AMD Ryzen vs Intel XE ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Ryzen vs Intel XE ?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
iced00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Question AMD Ryzen vs Intel XE ?

So for the longest time, I was building boxes with AMD processors until I was lucky enough to get 2x 1080 TI FE's! After getting those, I decided to build another rig to fit those puppies and found out that Intel processors play nicely with NVIDIA vs AMD CPUs. I can't remember the reasoning but something about how NVIDIA and Intel teamed up?? Anyways, its that time again, and I'm getting the build bug. So doing some research I was fixated on the XE series until I was reading a review on the Ryzen. So my question to all you AMD guru's - will NVIDIA play nice with AMD or will there be a performance drop going with AMD??? Thanks in advance..

BTW - This build will be primary used for gaming -- I mean work !!!

Last edited by iced00d; 06-02-2018 at 10:47 AM.
iced00d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 11:07 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,154
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
Ryzen Threadripper you mean?
i9-7980XE isn't positioned against Ryzen mainstream CPUs at all.
There will be a performance drop going with a Ryzen CPU, but that's only because you're running GTX 1080 Ti.
If you were running say GTX 1080 or lower, the difference is minimal


If you're using more than 1 GPU the Threadripper CPUs will have more PCIE lanes than Ryzen, which allows you to use GTX 1080 TI in SLI.


The main problem you will encounter is Threadripper uses 4 CCX , rather than a mesh or ringbus. This means if you are gaming with your GPUs rather than using it for work (i.e. offload work to GPU and get the result from it) the latency will be more severe when a process goes from one CCX to another.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 06-02-2018 at 11:10 AM.
AlphaC is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
iced00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks for the quick reply. I was looking at the i7-7820x / i7-8700k on the Intel side and the AMD Ryzen 7 2700X on the AMD side. Yes I would be running both TI's in SLI mode. Guess my answer would be Intel. Damn you NVIDIA!!!
iced00d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 11:58 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,154
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
If you're going to buy Intel I'd skip the i7-7820X as it doesn't add a large amount of PCIE lanes (i.e. it's pointless for your use case). There's an eight core projected to be out on LGA1151 as well which makes the i7-7820x even more of a poor purchase unless you can make use of quad channel memory which is typically lower clocked vs on the i7-8700k. If you can clock the memory close to 60% faster on the i7-8700K then you'll have close to the memory bandwidth of LGA2066 (i.e. if you have 4000MHz RAM on i7-8700k vs 2666MHz on i7-7820x) since scaling isn't 100%.

Per Intel: the i7-7820x has 28 PCIE lanes while the i9-7900X has 44 PCIE lanes. The i7-8700K has 16 PCIE lanes.

Ryzen 7 2700X has 20 PCIE lanes, typically 16 for GPU and 4 for other (NVME typically). Due to the use of 2 CCX modules instead of a monolithic 8 core design, there's latency introduced between cores on different CCXes , which means to maximize performance you want the Infinity Fabric linking the CCX to be maximum speed (3466-3600MHz memory clock = 1733-1800MHz Infinity Fabric).

i7-8700k has superior GPU performance to the LGA2066 CPUs because it uses a ringbus ; if you're running 2 way SLI and not 3 way it should be fine since you'll have PCIE 3.0 x8 for each GPU. For gaming that will suffice: for scientific applications (not rendering) that use a lot of PCIE bandwidth and GPU memory controller bandwidth but aren't particularly latency sensitive probably not.

i9-7900X (32 PCIE lanes vs 16 PCIE lanes): https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/2...ing-benchmarks

Titan V PCIE lane scaling : https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...test-x8-vs-x16

For GPU rendering at least, there isn't a significant difference. https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/ar...endering-1030/

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,917
Rep: 96 (Unique: 69)
Sli with current gen at anything under 16/16 is ********.
nycgtr is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
iced00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks much everyone for the advise and quick responses. I'll keep you up to date on the build. Tks again
iced00d is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 04:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,372
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Bad timing for buying Intel, both HEDT and mainstream will get a refresh this year. I'd go used w. warranty for the CPU.
Also, there is only one "XE" - the 7980XE and it's better avoided unless you need 18 cores. For 1080Ti SLI the 7900/7920X are the sweet spot.
I'm now very happy with Ryzen 2700X and R9 290X (done with Nv and Intel's policies, will be getting a Vega64 LC soon).


I've had the 7920, 80XE and ThreadRipper 1950X all with 1080Ti SLI and the Threadripper had issues, it was bottlenecking them heavily, you could see a spontaneous drop in GPU load and stuttering in games.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Lian Li O11 Dynamic White || Corsair AX1600i || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F
Corsair H150i PRO + Noctua NF-A12x25

Last edited by Martin778; 06-03-2018 at 04:07 PM.
Martin778 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 06:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nycgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,917
Rep: 96 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
Bad timing for buying Intel, both HEDT and mainstream will get a refresh this year. I'd go used w. warranty for the CPU.
Also, there is only one "XE" - the 7980XE and it's better avoided unless you need 18 cores. For 1080Ti SLI the 7900/7920X are the sweet spot.
I'm now very happy with Ryzen 2700X and R9 290X (done with Nv and Intel's policies, will be getting a Vega64 LC soon).


I've had the 7920, 80XE and ThreadRipper 1950X all with 1080Ti SLI and the Threadripper had issues, it was bottlenecking them heavily, you could see a spontaneous drop in GPU load and stuttering in games.
I have the 1950x and 7940x both with sli. One with 2 1080ti strix and one with 2 titan xps. Threadripper does bottleneck the cards a bit, stuttering is more related to non optimized ram settings on tr or slow ram. However, there is definitely lower gpu usage in sli on TR.
nycgtr is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
iced00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by nycgtr View Post
I have the 1950x and 7940x both with sli. One with 2 1080ti strix and one with 2 titan xps. Threadripper does bottleneck the cards a bit, stuttering is more related to non optimized ram settings on tr or slow ram. However, there is definitely lower gpu usage in sli on TR.
So it's interesting that you mentioned 'stuttering' because lately i've noticed this as a huge problem while in games like Black Desert online. I've done 'clean' installs of the grapx drivers yet it still happens. For RAM I have G.Skill Ripsaw's - F4-3200C16-8GVK (4x) - 15-15-15-36 4-523-17-6 on all RAM I don't mess with overclocking in the BIOS so its technically set to default.
iced00d is offline  
Reply

Tags
Amd , Nvidia

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off