Overclocking Question - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Overclocking Question

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Overclocking Question

Hello and thanks for reading.

I recently setup a new PC with a Ryzen 5 2600. I'm using an ASRock X370 Killer board. I was able to use Ryzen Master to test some overclocking of the CPU and I'm a little confused. I was able to clock the CPU to 4.2ghz at 1.20 volts and "apply & test" without issue. But running Cinebench, I had to give the cpu 1.325 volts. It stuttered at 1.300 volts but ultimately froze (crashed immediately between 1.2 and 1.3 volts). I was able to do some other things when I was testing 4.2ghz at 1.20 volts, simple tasks, web browsing, watch youtube, Excel spreadsheets, etc.

Running Cinebench with 4.2ghz and 1.325 volts my CPU temp peaks at about 55c. Is there other software that I should be testing to see if this is stable enough for regular use?

Ryzen 5 2600
ASRock X370 Killer Motherboard
Corsair H110i AIO
16GB (2X8) Corsair Vengenace RGB DRAM 3000 (running at 3200)
Corsair 760T Case (I know this is a big case but I got the case and cooler for a steal)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. My old hard drive died and so the software I ran when I set up my last PC about 4 years ago is gone and I don't know what are the typical tests now.
Cuse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I reset back to just use the AMD profile from the Bios and did not use Ryzen Master. I then played 2 hours of Apex Legends while leaving CPUID Hardware monitor up. I noticed some spikes in the Max Core Clock above 4200MHz and then after finishing playing, I looked again at the Max Core Clock and it showed 4960MHz. I'm assuming something is off with hardware monitor as I don't think my CPU would spike that high even momentarily. It still shows my max CPU VCORE at 1.136V, VDDCR_SOC at 1.104V and none of the temps showing above 40c. Max memory temp shows 39c.

I tried to save the file to upload it, but what I got was a bunch of information in notepad that I'm not sure would be helpful.
Cuse is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I was able to screen shot and then make a PDF, is this helpful?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Hardware Monitor.pdf (342.9 KB, 8 views)
Cuse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:16 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,482
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Cinebench is not a stress test. Use Prime95 or something similar.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Cinebench is not a stress test. Use Prime95 or something similar.
Thank you, I'll put the overclock back on tonight and try Prime 95.
Cuse is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,195
Rep: 982 (Unique: 748)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Cinebench is not a stress test. Use Prime95 or something similar.
Cinebench is good for a "quick and dirty" test to see if the clocks deserve a prime 95 run

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/f8vusi
R7 [email protected] XFX 390X https://valid.x86.fr/4kmsxd
[email protected] Sapphire Tri-X 290http://valid.x86.fr/0lv27p
Finally Ivy
(16 items)
CPU
Intel 3770K 4.5 ghz 1.29v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
G.Skill SNiper Gaming Series 16 gb (2x8gb) 1866mhz
RAM
G.skill Ares 8 gb (2x4gb) 2400mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb x2 (6tb)
Optical Drive
LIte-On 20X DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Corsair H90
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
HP w237ld 23" 1080P
Monitor
Viewsonic VG2230wm 22"
Keyboard
SK-1788
Mouse
Logitech G400
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
So I clocked the cpu at 4200mhz at 1.35 volts and ran Prime95 for 12 hours. Given that it ran for 12 hours should mean it's good to go I assume. Now I will have to figure out how to do p state with hexidecimal as I don't need it running that speed all the time.
Cuse is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off