2700x overclocking help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2700x overclocking help

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cgi2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
2700x overclocking help

Hardware: 2700x, crosshair vii, 32gb ram, nvme SSD Samsung, 1060 ftw, 750 g3 psu, a240g water cooling (x2 240 rads)

Hey guys I am new to overclocking but right now my settings are 100blck, 41 CPU ratio, vcore 1.3v, soc 1.025v. Everything is very stable and I am getting 28c idle, 50-55 gaming and 60-65 rendering/aida64

I have been reading and I see a lot of people saying I'll get better performance if I let xfr2 do the work.

My question is how do I set this up properly on the CH7, I have followed a few how toos but the processor just shows 3.7ghz @1.4v(to high) in the motherboard specs? I just don't know what options to select on and off for my board specifically. Ive also read to do and offset voltage to lowers temps but get a higher boost, where is this option??

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks everyone
cgi2099 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 403
Should be thinking more like 4.3ghz. They run pretty good around that Level. Was thinking about going back to Airrrr...Something bigger than the Box Cooler the Spire could cool that better EZ....like I can pass cb at 1.4125v...but I think it's board pass that keeps freezing past that. Think I got a bad binned chip or just average? someone was at 4.6 with the 2600x they said....
Jspinks020 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 01:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 719
Rep: 84 (Unique: 64)
Quote: Originally Posted by cgi2099 View Post
Hardware: 2700x, crosshair vii, 32gb ram, nvme SSD Samsung, 1060 ftw, 750 g3 psu, a240g water cooling (x2 240 rads)

Hey guys I am new to overclocking but right now my settings are 100blck, 41 CPU ratio, vcore 1.3v, soc 1.025v. Everything is very stable and I am getting 28c idle, 50-55 gaming and 60-65 rendering/aida64

I have been reading and I see a lot of people saying I'll get better performance if I let xfr2 do the work.

My question is how do I set this up properly on the CH7, I have followed a few how toos but the processor just shows 3.7ghz @1.4v(to high) in the motherboard specs? I just don't know what options to select on and off for my board specifically. Ive also read to do and offset voltage to lowers temps but get a higher boost, where is this option??

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks everyone
I do not own this board but I would first try this.
Set all settings to auto in BIOS then go to
Advanced/AMD CBS/NBIO Common Options/Precision Boost Overdrive Configuration/Accepted and select Enable for Precision Boost Overdrive.
Save and restart machine and in light loads CPU will reach 4350Mhz on some threads and heavy loads CPU will vary depending on heat/voltage.

After you got that I would suggest CPU offset voltage EG: start with (-0.05) and test until you fine stable clocks with lower CPU voltage.

I just google off set for the board and this is what I got over on reddit.
Most people undervolt -0.075 via the offset and use Core Enhancer level 2 to get 4.15 all core and 4.35 single core for gaming FPS

Last edited by gerardfraser; 12-23-2018 at 01:16 PM.
gerardfraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cgi2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by gerardfraser View Post
I do not own this board but I would first try this.
Set all settings to auto in BIOS then go to
Advanced/AMD CBS/NBIO Common Options/Precision Boost Overdrive Configuration/Accepted and select Enable for Precision Boost Overdrive.
Save and restart machine and in light loads CPU will reach 4350Mhz on some threads and heavy loads CPU will vary depending on heat/voltage.

After you got that I would suggest CPU offset voltage EG: start with (-0.05) and test until you fine stable clocks with lower CPU voltage.

I just google off set for the board and this is what I got over on reddit.
Most people undervolt -0.075 via the offset and use Core Enhancer level 2 to get 4.15 all core and 4.35 single core for gaming FPS
Okay thank you! I'll look for this setting, do you know if people generally get lower temps this way of overclocking?
cgi2099 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 06:17 PM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,186
Rep: 353 (Unique: 248)
Quote: Originally Posted by cgi2099 View Post
Hardware: 2700x, crosshair vii, 32gb ram, nvme SSD Samsung, 1060 ftw, 750 g3 psu, a240g water cooling (x2 240 rads)

Hey guys I am new to overclocking but right now my settings are 100blck, 41 CPU ratio, vcore 1.3v, soc 1.025v. Everything is very stable and I am getting 28c idle, 50-55 gaming and 60-65 rendering/aida64

I have been reading and I see a lot of people saying I'll get better performance if I let xfr2 do the work.

My question is how do I set this up properly on the CH7, I have followed a few how toos but the processor just shows 3.7ghz @1.4v(to high) in the motherboard specs? I just don't know what options to select on and off for my board specifically. Ive also read to do and offset voltage to lowers temps but get a higher boost, where is this option??

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks everyone




Quote: Originally Posted by cgi2099 View Post
Okay thank you! I'll look for this setting, do you know if people generally get lower temps this way of overclocking?

Yes you "should" see lower temps and voltage using a similar PE OC.


I run a PE3 OC, 4200MHz all core under load @ 1.26xv and 4350MHz single core with 3466MHz (16GBs) memory c14 on a C6H.
I highly recommend you try OffSet voltage, + sign, and first try Auto Vcore and CPU LLC. A manual SoC voltage and set memory to spec.
See what this gives you for starters and adjust from there.
Don't panic if you notice Vdroop and see how stress tests perform. You may be very surprised.



Here is a Bios text file just to give you an idea of how mine is set up PE33466121518_setting.txt
I also have Bios snips if ness, let me know.


Here's what a quick run on IBT AVX looks like and a few other tests I ran recently if your interested can be found here https://www.overclock.net/forum/27772288-post39689.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	55.PNG
Views:	75
Size:	2.13 MB
ID:	240896  

Attached Files
File Type: txt PE33466121518_setting.txt (17.1 KB, 50 views)

Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲


The Sandman is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cgi2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
So here is what I have done: turned on all the xfr2 stuff to auto except blck and it is at 100.00

I then offset vcore -0.06875v and soc set to 1.025v.

Idle is 27-28c
Aida64 CPU is 45-48c
Aida64 CPU & GPU is right at 50c
Aida64 fpu is 63-65c
Cinebench 55c (score is 1811)
Gaming is around 45c

I get 4 cores to boost to 4.3 in game and autocad

Aida64 cpu stress I get all core 4.1
Aida64 fpu stress I get all core 4.0
Cinebench I get all core 4.1

Memory is 15-15-15-34 @3200 1.35v. idk much about memory timings, my kit is rated at 16-18-18-38 @3200 so maybe I can improve here?

Could I improve this anywhere? Maybe raise blck to 101 or 102?

I was able to offset vcore to -0.100 with the old chipset drivers but the new ones make me unstable all the way to -0.075
cgi2099 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
cgi2099's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Sandman View Post
Yes you "should" see lower temps and voltage using a similar PE OC.


I run a PE3 OC, 4200MHz all core under load @ 1.26xv and 4350MHz single core with 3466MHz (16GBs) memory c14 on a C6H.
I highly recommend you try OffSet voltage, + sign, and first try Auto Vcore and CPU LLC. A manual SoC voltage and set memory to spec.
See what this gives you for starters and adjust from there.
Don't panic if you notice Vdroop and see how stress tests perform. You may be very surprised.



Here is a Bios text file just to give you an idea of how mine is set up PE33466121518_setting.txt
I also have Bios snips if ness, let me know.


Here's what a quick run on IBT AVX looks like and a few other tests I ran recently if your interested can be found here https://www.overclock.net/forum/27772288-post39689.html
I tried to do my settings like this but I wasn't stable and my temps were pretty high, 40-45c at idle
cgi2099 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 04:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
2700x 4.44Ghz

I thought my limit on this CPU was 4.2 wen manually overclocking, so for ages I just left XFR to do its work but recently I have been having a play and now have stable 4.44ghz, voltage is at 1.46. Im running watercooler and under stress test I get about 68c after 10 minutes... I think there is room to overclock a little more than is commonly stated but you got to push those volts beyond the 1.35.. Ive tried for the life of me to squeeze this chip up to 4.5 with no luck though.. any higher and Im not stable for longer than a few minutes. My ram is set at 3400mhz c13 also at 1.46v
Mighter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off