AMD Ryzen Threadripper Owners Club - 1950X | 1920X | 1900X - Page 418 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Ryzen Threadripper Owners Club - 1950X | 1920X | 1900X

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 4233 (permalink) Old 01-22-2019, 11:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
1950X cooling advice in a micro ATX case

Hello guys,

I'm an a Threadripper owner since 1 month , I replaced my dead Asus X99-M WS and I7 6950x with an Asrock x399M-TR4 Taichi and a Threadripper 1950x so I used all the "old" parts I had for the new workstation
including

G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 cl 16 (working @ XMP)
Phantek evolv enthoo micro atx case
Corsair H115i pro RGB (with a special bracket) cooler

but I'm facing cooling issue. I'm a bit disapointed with my results, I cannot really overclock :/
and unfortunatly I feel this workstation a bit slow for reactivness (single core performance), for the 3D renderings I admit it rocks !!!
I planned to get a TR4 socket and a 1950x first and upgrade as soon as Threadripper Zen2 will be available ( in a 24-32-48 cores flavor depending of the single core performance) and I will upgrade my cooler at this time

My temperatures and overclocks result are following (I didn't do so much tries) when rendering with 3dsmax VRAY ( 23°C ambiant temperature )

3.40 Ghz tension 1.125v 67.50°C max
3.73 Ghz tension 1.18 v 78°C max
3.83 Ghz tension 1.25 v 87°c max

I tried With and without Turbo but I didn't change the results so much
I checked the thermal paste and I saw nothing wrong

I didn't monitor with other softwares or benchmarks (which could give lower temperature results because Vray is using AVX I think witch is power intensive) but it's what count with my utilisation

So you can see I get extremely high temperatures considering Tmax is 91°C

I don't know if you can confirm me there is something wrong ?

My guess is that my cooler waterblock is not fit for the job (too small for this huge heatspeader), my ambiant temperature and probably a bad batch of the CPU are giving those results

In any way, could you give me advices for an efficient cooler that fit in my Micro ATX case (could be a custom noctua with 120mm fans for instance ?

pastor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 4233 (permalink) Old 01-22-2019, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 864
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
Quote: Originally Posted by pastor View Post
Hello guys,

I'm an a Threadripper owner since 1 month , I replaced my dead Asus X99-M WS and I7 6950x with an Asrock x399M-TR4 Taichi and a Threadripper 1950x so I used all the "old" parts I had for the new workstation
including

G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 cl 16 (working @ XMP)
Phantek evolv enthoo micro atx case
Corsair H115i pro RGB (with a special bracket) cooler

but I'm facing cooling issue. I'm a bit disapointed with my results, I cannot really overclock :/
and unfortunatly I feel this workstation a bit slow for reactivness (single core performance), for the 3D renderings I admit it rocks !!!
I planned to get a TR4 socket and a 1950x first and upgrade as soon as Threadripper Zen2 will be available ( in a 24-32-48 cores flavor depending of the single core performance) and I will upgrade my cooler at this time

My temperatures and overclocks result are following (I didn't do so much tries) when rendering with 3dsmax VRAY ( 23°C ambiant temperature )

3.40 Ghz tension 1.125v 67.50°C max
3.73 Ghz tension 1.18 v 78°C max
3.83 Ghz tension 1.25 v 87°c max

I tried With and without Turbo but I didn't change the results so much
I checked the thermal paste and I saw nothing wrong

I didn't monitor with other softwares or benchmarks (which could give lower temperature results because Vray is using AVX I think witch is power intensive) but it's what count with my utilisation

So you can see I get extremely high temperatures considering Tmax is 91°C

I don't know if you can confirm me there is something wrong ?

My guess is that my cooler waterblock is not fit for the job (too small for this huge heatspeader), my ambiant temperature and probably a bad batch of the CPU are giving those results

In any way, could you give me advices for an efficient cooler that fit in my Micro ATX case (could be a custom noctua with 120mm fans for instance ?
are those tdie temperatures or tctl temperatures? I run 4275MHz @ 1.45v on custom loop, tdie is about 27c idle, maximum 75c tdie on load.

i heard the Be Quiet! DARK ROCK PRO TR4 rivals high end AIO's in noise and temperature.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #4173 of 4233 (permalink) Old 01-22-2019, 07:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
those are tdie temperatures monitored with ryzen master.
I checked out my corsair h115i pro monitoring software and, I don't know why but the settings were on silent (fans @ 600 Tr/m pump at 1200 Tr/m)
I setted back the fans to max 1200 tr/min and the pump to max 2800 tr/m ...... but well ... it's not really better

I did some little changes on cpu values to 3.8 Ghz and 1.256 V

I get:

IDLE temps: 46°C ( it can be 36-39 °c if there is nothing running, no backup software or no antivirus working in the background) ambiant temp = 24°C

Full load VRAY rendering after 4 minutes : 78°C

It's damn hot, I think it's not good for long term using :/

I add I've checked the thermal paste on the heatspreader and it looked fine


Last edited by pastor; 01-23-2019 at 04:23 AM.
pastor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4174 of 4233 (permalink) Old 01-24-2019, 07:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMadHerbalist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 61
Rep: 0
My old x79 rig finally crapped out last October. I finally go to building a my new system. Picked up the CPU and motherboard on sale last black Friday, and I finally had time to build this monstrosity. Have been doing some testing on it seeing what i can get.


*Edit to add picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190125_010138.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	6.69 MB
ID:	249146  


Last edited by TheMadHerbalist; 01-25-2019 at 01:13 AM.
TheMadHerbalist is offline  
post #4175 of 4233 (permalink) Old 01-29-2019, 08:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Resistance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
It looks like the Dark Rock Pro TR4 is finally available in the US on Newegg. That's probably the best overall air cooling option now (and maybe best overall outside of a custom water loop).

Resistance is offline  
post #4176 of 4233 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 02:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
x7007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,033
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
What do I need to do for XFR to work for 1950x ?

Bios Settings

Make sure in bios it set to Auto Default CPU multiplier ?

X.M.P Enabled

Voltage can be still offset Manual or needs to be Auto ?


Windows Settings

Use Ryzen Balance Power Plan ? can I change the PCIE Link State to Off ? and all the AHCI Link power Management ? cause I need it Active and not HIPM ,and just keep using 90% on the Minimum Processor state ?

Do I need to enable Core Parking ? cause AMD Disabled them with the new Ryzen Balance profile .

RIGWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
CPU :AMD 1950X @ 3.7 Ghz 1.280
MOBO : Gigabyte X399 AORUS Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0)
RAM : G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GBx4 DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Model F4-3200C14D-16GFX)
GPU :INNO3D Nvidia GeForce GTX1080 8G D5 1759Mhz iChill X3
Sound Card For 5.1 Speakers : Asus Strix RAID DLX
Network Card : SolareFlare SFN6122F SFP+ 10Gbit Dual Port PCIEx4
PSU : ThermalTake 850Watt ToughPower
STORAGE
SanDisk Extreme PRO SSD 480Gb OS
WD Gold 6TB DataCenter 7200 128MB DATA/GAMEZ
Seagate 5TB Enterprise 7200 128MB (ST5000NM0024) DATA/GAMEZ
Samsung x2 1TB 7200 RAID0 GAMEZ
Segate 3TB Backup+ Desktop USB External BACKUP

GEAR and Sound
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
TV : LG OLED55C6 TV
Mouse : Logitech G502
Mouse Pad : SteelSeries I-2 Black
Keyboard : Corsair Gaming K70 RAPIDFIRE
GamePad : Xbox Elite Controller + Xbox Wireless Adapter
Headphones : Beyerdynamic DT990 600 Ohms
A...


x7007 is offline  
post #4177 of 4233 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 05:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 864
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
Quote: Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
What do I need to do for XFR to work for 1950x ?

Bios Settings

Make sure in bios it set to Auto Default CPU multiplier ?

X.M.P Enabled

Voltage can be still offset Manual or needs to be Auto ?


Windows Settings

Use Ryzen Balance Power Plan ? can I change the PCIE Link State to Off ? and all the AHCI Link power Management ? cause I need it Active and not HIPM ,and just keep using 90% on the Minimum Processor state ?

Do I need to enable Core Parking ? cause AMD Disabled them with the new Ryzen Balance profile .
XFR = auto volts, auto multiplier. exceeding stock multiplier or stock voltage will turn off XFR.
You can do whatever you want for RAM settings/frequency/volts.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #4178 of 4233 (permalink) Old 02-18-2019, 10:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SlantS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 106
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
I have a quick question that I am not able to find much information on.

I just picked up a 1950x and a Gigabyte X399 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard. Not my first choice, but I got them for 40% less than newegg's current prices.

Trying to find 8x16 compatible memory for this board has been a nightmare.
I saw a set of G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 F4-3200C14Q2-128GTZR

It was $899 on ebay with only a few hours left. It seemed like a killer deal, so I went with it.

The memory is on the gigabyte QVL, but is listed as only 4 socket support. I'm just wondering what my chances are of getting this up and running with all 8 installed
I'm not opposed to switching the motherboard if there is one known to work.

Last edited by SlantS; 02-19-2019 at 12:08 AM.
SlantS is offline  
post #4179 of 4233 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 04:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dotachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 793
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by SlantS View Post
I have a quick question that I am not able to find much information on.

I just picked up a 1950x and a Gigabyte X399 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard. Not my first choice, but I got them for 40% less than newegg's current prices.

Trying to find 8x16 compatible memory for this board has been a nightmare.
I saw a set of G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 128GB (8 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 F4-3200C14Q2-128GTZR

It was $899 on ebay with only a few hours left. It seemed like a killer deal, so I went with it.

The memory is on the gigabyte QVL, but is listed as only 4 socket support. I'm just wondering what my chances are of getting this up and running with all 8 installed
I'm not opposed to switching the motherboard if there is one known to work.
Depends on your 1950x imc. Try 2933 first. Use 1usmus's calculator and ask for advice here
You may need a 2950 in the end idk
Dotachin is offline  
post #4180 of 4233 (permalink) Old 04-03-2019, 03:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi, need help
Decided to upgrade my old build and bought MSI x399 SLI plus with TR 1920X, and 2x16 hyperX fury CL18 3200mhz
The pc wont post. Code 00, and cpu led is red. I have only 600w psu and dont have any more cables to power up both CPUPWRs or PCIe.
My question is do i need to power up CPUPWR to even run threadripper? or the problem is somewhere else
thanks
IImkK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off