Upgrading RAM What Kind? - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Upgrading RAM What Kind?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 05:05 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,050
Rep: 989 (Unique: 603)
the highest it's stable at.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jakemfbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,148
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
the highest it's stable at.
What's best to use to see if its stable? Haven't done this in awhile

jakemfbacon is offline  
post #33 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 06:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jakemfbacon View Post
What's best to use to see if its stable? Haven't done this in awhile
Use 1usmus excellent DRAM Calculator for Ryzen 1.5.1 to find your maximum overclock. The softwares not set up for Ryzen 2 yet though since it's not out. That's what I use for my 1700X processor and G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) and it's great. You will still need to run some tests to make sure your RAM is totally stable. Just find some benchmarks that push the RAM and you should be good. Realbench has a stress test for RAM that works pretty well.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...ram-bench.html

Last edited by dlbsyst; 06-18-2019 at 07:00 PM.
dlbsyst is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jakemfbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,148
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Use 1usmus excellent DRAM Calculator for Ryzen 1.5.1 to find your maximum overclock. The softwares not set up for Ryzen 2 yet though since it's not out. That's what I use for my 1700X processor and G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) and it's great. You will still need to run some tests to make sure your RAM is totally stable. Just find some benchmarks that push the RAM and you should be good. Realbench has a stress test for RAM that works pretty well.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...ram-bench.html
Thank you! I'll check this out later. Right now its at stock timings at 3200. I tried 3600 and it booted but kept crashing this is with a non overclocked 1700.

Its interesting because when using photoshop, lightroom, chrome with a few tabs etc task manager was showing 80% ram used when I had 16gb but everything kept slowing down. Now with the 32gb in there i'm hitting about 18 to 19gb shown in Task manager

jakemfbacon is offline  
post #35 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 02:03 PM
I can count to potato
 
Fluxmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: OBX
Posts: 150
Rep: 10 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by jakemfbacon View Post
Its interesting because when using photoshop, lightroom, chrome with a few tabs etc task manager was showing 80% ram used when I had 16gb but everything kept slowing down. Now with the 32gb in there i'm hitting about 18 to 19gb shown in Task manager

Photoshop loves RAM. It is set to use a percentage of your total available system memory. You doubled your total available, so it will now use more than it did previously. You can go to Edit > Preferences > Performance and adjust that value in Photoshop. I don't use Lightroom, so I'm not sure if there is a similar option. Regardless, you never want to max those values as you want to leave plenty for the system and other applications.
Fluxmaven is offline  
post #36 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 03:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jakemfbacon View Post
Thank you! I'll check this out later. Right now its at stock timings at 3200. I tried 3600 and it booted but kept crashing this is with a non overclocked 1700.

Its interesting because when using photoshop, lightroom, chrome with a few tabs etc task manager was showing 80% ram used when I had 16gb but everything kept slowing down. Now with the 32gb in there i'm hitting about 18 to 19gb shown in Task manager
Your welcome. I am using 3333 Fast preset settings from the DRAM Calculator currently. That seems to be the sweet spot with the first gen Ryzen 1700x that I have. I do plan on getting an X570 Crosshair VIII Hero and pairing it with the Ryzen 2 3900X. I'll go to town then and see how far I get push my RAM.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #37 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jakemfbacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,148
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Your welcome. I am using 3333 Fast preset settings from the DRAM Calculator currently. That seems to be the sweet spot with the first gen Ryzen 1700x that I have. I do plan on getting an X570 Crosshair VIII Hero and pairing it with the Ryzen 2 3900X. I'll go to town then and see how far I get push my RAM.
Yup that's what I am doing! Not exactly sure on which motherboard yet though I'm nervous that board is going to be pretty pricey. Can't wait though!

jakemfbacon is offline  
post #38 of 38 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 03:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,941
Rep: 122 (Unique: 84)
Well I just got a buttload of c14 3200 and half of it does 4400 c17 with minimal effort, on 9900k but that doesnt change the ram. and thats dangwang runmemtestpro 4.0. so Id just buy more of that..

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off