FX 8350 + GA 990fxa ud5 unable to OC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FX 8350 + GA 990fxa ud5 unable to OC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
FX 8350 + GA 990fxa ud5 unable to OC

Hi guys,

I am new in this oc world.

Configuration FX 8350
Gigabyte GA-990FXA - UD5 (rev.1x)

Memory 1333 mhz ( I was able to oc to 1600mhz) with my previous 1090t but now doesn't seem to be working.

The revision of the mother is quite old, so I think the options are only a few.

I tried to play around with Vcore and ddr voltage, also with the multiplier but nothing seems to be working..

Change the cpu frequency.
the faster speed I could get was 4350, after 40 second of prime95 blue screen...

I never increase the voltage more than 1.4375 ( as I read that more than 1.45 could be dangerous)
but I read a lot of comments mentioning that FX 8350 is super easy to get 4400 / 4500 without any problem.

Could you please guys help me out a bit, which options do you believe I should modify.

here a couple of screenshots of my bios.

Thanks!
to be honest, I am a bit frustrating I thought it was going to be easier.., but well I saw a couple of videos on youtube, they are some options that I don't see on my bios
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190304_011442.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	7.03 MB
ID:	256944  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190304_011452.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	6.38 MB
ID:	256946  

kiyu84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I forgot, every time I tried to put the memory in Manual, multiplier x8 to reach 1600, the system didn't boot, and automatically rollback to 1333...
kiyu84 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
another problem,
if I leave everything auto

speed is 4126 (no 4200) ..

other options from bios, that not sure if I should disable it or not.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	160.9 KB
ID:	256950  

Attached Images
 
kiyu84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
hmm anyone?
kiyu84 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I was able to reach 4529 but not stable, after 5 min got some errors
no I reduced the multiplier reached 4328 stable, been playing Pubg for hours and all good
but temps are not as good as I expected reached 57C

so not sure if would be safe to go beyond 4400mhz..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4328.JPG
Views:	9
Size:	180.7 KB
ID:	257516  

kiyu84 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:43 PM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,101
Rep: 186 (Unique: 160)
The UD3 and UD5 1.0 was really trash mobos since they got massive vdrop.
Well both mine did.

With a sabertooth 2.0 mine did 4.8ghz on 1.55v and 5ghz on 1.64v.

You really need a better cooler, On 5ghz I was hitting 58C on custom water loop. 1.45v really is nothing for a FX chip when factory the higher clocked ones come stock at 1.55v


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 11:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
herericc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 91
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I had a UD3 and the issue it had was the VRMs would overheat - it could barely supply the power my 8320 required at stock settings, nevermind OCed to 4.9GHz.

The board is garbage. The VRMs are overheating which causes your CPU to throttle back. There's nothing you can do except put a fan right on the VRMs or get a new board (at that point upgrade to ryzen though, the FX series is getting very long in the tooth.)

herericc is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ltpdttcdft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 517
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Can you post a pic of your motherboard/cooling setup? As others have said, cooling the VRM is important. Put a 70mm fan (such as the fan from the stock cooler) or two on it.

Does the BIOS give you LLC options? Usually Gigabyte does best with Medium LLC. Actually I think you should make sure you have the latest BIOS first. BIOS update download page for UD5 rev. 1.x:
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...upport-dl-bios



ltpdttcdft is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 02:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,287
Rep: 458 (Unique: 259)
My 990 UD5 is a brutish board ( rev 5 I believe) hardware wise but has a pretty awful bios. Gigabytes software OC utility is about the worst I've seen.


Be sure to be running the latest bios as it will give the best Vishera support.

Board shouldn't hold the chip below 4.7 ghz , cooling , power or settings will.

I made the 24/7 5 ghz club with mine pushing a FX 9370 @ 1.6 volts.

FX8370E 5839mhz MSI 990FXA GD80 - custom water http://valid.x86.fr/3jk1vz
FX - 9370 @ 5740mhz MSI 990FXA GD-80 with an H-100 proof.gifhttp://valid.canardpc.com/s04jcj
I like MSI motherboards and this is why smile.gif
8350 @ 5.2 ghz on a stock cooler proof.gif PM me! smile.gif
cssorkinman is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ltpdttcdft View Post
Can you post a pic of your motherboard/cooling setup? As others have said, cooling the VRM is important. Put a 70mm fan (such as the fan from the stock cooler) or two on it.

Does the BIOS give you LLC options? Usually Gigabyte does best with Medium LLC. Actually I think you should make sure you have the latest BIOS first. BIOS update download page for UD5 rev. 1.x:
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...upport-dl-bios
Hi
no there is no LLC option at rev. 1.x unfortunately

I was able to reach 4350 mhz, but on bios the Vcore 1.52 , then for some reason on windows that's 1.44v , but according to CPU z most of the time is just 1.40v from time to time reached 1.44 but not more than that.

Yes I agreed that this mobo is not the best.

Cooling system for the CPU is ThermalRight TRUE 120+ 120 cooler (70 cfm air flow)... as I only have 2 (90 mm) coolers inside the case I removed the left door
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4328-2.JPG
Views:	6
Size:	166.6 KB
ID:	257928  

kiyu84 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off