Recommendations about Ryzen 7 2700X motherboard + memory - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Recommendations about Ryzen 7 2700X motherboard + memory

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
Recommendations about Ryzen 7 2700X motherboard + memory

I am a retired C/C++ developer (and a bunch of other programming languages, among them assembler).
I have somewhat lost the connection with modern hardware (live, you know, work,work, ...). I am in the
process to build a very performing PC for me. I have chose (and already bought) the "Fractal Design Define
R5 Black". Mi intent is to use the AMD Ryzen 7 2700X processor, or if it would not be to long before the
3rd Gen. of this processor comes to the market, i will use this one. now mi problem is to chose a corresponding
motherboard and good (speedy) memory with low latency (anticipating the 3rd Gen. Ryzen 7). I will use this
machine to do number crunching and not for games. (The only "game" i probably play is flight simulator).
Later, i will probably enter the domain of overclocking (OC), so please take this in consideration also.

Kind regards,
MrcCppDvlpr
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 08:17 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 516 (Unique: 254)
Hello. I have been away from this forum for 1 1/2 years, so i don't know what happened, but the forum seems much less active than it was. I don't have Ryzen yet (i have it on order), but my 2 cents, in case you get no other replies and you want a half-decent advice in short time:

Considering you want to overclock in the future, i would grab a X470 motherboard, of those with >4 phases:

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...e-1155146.html