AMD Ryzen 7 2700X OC Questions - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Ryzen 7 2700X OC Questions

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X OC Questions

I am new to overclocking and forums in general, so I apologize if this is posted in the wrong area or something like that. I just have a few questions that I am curious about.

1) I saw some YouTube videos where the people overclocking would get a crash with a blue screen, while I just get a lock up. Would it make a difference that these people were on Intel CPUs or not? I just wonder why I get lock ups and they get blue screens.

2)I can get to a max of around 4.15 GHz stable on any voltage, and it seems like I should be able to get more than 150 MHz more than boost clock, it doesn't matter what voltage I am running on, it always crashes on a stress test above that. Would it seem like I am missing anything or do I just have an unlucky CPU?

I apologize if this is not enough information, if it would help here is my spec list.

Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 17763) (17763.rs5_release.180914-1434)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd.
System Model: MS-7B79
BIOS: A.70 (type: UEFI)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor (16 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16336MB RAM
Page File: 12169MB used, 6981MB available
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 08:11 AM
FX-5000

Rep: 64 (Unique: 47)
If you are manually overclocking, it will take a bit more voltage than (auto) will supply even at 4.1ghz. While using FXR at 4ghz load you should see 1.45v roughly. It'll take a bit more than that to run 4.2ghz.

Blue screen typically is a memory related error.

A hang or frozen screen would be a low v-core hang.

post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-05-2019, 11:36 AM
New to Overclock.net