Cooling
CM 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
AMD 3200G
Motherboard
MSI Tomahawk Max
GPU
KFA2 RTX 2060 Super
RAM
Corsair 4x4 GB 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
MX 500GB ssd
Hard Drive
HGST 4TB
Hard Drive
WD Green 2TB
Power Supply
Supernova G2 850W
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Fractal R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


FranZe is offline  
post #3907 of 3978 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 11:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Trying to get 3800C14 stable

On the left I have what I'm stable with at 1.44V (53.6 latency), on the right I have what I'm trying to get stable, it's my first pass at 3800C14 (and currently has similar latency, which is a little surprising). Until I went up to 1.52V I couldn't get it to work at all.

I've run TM5 Extreme for a bit over an hour with no errors, but just got an error after 3 passes on Karhu, so it's not there yet.

I have a Gigabyte Aorus Master x570 and my 1.52V reports at 1.536-1.548V in HWInfo.

For one, I'm gathering that I shouldn't be too worried about running at 1.52V, yeah?

Next, should I even be bothering with this? Am I actually going to be able to get latency lower enough to make any sort of difference?

Lastly, any tips for either getting to CL14 stable or for what to do next on my CL16 config?

I've been completely unable to get GDM disabled at CL16 so I could try CL15. Actually, at one point I managed to destroy my windows install. Fun.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2020-07-01 064402.png
Views:	29
Size:	234.3 KB
ID:	357830  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2020-07-01 064658.png
Views:	16
Size:	522.8 KB
ID:	357832  

hmeh is offline  
post #3908 of 3978 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 12:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tcclaviger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 376
Rep: 23 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by tcclaviger View Post
I did a thing! RAM cooling added today, and the 3rd 480 Rad. Time to start climbing over 1.5v and see what these babies can really do!

While I'm here, I took some pics of the ICs since I removed the stock spreaders. I saw speak of certain BIN codes on the chips, but I don't know which of the numbers that is.

Team Tforce Dark Pro cl14 3200 kits.

The water cooled B-Die is like 1c over water temp most of the time and 5c over water when stressing all 4 sticks.

I know the cooler temps won't directly improve performance, but it should give me a little more safe headroom to squeeze timings some more.


Current settings attached, suggestions on where to go from here?
So... pretty much the same temps as air cooling the dimms?
Nope, air cooled dims at 1.52 volts running TM5 for example heats them up a good bit, around 45-50c.

People take for granted ram doesn't generate heat.

People are wrong.
tcclaviger is offline  
post #3909 of 3978 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 01:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,150
Rep: 62 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by tcclaviger View Post
Nope, air cooled dims at 1.52 volts running TM5 for example heats them up a good bit, around 45-50c.

People take for granted ram doesn't generate heat.

People are wrong.
And that's with decent air flow!

My b-die gets to over 56C when running TM5, and that's at 1.4V with the side panel off.
SpecChum is offline  
post #3910 of 3978 (permalink) Old 07-01-2020, 08:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by hmeh View Post
Next, should I even be bothering with this? Am I actually going to be able to get latency lower enough to make any sort of difference?
I just tested my current CL16 timings against just increasing VDDR to 1.52 and tCL to 14 and my AIDA64 numbers were not inspiring. They're extremely close to the CL16 timings.

CL16: 60236 57592 64082 63.6
CL14: 60278 57682 64161 63.6

Given that I had to back off several timings to not make CL14 super unstable, I don't think I'll even be able to make those benches hold at CL14, so likely CL16 is best for me? Does that seem right?

If so, what should I tweak next on my CL16?
hmeh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (2 members and 2 guests)
FlyByU , helsyeah
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off