Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really) - Page 30 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really)

 
Thread Tools
post #291 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,367
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
This is where I am 3800v4.2, by about v4 I've got what I'd get I think unless hit primaries more, perhaps go 1T. Repeatable reruns, best so far ~4000% in RT.
Downloaded the files. Nice m8. Good luck pushing forward. Maybe you can try CL14?

Im pretty done with 3800 profile. Tighten the timings down. Cant see major improvements vs only base timings + TRFC! Just slightly better.
Below screenshot while running. That particular run passed 8K before i stopped!


@The Stilt
TRFC2 and TRFC4 are looking high. Is there any improvement if we "can" get them lower?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Stock-Only-3200mhz-CL14-TT.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	788.6 KB
ID:	282616  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3rdRAMKit-CL14-Gskilss-GTZRX-RamtestRun3.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	814.0 KB
ID:	282618  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3rdRAMKit-CL14-Gskilss-GTZRX-RamtestRun3-Aida-RM.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	811.6 KB
ID:	282620  


majestynl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #292 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:30 PM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
@kazablanka

Today I tested with lower room ambient. The PBO+200MHz result I showed was thermally limited. So are most of my PBO+150MHz, as here is 1676 in CB R15 .

Spoiler!


Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Thanks for sharing those! Maybe I'll spot something i'm not doing..... rep+

Edit: @gupsterg what was your ram voltage for 3733?
Not really tried 3733MHz much TBH. I fought a few days with gaining 3666MHz using The Stilt 3466MHz timings (1T GDMD), always just before ~3000% or after I'd get an issue. I tried lots of things. Then I spent nearly I day testing 3600MHz with higher % pass in tests. Then I tried say all [Auto] timings just to validate could I get 3800MHz. From there on profile fell in to place as I stopped targeting SCL 2. I believe I maybe able to go back to 1T GDMD on 3800MHz, even if I can't seems from benches I did tonight I'm not losing anything, but gaining stability.

TBH even the SOC/VDDG/VDIMM I use currently are some ball park figures which I felt would work from all the meddling I have done with this R5 3600 since 9th July.

I too like Nighthog had seen on certain targeted setting using too much voltage (may that be SOC/VDDG/VDIMM or all) made a profile fail then using more conservative approach.

For example VDDG: ~1.005V had worked well for 3666MHz any more used kill the profile quicker, dunno why. Now 3800MHz is ~1.012V, which is nuts when I look at it. Now from how I can use SOC: 1.031 VDDG: 0.956V for 3600MHz with SCL2, etc, perhaps I can tweak down them for 3800MHz.

Time will tell .

Shocking how just ~2C lower room ambient got be nice scaling in CB R15 at same PBO+150MHz, also look at this WMV of RAM test. Last 6 screenies of this album are PBO+150MHz, 3800MHz v4.2, 1:1:1.

After so much time spent on this chip it still has had some more surprises .

Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
Downloaded the files. Nice m8. Good luck pushing forward. Maybe you can try CL14?

Im pretty done with 3800 profile. Tighten the timings down. Cant see major improvements vs only base timings + TRFC! Just slightly better.
Below screenshot while running. That particular run passed 8K before i stopped!


@The Stilt
TRFC2 and TRFC4 are looking high. Is there any improvement if we "can" get them lower?
Cheers .

You also had good results .

C14 too much voltage spend for little gain IMO.

TRFC2/4 not used as before.

Last edited by gupsterg; 07-21-2019 at 03:33 PM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #293 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:32 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,648
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
So, still stuck here at 3733. It was a breeze getting here - bit stumped as to why getting any further is so hard, guess I'm just not finding the right settings for my memory.

Many C5 and 07s that required the CLR CMos button, very time consuming, hopefully new bios won't be too long.

I wish AMD would order the ram timings in RM in the same order they appear in the bios.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3733Timings.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	437.4 KB
ID:	282624  


Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 2801 | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #294 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:42 PM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
So, still stuck here at 3733. It was a breeze getting here - bit stumped as to why getting any further is so hard, guess I'm just not finding the right settings for my memory.

Many C5 and 07s that required the CLR CMos button, very time consuming, hopefully new bios won't be too long.

I wish AMD would order the ram timings in RM in the same order they appear in the bios.
This is settings txt and UEFI menus screnies which I changed and may not be in txt.

R5PBO1503800v42.zip
gupsterg is offline  
post #295 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,514
Rep: 846 (Unique: 324)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nighthog View Post
Doesn't AMD Ryzen Master now give us all this information anyway this time around with the timings, CAD BUS values etc? We didn't have that before.
I do hope they don't break their own software in the future that will eventually happen but it's not as critical as before when your tool was the only way for us to present the info in a manageable manner.

Your work was really helpful, thanks for the work put in.

It is another matter with the awful design and manner which the AMD version presents the info but it's there nonetheless.
Ryzen Master has been able to show these timings for quite some time now.
IIRC since TR1 came to market, or slightly earlier.
The Stilt is offline  
post #296 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 04:56 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,648
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
This is settings txt and UEFI menus screnies which I changed and may not be in txt.

Attachment 282626
Thanks again!

Useful to see all the settings together. Of course I will not stop until I succeed!.....except for tonight!

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 2801 | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
post #297 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,514
Rep: 846 (Unique: 324)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
@The Stilt
TRFC2 and TRFC4 are looking high. Is there any improvement if we "can" get them lower?
You can set tRFC2 & tRFC4 to 0 CLK if you like, makes no difference.

The refresh mode is 1x (7.8µs) and cannot be changed.
tRFC is for 1x refresh, tRFC2 for 2x refresh (3.9µs) and tRFC4 for 4x refresh (1.95µs).
The Stilt is offline  
post #298 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 10:08 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,648
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
This is settings txt and UEFI menus screnies which I changed and may not be in txt.

Attachment 282626
I just realized that I haven't been disabling c-states, can this help stability on Matisse? Seem to remember doing it when I had X370...

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 2801 | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
post #299 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 10:54 PM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,191
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
So you go over 35XX Mhz on the Ram and still get a working boosting on the CPU? when i go over that ramspeed it stucks as 4.1Ghz single/multi or so

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #300 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 11:46 PM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Thanks again!

Useful to see all the settings together. Of course I will not stop until I succeed!.....except for tonight!
NP.

Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
I just realized that I haven't been disabling c-states, can this help stability on Matisse? Seem to remember doing it when I had X370...
I don't know. All the testing up til 3800MHz has been with them as whatever UEFI default is. I just wanted to have crack at 3800MHz and succeed and frankly the FW/HW did step up .

Be aware also there is setting in AMD Overclocking menu, SOC Overclock Mode. That is supposed to do the same for SOC, I didn't turn that on.

I do plan to set all C-States back, even with them off I saw CPU "Sleep" in RM. TBH didn't notice any differing operation of down clocking/volting, perhaps not working, dunno.

This ZIP has a ~18000% run on PBO+150MHz 3800MHz v4.2 and rerun on warm POST of ~5500%.

304 tRFC is ~160ns at profile MEMCLK, which is decent enough IMO. I may try SCL 3 at some point. tFAW lowered some more also, tWR as at 10, can't go lower. tRTP is 6, only 1 step down left, which really isn't gonna gain me much; just like the rest of the subtimings.

I may drop to 3800MHz C15 (~7.84ns), as 3600MHz C14 (~7.77ns) only needed ~1.425V and that was with Gear Down Mode: Off, SCL 2.

Last edited by gupsterg; 07-21-2019 at 11:54 PM.
gupsterg is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off