FX giving bad FPS? Here's how to tune your old FX to give better in game performance... - Page 24 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FX giving bad FPS? Here's how to tune your old FX to give better in game performance...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #231 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-08-2017, 06:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jaredismee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 363
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gapottberg View Post

Be very careful when dealing with CPU/NB...it is not the same thing as your NB chipset.

The CPU/NB is on your CPU die...and mainly affects the memory controler and the L3 chache speed. It has its own independant voltage delivery that is seperate from the CPU and from the actual NB chipset.

The NB chipset is on your motherboard and usually is near the CPU socket covered by a heatsink. It has its own voltage control so do not confuse them when tweaking voltages.

Typically stock voltage on the actual NB vhipset is fine with very small bumps sometimes needed at extream overclocks. I have found increasing voltages can very quickly increase the temp of the heatsink to untouchable, so be careful and never bump this voltage up to 1.40v...you should never need it that high and it could damage your board if left too long in that state.

The CPU/NB does however require voltages around or above 1.40v to hit higher clock speeds. Increasing the clock speed and voltages on this will increase your CPU temps due to it being on the CPU die itself. How far you can go is directly deoendant on your CPU cooling solution, your power delivery, and the quality of the memory/cpu/mobo.

As has been stated several times. Getting both the CPU/NB and HT speeds up to 2600mhz or higher and keeping them close to the same speed seems to yield the most stability and best performance.

maybe it is just my mobo but i need the cpu NB at 1.4 with NB at 1.36 to keep my current OC stable. have tried dropping either down but it always ends with instability. also heat sink on my NB is modded with additional cooling and also gets a ton of airflow from the fan over the vrms. heat from it has not been an issue for me. the vrms are the only temps that i ever have any issues with, they run very hot during stressing but are totally fine doing everything else.
jaredismee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #232 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-09-2017, 09:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jaredismee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 363
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
So i finally ran some more benchmarks showing differences between 3 different settings.

1. Cpu: 4913 MHz, NB: 2601 MHz, Ram 2312 MHz CL 9 Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


2. Cpu: 4913 MHz, NB: 2023 MHz, Ram: 1540 MHz CL 9 Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


3. Stock 9590 Cpu: 4700 MHz, NB 2200 MHz, Ram: 1600 MHz CL 11 Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)



Test 1: Firestrike

1
Firestrike Physics: 9399
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/23869916?

2

Firestrike Physics: 9340
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/23870143?

3

Firestrike Physics: 8175
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/23870524?

Test 2: Doom


1
2017-12-09 22:11:17 - DOOMx64
Frames: 2166 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 72.200 - Min: 59 - Max: 86

2017-12-09 22:13:39 - DOOMx64
Frames: 2143 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 71.433 - Min: 59 - Max: 86

2
2017-12-09 23:01:49 - DOOMx64
Frames: 1900 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 63.333 - Min: 54 - Max: 77

2017-12-09 23:03:18 - DOOMx64
Frames: 1922 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 64.067 - Min: 52 - Max: 77

3
2017-12-09 23:29:59 - DOOMx64
Frames: 1941 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 64.700 - Min: 53 - Max: 78

2017-12-09 23:31:04 - DOOMx64
Frames: 1962 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 65.400 - Min: 52 - Max: 78

Test 3: Fortnite


1
2017-12-09 22:20:32 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2938 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 97.933 - Min: 78 - Max: 107

2017-12-09 22:25:09 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2889 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 96.300 - Min: 83 - Max: 105

2
2017-12-09 23:10:25 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2650 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 88.333 - Min: 72 - Max: 97

2017-12-09 23:14:51 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2719 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 90.633 - Min: 75 - Max: 98

3
2017-12-09 23:38:19 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2803 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 93.433 - Min: 74 - Max: 102

2017-12-09 23:42:21 - FortniteClient-Win64-Shipping
Frames: 2716 - Time: 30000ms - Avg: 90.533 - Min: 75 - Max: 97

Conclusion:

First of all it is pretty obvious that the testing here was pretty limited. Ran firestrike 1x on each configuration and only 2x the same scene for each game on each configuration. More runs would have been nice, but I didn't have the time. Also the number of games i have on my system is pretty limited as my SSD is only 240GB, and I do a lot of uninstalling/installing of the same games as i feel the need to play the since i am on gigabit internet, but was not going to do that between tests.

My 24/7 OC of 4.9 and 2600/2300 took top prizes across the board and destroyed the configuration with same cpu speed but slower NB/ram. Tthe results get even more interesting when comparing the next 2 configurations.

The OC at 4.9GHz with slightly below stock speeds on the NB and ram beat the stock cpu in Firestrike, but lost to stock settings in actual game play.

Edits are error/format corrections and minor tweaks to wording
I did not take much time to proof read or check to make sure none of the data was out of place or wrong images, if you notice anything let me know and i will fix it. i kept all the files and pics saved in a folder as i was running the tests.

forgot to run aida64 doh.gif
not planning to as of now though.
jaredismee is offline  
post #233 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-09-2017, 09:56 PM
 
Batboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 53
It's an Old under-performing CPU man. I did Pick up a great 9590 though and that thing boots in didn't try to bench it much though at 5175ghz and like stupid 1.65vcore...HOT man literally like stayed around 50-70c the whole time Lol
Batboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #234 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-09-2017, 09:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jaredismee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 363
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batboy View Post

It's an Old under-performing CPU man. I did Pick up a great 9590 though and that thing boots in didn't try to bench it much though at 5175ghz and like stupid 1.65vcore...HOT man literally like stayed around 50-70c the whole time Lol

considering i ran both those games on epic settings at 1080p under performing might not be correct description. with the OC it handles pretty much anything i throw at it.

edit:
The cpu is not that bad, and can be picked up for about $100USD Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

jaredismee is offline  
post #235 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 07:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,083
Rep: 167 (Unique: 105)
I went up to 1.368v on the CPU/NB, but I'm still unstable at 2600 MHz.

My system is stable at 2400 MHz with stock CPU/NB voltages.

rolleyes.gif

Maybe my 1.65v ram is causing issues?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #236 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 08:05 PM
Oldtimer
 
gapottberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 794
Rep: 54 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post

I went up to 1.368v on the CPU/NB, but I'm still unstable at 2600 MHz.

My system is stable at 2400 MHz with stock CPU/NB voltages.

rolleyes.gif

Maybe my 1.65v ram is causing issues?

I would try upping the actual NB chipset voltage a few ticks before I messed with RAM settings. Assuming your ram is 100% stable with your current voltage and timings. Some people have had success getting higher 26000mhz+ CPU/NB speeds stable by adding a bit of voltage to both it and the NB chipset itself.

#REDTEAM
Serenity
(11 items)
Dat_Ashe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320E OCed @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard
ASRock 970 Fatality
GPU
MSI 390X
RAM
Gskill Ripjaw 16GB @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD
Optical Drive
ASUS Blue Ray
Power Supply
Thermaltake toughpower 650watt
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0
Case
Thermaltake T81
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus VX248
CPU
FX-6300
Motherboard
BIOSTAR TA970
GPU
SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 270 2GB
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1866mhz
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
ASUS Blu-ray Drive
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt PSU
Cooling
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Case
Antec GX500
Operating System
Windows 10 Technical Preview
Monitor
ASUS VX248 24" 1080p LCD Moniter
Mouse
Logitech G602 wireless gaming mouse
▲ hide details ▲


gapottberg is offline  
post #237 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 08:16 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
the actual northbridge chipset voltage doesnt do anything for cpu/nb, except when running some fast fast ram. Bumping it to 1.12 or 1.13 volts instead of the stock 1.1 can help a little, else its unneeded except during heavy LN2 overclocking.


increasing the cpu VDDA can help. instead of stock 2.5v, try setting it to 2.6 or 2.65v it will increase cpu temps a little, but should smooth out voltages a bit (reduce spiking, smooth the graph out)
mattliston is offline  
post #238 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 08:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
superstition222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,725
Rep: 218 (Unique: 102)
Quote:
Originally Posted by schubaltz View Post

well yours is the 9590. Cream of the crop in the FX.
Not according to The Stilt. According to him the only scenario in which the 9000 series is better is when one has access to phase change or nitrogen. Otherwise, the high current demands from the high leakage of the 9000 series makes for inferior efficiency.

What would be particularly interesting to know, in light of this debate, is whether or not the 8370E (the FX chip with the best binning) is too low in leakage to achieve the highest FX clocks with water. Only if that's the case would it be inferior to the 9000 series. Otherwise, it's quite a bit superior considering its lower current requirement.

And, the 8370E is the opposite extreme from the 9000 series. There are parts like the 8320E which have a bit more leakage to consider.

Free expression is the base of human rights, the root of human nature, and the mother of truth. — 刘晓波 (Liu Xiaobo)
superstition222 is offline  
post #239 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 09:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
superstition222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,725
Rep: 218 (Unique: 102)
Quote:
Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post

With the Sabertooth, the 990FX has a sink and heat-pipe, but I don't have a fan right on it.

You had better have one, and one behind the socket, too.

Free expression is the base of human rights, the root of human nature, and the mother of truth. — 刘晓波 (Liu Xiaobo)
superstition222 is offline  
post #240 of 612 (permalink) Old 12-10-2017, 09:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
superstition222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,725
Rep: 218 (Unique: 102)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minotaurtoo View Post

cpu/nb can be finicky... mine has a voltage wall at 2700 and it takes 1.4 to get the, but 1.25 will get me close to 2600..... actually I think it's exactly 1.25 for 2600
It depends on the board. The Gigabyte UD3P 2.0 needs 1.3V CPU NB minimum for 4.7 GHz and 2600 northbridge, with 2133 RAM. I am using tight timings, though (9-11-10 CR1).

This board showed that passing The Stilt's 1 hour in-place Prime regimen doesn't guarantee stability. It failed with out-of-place large FFTs with high RAM allocation because of the CPU NB not being high enough. ASUS uses two phases for RAM in its Crosshair board (and probably the Sabertooth as well), while the UD3P uses one. ASUS also has a reputation for underreporting voltage. These two factors can help to explain why CPU NB hasn't been seen as critical by some overclockers. If they're using a board that provides plenty of CPU NB without needing manual adjustment...

Free expression is the base of human rights, the root of human nature, and the mother of truth. — 刘晓波 (Liu Xiaobo)
superstition222 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off