Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really) - Page 20 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really)

 
Thread Tools
post #191 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,550
Rep: 858 (Unique: 327)
Quote: Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
Roger @The Stilt

do u have some tip, how to fix this "issue"? Is it possible to manually fix it?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlUE8GlkbGA
As far as I know, yes.
My 3900X specimen now boosts to 4.625GHz, despite being limited to 4.575GHz even 1.0.0.3AB.
Based on a sample size of one, I cannot say if the method I use to fix it is the sufficient remedy on all specimens.

Technically it has nothing to do with AGESA version itself.

I'm confident that an official fix will be available at some point (soon).
The Stilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #192 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 03:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 225
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
As far as I know, yes.
My 3900X specimen now boosts to 4.625GHz, despite being limited to 4.575GHz even 1.0.0.3AB.
Based on a sample size of one, I cannot say if the method I use to fix it is the sufficient remedy on all specimens.

Technically it has nothing to do with AGESA version itself.

I'm confident that an official fix will be available at some point (soon).
That's big if true. Can you share more details ?
fursko is offline  
post #193 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 03:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
As far as I know, yes.
My 3900X specimen now boosts to 4.625GHz, despite being limited to 4.575GHz even 1.0.0.3AB.
Based on a sample size of one, I cannot say if the method I use to fix it is the sufficient remedy on all specimens.

Technically it has nothing to do with AGESA version itself.

I'm confident that an official fix will be available at some point (soon).

Wow! Can you say what you are doing or what road to go down to to attempt this?
anethema is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #194 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,550
Rep: 858 (Unique: 327)
Quote: Originally Posted by fursko View Post
That's big if true. Can you share more details ?
Quote: Originally Posted by anethema View Post
Wow! Can you say what you are doing or what road to go down to to attempt this?
It is quite simple, but not something which an average user can do, partially due to the lack of equipment.

I'll let AMD to elaborate once they have investigated and fixed the issue.

And as I said, I've only tested it on a single specimen (3600 and 3700X had no issues). Other reviewers had samples which were limited to significantly lower frequencies than mine, which did 4.575GHz peak at stock.
So I have no way of knowing if the solution will completely fix the issue, or if it is simply an improvement. Mostly that's why I don't care to be more specific.
The Stilt is offline  
post #195 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 04:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 225
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
It is quite simple, but not something which an average user can do, partially due to the lack of equipment.

I'll let AMD to elaborate once they have investigated and fixed the issue.

And as I said, I've only tested it on a single specimen (3600 and 3700X had no issues). Other reviewers had samples which were limited to significantly lower frequencies than mine, which did 4.575GHz peak at stock.
So I have no way of knowing if the solution will completely fix the issue, or if it is simply an improvement. Mostly that's why I don't care to be more specific.
Interesting! I've also saw some tests people undervolting their Ryzen and their clock speeds stay same or improves even more but the performance lose is big. You probably already know that. Why this happens ? Is it wrong clock speed reporting or what ? Same thing happened to me with my Vega's. One of them was reporting lower speeds and getting better results. Other one reporting higher speeds and even higher with the undervolt but still lacking behind.
fursko is offline  
post #196 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,550
Rep: 858 (Unique: 327)
Quote: Originally Posted by fursko View Post
Interesting! I've also saw some tests people undervolting their Ryzen and their clock speeds stay same or improves even more but the performance lose is big. You probably already know that. Why this happens ? Is it wrong clock speed reporting or what ? Same thing happened to me with my Vega's. One of them was reporting lower speeds and getting better results. Other one reporting higher speeds and even higher with the undervolt but still lacking behind.
Clock strechers are kicking in, when the CPU doesn't receive the voltage it requires.
It seems that it will increase the VID request until FIT limit is reached and then start stretching if its still in UV condition.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/28044514-post7.html
The Stilt is offline  
post #197 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 05:40 PM
DRAM Obsessor
 
CJMitsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,021
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by fursko View Post
Interesting! I've also saw some tests people undervolting their Ryzen and their clock speeds stay same or improves even more but the performance lose is big. You probably already know that. Why this happens ? Is it wrong clock speed reporting or what ? Same thing happened to me with my Vega's. One of them was reporting lower speeds and getting better results. Other one reporting higher speeds and even higher with the undervolt but still lacking behind.
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Clock strechers are kicking in, when the CPU doesn't receive the voltage it requires.
It seems that it will increase the VID request until FIT limit is reached and then start stretching if its still in UV condition.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/28044514-post7.html
I have mine undervolted wit a -.0625v offset with 3733mhz cl14 memory 1:1:1 with a BCLK of 101.8mhz which boosts to 4.4ghz all core and 4.48ghz single core. No loss of performance from what i see and significantly lower temps, my fans barely run unless im running a benchmark.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3700x_3733mz_GB3_tigt.PNG
Views:	94
Size:	467.2 KB
ID:	280638  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3700x_3733mz_GB4_tigt.PNG
Views:	69
Size:	468.5 KB
ID:	280640  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3700x_3733mz_Ramtest_tigt.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	932.0 KB
ID:	280656  


CPU- AMD Ryzen [email protected]
MOTHERBOARD- ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU- EVGA GTX 1080ti SC2 @2075mhz
RAM- G.SKILL TridentZ 32gb (4 x 8gb) @ 3800mhz (14-15-15-22-36-1T)
COOLING- CORSAIR Hydro Series H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 (x7)
CASE- Lian Li O11 Dynamic
MONITORS- VIOTEK GN34DB (x2)


CJMitsuki is offline  
post #198 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 05:47 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,185
Rep: 908 (Unique: 590)
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...HAIR-VIII-HERO


BIOS 0702 actually is slower than 0066


It's usually a few percent swing if that in either direction, but the older BIOS was favored in a number of cases.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #199 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 05:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,421
Rep: 17 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Clock strechers are kicking in, when the CPU doesn't receive the voltage it requires.
It seems that it will increase the VID request until FIT limit is reached and then start stretching if its still in UV condition.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/28044514-post7.html
Clock Stretchers? Like in this older AMD slide?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AMD Clock Stretcher Slide.png
Views:	113
Size:	3.00 MB
ID:	280660  


AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #200 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 06:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Clock strechers are kicking in, when the CPU doesn't receive the voltage it requires.
It seems that it will increase the VID request until FIT limit is reached and then start stretching if its still in UV condition.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/28044514-post7.html

One thing to seemingly keep in mind is..while the old way seemed to be to undervolt a bit so it would clock higher without hitting the FIT voltage, undervolting seems to do very weird things on Zen2. Everyone is reporting that an undervolt actually got them consistently higher clocks, but when actually benching the machines, the scores go way down. Games too.

One thread on reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...formance_with/

EDIT:I see you have already addressed the downsides of undervolting. NVM

So it seems while undervolting may help clocks, it isn't the answer for actual overclocking.

As far as the 'solution' I'd still be curious to hear it even in a PM. I work in electrical engineering and can get my hands on a bit of equipment I mostly work in RF, but still.

Last edited by anethema; 07-15-2019 at 06:34 PM.
anethema is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off