Ryzen 1700 actual load clock? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 1700 actual load clock?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,207
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Ryzen 1700 actual load clock?

I only have experience with Zen+ which I know has better XFR/pb.

I am going to get a 1700 for my home server, probably a non x.

My question is are these chips like the newer ryzen chips where the all core load clock may be above the base clock or is it going to be 3ghz with a load no matter what? Without overclocking of course.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 06:44 AM
100+ fps
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,466
Rep: 76 (Unique: 57)
Mine is fluctuating between 3 and 3.7, mostly 3.2, will drop to 3 when under load for a longer period of time

Main
(7 items)
Golden Ivy
(13 items)
HTPC
(9 items)
CPU
i9-9900K @ 5.2 GHz
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Extreme
GPU
1080 Ti @ 2+ GHz
RAM
32GB @ 3500/CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 850W
Monitor
Asus PG279Q - 1440p @ 165Hz Gsync
CPU
i7-3770K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
GPU
980 Ti @ 1.5 GHz
RAM
16GB @ 2400/CL10
Hard Drive
2x 850 Evo 500 GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 850W
Cooling
Custom Water
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H 1440p/60Hz AH-IPS
Keyboard
Logitech G610 MX-Red + O-Rings
Mouse
Logitech G403
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Philips Fidelio X1
CPU
i3-4150T
Motherboard
AsRock Z97E-ITX/ac
RAM
8GB @ 1600/CL9
Hard Drive
Samsung 830 256GB + 40TB NAS
Power Supply
Streacom Nano150 Fanless
Cooling
Fanless
Case
Streacom FC8 Evo
Monitor
LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Keyboard
Logitech K400
▲ hide details ▲
Lass3 is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,207
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lass3 View Post
Mine is fluctuating between 3 and 3.7, mostly 3.2, will drop to 3 when under load for a longer period of time
So I'm talking like encoding x264 video, its going to sit at 3ghz correct?

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 09:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,571
Rep: 516 (Unique: 254)
Quote: Originally Posted by lightsout View Post
I only have experience with Zen+ which I know has better XFR/pb.

I am going to get a 1700 for my home server, probably a non x.

My question is are these chips like the newer ryzen chips where the all core load clock may be above the base clock or is it going to be 3ghz with a load no matter what? Without overclocking of course.
AFAIK, 1st gen Ryzens, use the turbo, only when 2 threads are used and the rest are idle. In x264 all your cores will be loaded, so the turbo won't kick in and the CPU will run at stock 3Ghz.
Undervolter is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,207
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Quote: Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post
AFAIK, 1st gen Ryzens, use the turbo, only when 2 threads are used and the rest are idle. In x264 all your cores will be loaded, so the turbo won't kick in and the CPU will run at stock 3Ghz.
Thanks thats my understanding as well, was just getting some conflicting info through google.

EDIT## I just gave someone rep lol, haven't done that in forever.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,571
Rep: 516 (Unique: 254)
Quote: Originally Posted by lightsout View Post
Thanks thats my understanding as well, was just getting some conflicting info through google.

EDIT## I just gave someone rep lol, haven't done that in forever.
I used to do a lot of x264 encoding too, up to about 1 year ago. I 've used almost every program going from DivX, Auto Gordian Knot (in xvid days) to AsxGUI to Vidcoder. But nowdays much rarer. Glad i could help a fellow encoder.
Undervolter is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,207
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Quote: Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post
I used to do a lot of x264 encoding too, up to about 1 year ago. I 've used almost every program going from DivX, Auto Gordian Knot (in xvid days) to AsxGUI to Vidcoder. But nowdays much rarer. Glad i could help a fellow encoder.
Ha for sure man, yeah xvid those were the days, I myself then primarily downloaded.

I don't plan to do a lot of x264 so the 1700 should fit the bill. Since I recently started messing with NVENC and encoding h264 with an Nvidia card. Sure the quality but not be right at x264 but man the speed makes up for it. I love it, especially for stuff like TV shows which the quality can be close enough and still be fine (for me).

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,571
Rep: 516 (Unique: 254)
Quote: Originally Posted by lightsout View Post
Ha for sure man, yeah xvid those were the days, I myself then primarily downloaded.

I don't plan to do a lot of x264 so the 1700 should fit the bill. Since I recently started messing with NVENC and encoding h264 with an Nvidia card. Sure the quality but not be right at x264 but man the speed makes up for it. I love it, especially for stuff like TV shows which the quality can be close enough and still be fine (for me).
Yes, if you aren't perfectionist, the GPU is quick. The 1700 would be an encoding monster, but if you prefer the NVENC, not much to gain there. I was torn between 2600 and 1700 too. 1 year ago, when i was still encoding a lot, i would have picked the 1700. But nowdays, i preferred the 2600, for the higher stock clock (i don't want to overclock), the better memory compatibility and the improved turbo. Even during full stress test, like Prime95, it still tries to boost. And, frankly, without x264, for me, even the 2600 is now overkill. The only time i 've seen high CPU usage, was while trying to compress a folder that was several gigabytes. And even that wasn't 100% load. Most of the time, the task manager shows half of the threads are parked...

Xvid was the age of the pioneers. A great codec. A great "school" to learn about video. And a great pain in the early days when speed was slow. Same as x264 really... Boy, i remember trying to encode a full film and needing a full day... Heroic times!
Undervolter is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,207
Rep: 239 (Unique: 206)
Quote: Originally Posted by Undervolter View Post
Yes, if you aren't perfectionist, the GPU is quick. The 1700 would be an encoding monster, but if you prefer the NVENC, not much to gain there. I was torn between 2600 and 1700 too. 1 year ago, when i was still encoding a lot, i would have picked the 1700. But nowdays, i preferred the 2600, for the higher stock clock (i don't want to overclock), the better memory compatibility and the improved turbo. Even during full stress test, like Prime95, it still tries to boost. And, frankly, without x264, for me, even the 2600 is now overkill. The only time i 've seen high CPU usage, was while trying to compress a folder that was several gigabytes. And even that wasn't 100% load. Most of the time, the task manager shows half of the threads are parked...

Xvid was the age of the pioneers. A great codec. A great "school" to learn about video. And a great pain in the early days when speed was slow. Same as x264 really... Boy, i remember trying to encode a full film and needing a full day... Heroic times!
Yeah I am enjoying the 2600x for my main rig. This 1700 will go in a server that currently has a 4570s, so 4 cores to 8/16 will be pretty sweet.

Yeah I remember playing with x264 early on and getting 4fps on the second pass lol.

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA RTX 2060 Ultra XC
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 02:08 PM
Not new to overclock.net
 
kd5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Florida?
Posts: 3,163
Rep: 134 (Unique: 104)
All core boost is 3.2ghz.
kd5151 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off