Bit old school - Phenom II X4 965 BE OC question - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Bit old school - Phenom II X4 965 BE OC question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Just bumped the CPU to 3.6Ghz with turbo off, it just ran a 9883 without any issue:

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/31062494?

Comparing the best run with the X4 vs the slightly OCed X6 the Physics score has bumped up 27% - at full load and OCed to 3.6Ghz the X6 is at 29C.

https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/17348056/fs/17328804

m1tch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 03:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,253
Rep: 878 (Unique: 637)
I made a similar comparison awhile back using a Zosma Quad and unlocked to Hex both at 4GHz.

https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/3077144/fs/3064629#

If you want records of fraps and HWINFO in BF3 using an HD 7970 i'll post it too.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #33 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 03:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Just overclocked to the same settings as the X4 but at a lower voltage - 215x19....its just benchmarked at 10,488! Max temp it reached during the run (after a few back to back runs) was 34c - so still a lot of headroom until 55c!

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/31063131?

I therefore now have both the X4 AND X6 Firestrike records using a single RX470 - 2nd place is around 400 points lower than me! The outright record is currently at 14176 which I won't get near as that's on an overclocked i7.

Now to start actually optimising to see how much more I can run, so much headroom and not really running much voltage.

m1tch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-08-2018, 03:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,253
Rep: 878 (Unique: 637)
Quote: Originally Posted by m1tch View Post
Just overclocked to the same settings as the X4 but at a lower voltage - 215x19....its just benchmarked at 10,488! Max temp it reached during the run (after a few back to back runs) was 34c - so still a lot of headroom until 55c!

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/31063131?

I therefore now have both the X4 AND X6 Firestrike records using a single RX470 - 2nd place is around 400 points lower than me! The outright record is currently at 14176 which I won't get near as that's on an overclocked i7.

Now to start actually optimising to see how much more I can run, so much headroom and not really running much voltage.
Nice. From my experience, i had to oc the Phenom II X 6 to 4.2GHz in order to minimize the bottleneck with a R9 290. Believe it or not, i got better frames than my intel Sandy i7 4.5 GHz HT off (like an i5) in some games which are multi-threaded.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #35 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Nice. From my experience, i had to oc the Phenom II X 6 to 4.2GHz in order to minimize the bottleneck with a R9 290. Believe it or not, i got better frames than my intel Sandy i7 4.5 GHz HT off (like an i5) in some games which are multi-threaded.
Thanks for the experience, good to see that I can look to overclock the X6 to over 4Ghz which will be an awesome upgrade to the X4, I am amazed at how cool the CPU is currently running, seems a bit more stable at lower voltages as well.

I will perhaps look to run a few other benchmarks, interested to see how much of a difference the X6 does when running something like Metro 2033 benchmark - interestingly the higher the settings on the games the less stressed the CPU is as the frame rates as lower as its the GPU that is under strain rather than waiting for the CPU to catch up.

m1tch is offline  
post #36 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 03:02 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,634
Rep: 599 (Unique: 465)
Quote: Originally Posted by m1tch View Post
Thanks for the experience, good to see that I can look to overclock the X6 to over 4Ghz which will be an awesome upgrade to the X4, I am amazed at how cool the CPU is currently running, seems a bit more stable at lower voltages as well.

I will perhaps look to run a few other benchmarks, interested to see how much of a difference the X6 does when running something like Metro 2033 benchmark - interestingly the higher the settings on the games the less stressed the CPU is as the frame rates as lower as its the GPU that is under strain rather than waiting for the CPU to catch up.
DAMN you! Got me chasing you now w/FX6300 & RX570. 10,270 my best....so far. Phenom II IPC still kicks ass on FX. Gonna have to go beyond 5GHz to make up physic score.
https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/17348317/fs/17380065

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #37 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 12:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
DAMN you! Got me chasing you now w/FX6300 & RX570. 10,270 my best....so far. Phenom II IPC still kicks ass on FX. Gonna have to go beyond 5GHz to make up physic score.
https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/17348317/fs/17380065
Sorry! I just find it interesting to see if a much older chip overclocked can out perform a newer chip, for me its mainly to make sure that my RX470 is running to its full potential - Interesting that you are only outscoring my by around 9% on the graphics as well even though I am on an older card with half the graphics memory and you have a much much higher clock speed than me!

m1tch is offline  
post #38 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-13-2018, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Just installed the latest official drivers and bumped the overclock slightly to almost 4.2Ghz, its showing in 3dmark as 'non approved driver' but its probably due to the drivers just rolling out - new top benchmark of 10,643.

https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17416722

https://valid.x86.fr/g8ncm4

Comparing the 2 runs it shows improvements across the board with the higher clock speed:

https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/17416722/fs/17348317

Highest temp the cores got to during a few back to back runs was 34C.

Hopefully the new official drivers will show as valid so I can out perform my previous runs and show as 'valid' (even though its an official driver release).

Considering I am not improving on my graphics scores and its all about the physics and combined scores it would seem that my RX470 isn't being bottlenecked by the CPU at all - it just needed a 1GHz over clock!

m1tch is offline  
post #39 of 50 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 05:13 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
m1tch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 281
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Minor update to this, just bumped my score up to 10,682:

https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18506043

I have just replaced the motherboard with an Asus AM3+ board, still running the same X6 1090t and the same RX470 graphics card, will see if I can get a higher score with a few additional tweaks on this board.

The AM3 CPU fits in the AM3+ socket, will also mean that I can run FX processors - looking at the FX-8350 which are only around £55 new - the best score however with the 8350 and an RX470 is currently at 10,318 so my currently setup has a higher benchmark score. Comparing the 2 scores however it shows that the FX-8350 and RX470 yields around a 6% improvement in frame rate (although their card is slightly OCed higher than mine) - the CPU is also running at 4.6ghz.

https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/14996703/fs/18506043#

Will be interested to see how much further I can push the figures - outright score for an X6 1090t powered PC is up at 14,860 running a 1080 and 4.4ghz on the CPU so might be able to bump my score slightly with a higher OC on the CPU - difference is around 500 points so might be able to crack 11k points on firestrike.

m1tch is offline  
post #40 of 50 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 05:50 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,756
Rep: 287 (Unique: 227)
You could lap it if you haven't already? I ran a lapped 965 at 1.5v at 4.2 for a while.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off