FX giving bad FPS? Here's how to tune your old FX to give better in game performance... - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FX giving bad FPS? Here's how to tune your old FX to give better in game performance...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Useful idiot
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,378
Rep: 80 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post

2700mhz to 3ghz nb is doable. But 5ghz clock and 2400mhz mem freq? You need a heck of a chip for that.

That's what I keep hearing... I've actually hit 5.2 semi-stable while at 2400mhz mem... but 5.1 is highest usable... I only backed down to 5ghz because in my mind the temps were a little to high for comfort... not hitting 70C or nothing, but for me hitting 50's even for a short bit is too warm.. and 5.1ghz would periodically have spikes into the 50's

Intel who?


Minotaurtoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
schubaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philippines
Posts: 148
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minotaurtoo View Post

That's what I keep hearing... I've actually hit 5.2 semi-stable while at 2400mhz mem... but 5.1 is highest usable... I only backed down to 5ghz because in my mind the temps were a little to high for comfort... not hitting 70C or nothing, but for me hitting 50's even for a short bit is too warm.. and 5.1ghz would periodically have spikes into the 50's

well yours is the 9590. Cream of the crop in the FX.
schubaltz is offline  
post #13 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:25 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,615
Rep: 274 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post


well yours is the 9590. Cream of the crop in the FX.

 

True my 8350 needs 1.55v to do 5ghz it is a pretty bad chip. :D 

 

Maybe ill pick up an 8320e or 8370e to play around with.


In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
schubaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philippines
Posts: 148
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozlay View Post

True my 8350 needs 1.55v to do 5ghz it is a pretty bad chip. biggrin.gif  

Maybe ill pick up an 8320e or 8370e to play around with.

My 6300 needs 1.6v for 5ghz bench stable XD
schubaltz is offline  
post #15 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:30 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,615
Rep: 274 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post


My 6300 needs 1.6v for 5ghz bench stable XD

 

Interesting i was able to get 5.1 at 1.6 but i didn't like the heat.


In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #16 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
schubaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philippines
Posts: 148
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
The highest I got with 6300 is 5.1ghz at 1.63v but that's just boot stable. The "E" revision where said to clock higher than the earlier FXs
schubaltz is offline  
post #17 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Useful idiot
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,378
Rep: 80 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post

well yours is the 9590. Cream of the crop in the FX.

true, but even so I've heard many 9590 owners not being able to hit 5ghz on all cores stable... but yeah, I'm sure it's harder with the lower bins.

Intel who?


Minotaurtoo is offline  
post #18 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,615
Rep: 274 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minotaurtoo View Post


true, but even so I've heard many 9590 owners not being able to hit 5ghz on all cores stable... but yeah, I'm sure it's harder with the lower bins.

 

True, But newer silicon might give better results.


In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #19 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Useful idiot
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,378
Rep: 80 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozlay View Post

True, But newer silicon might give better results.

I do know that some of the last FX chips made were hitting 5ghz easy... for some reason a lot of 8320's seem to be golden for a while there... but then on FX it would appear that while core clocks do help many benchmarks, when it comes to gaming the cpu/nb overclocking holds more potential for big gains for little effort. I have intentions of testing this theory on my son's pc...he has an 8320E from the later bins... even on an H80i he can hit 4.4ghz pretty easy... I've oc'd his cpu/nb and he seems to have no issues with cpu bottlenecks in games... If I get a chance I'll downclock his to stock and test some games to see if he looses substantial fps... I'm 90% sure he will... I know I did on mine..

Intel who?


Minotaurtoo is offline  
post #20 of 612 (permalink) Old 09-01-2017, 09:31 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,152
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
My old release day 8350 did 5ghz on 1.56V during winter and 4.8ghz on 1.52v during summer.
Died 2/3/17. Never saw over 60C on proper water cooling.

Had already upgraded to a 5820K a year before hand since every one was saying how much of a improvement id get with SLI 980ti's. But for 99% of games I didnt notice any difference.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off