Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really) - Page 55 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really)

 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 12:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 417
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
You hears about new EXPERT waterblocks that 8pack is working on ??? Without cold plate just Direct mounted to IHS with 2 seal. So You loose TIM and COLDPLATE. Very interesting
Will look at the video below when I get a chance, but wanted to say, that this has/had been done before several years ago.

The issue then was that the PCB substrate of the CPU ended up absorbing moisture from the direct die cooling, so unless they have changed the substrate so that it does not absorb water im unsure how this is going to work....

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.43v | 15-15-17-10-28-42-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 02:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
drmrlordx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,355
Rep: 75 (Unique: 52)
Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
You hears about new EXPERT waterblocks that 8pack is working on ??? Without cold plate just Direct mounted to IHS with 2 seal. So You loose TIM and COLDPLATE. Very interesting
Hmmm looks interesting. Too bad I used LM on my CPU IHS. Getting that stuff off is not easy (without lapping, ugh already killed one 3900x doing that). Letting old LM deposits work their way into my loop would not be a good idea. Otherwise I like the concept.

Quote: Originally Posted by mongoled View Post
Will look at the video below when I get a chance, but wanted to say, that this has/had been done before several years ago.

The issue then was that the PCB substrate of the CPU ended up absorbing moisture from the direct die cooling, so unless they have changed the substrate so that it does not absorb water im unsure how this is going to work....
The proposed product would seal onto the IHS. Water should never touch the PCB unless the seals aren't on there correctly. Or at least, that seems to be what's in the works.

I will say though, that multi-wall nanotubes have thermal conductivity in excess of 2000 W/mK:

https://www.sciencedirect.com/scienc...90072912000932

Using materials like that opens up a lot of possibilities. Eventually we're going to need stuff like that when we hit Zen4 on 5nm or . . . whatever.

Watch this space for future . . . uh . . . stuff! Yeah. That.
drmrlordx is offline  
post #543 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
polkfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 736
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
It has been reported over three weeks ago.
Read all of the 55 pages here at this site and i guess 1 month later this issue is still happening as i never seen 4.4ghz on my 3700X yet


I would love to know the technical reason why this is happening a user said that AGESA 1.0.0.1 was boosting correctly but ever since then it hasn't
polkfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #544 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,469
Rep: 841 (Unique: 323)
Quote: Originally Posted by polkfan View Post
Read all of the 55 pages here at this site and i guess 1 month later this issue is still happening as i never seen 4.4ghz on my 3700X yet


I would love to know the technical reason why this is happening a user said that AGESA 1.0.0.1 was boosting correctly but ever since then it hasn't
AMD has made several changes to the SMU FW, which affects how the CPU boosts.
New temperature limits have been introduced and the existing ones have been adjusted, along with certain voltage related parameters.

So the behavior doesn't appear to be a bug.
The Stilt is offline  
post #545 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 212
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
AMD has made several changes to the SMU FW, which affects how the CPU boosts.
New temperature limits have been introduced and the existing ones have been adjusted, along with certain voltage related parameters.

So the behavior doesn't appear to be a bug.
I'm seeing much better boosting behavior on my 3800x. I've had five cores hit 4525.8 Mhz in one session. In the past usually only one or two cores would boost to this level.

With AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB, I'm also seeing longer sustained clocks at 4400 - 4450MHZ. I've had all 8 cores at or over 4450MHZ in one gaming session. Temps are also lower as CPU Package Power appears to be lower for Prime95 and other stress programs. I think they are matching current draw to high voltage better with this AGESA. In the gaming session mentioned above, average CPU Package Power watts was only 39 (peaks at 55-57), with voltage spikes of 1.5 on all 8 cores.

Always Searching for Perfection,

Bluesman

Last edited by Bluesman; 08-12-2019 at 07:46 AM. Reason: clocks were changed from 1525 to 4525;watts peaks added
Bluesman is offline  
post #546 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 10:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
polkfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 736
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Makes me wonder is their something wrong with my chip? I mean several cores jump to 4375mhz and they all boost to at least 4325mhz.

I tried stock too without PBO on. This is on a 360 rad so i wouldn't think temps would be a issue. I tried playing games that use only one core i even forced dolphin emulator to just use 1 core but 4375mhz is the max my CPU will go.

Granted when gaming its locked at 4250mhz anyways i mean we are talking 25mhz but still

Edit that picture is with PBO on x10 scaler and after 24 hours of my PC being on doing web browsing and gaming and watching movies
Attached Images
 
polkfan is offline  
post #547 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 11:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
polkfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 736
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
I'm trying again with Auto OC at 200mhz and gonna see but last time i never got even 4375mhz doing that but i'm not sure i had PBO at 10X last time i tried i'll edit if i get lower frequency's again with auto OC on
polkfan is offline  
post #548 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 212
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by polkfan View Post
I'm trying again with Auto OC at 200mhz and gonna see but last time i never got even 4375mhz doing that but i'm not sure i had PBO at 10X last time i tried i'll edit if i get lower frequency's again with auto OC on
Just for fun, set your multiplier to 4x not 10x with the 200mhz setting. Also, if I recall you have set a thermal threshold of 85C; therefore, just for fun set your TDC to 83C. I am speculating that the voltage/current slope changes when you specify a TDC value lower, commensurate with you new low thermal threshold of 85C. I got much lower temps and higher clocks when I did this.

Good luck.

Always Searching for Perfection,

Bluesman
Bluesman is offline  
post #549 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,469
Rep: 841 (Unique: 323)
Setting the thermal limits below stock (95°C) make no difference, since the boost algorithm already uses lower limits.

The original limits for Ryzen 3000 SKUs were:

- 3600 = 4100MHz (80-95°C) / 4200MHz (< 80°C)
- 3600X = 4200MHz (80-95°C) / 4400MHz (< 80°C)
- 3700X = 4200MHz (80-95°C) / 4400MHz (< 80°C)
- 3800X = 4300MHz (80-95°C) / 4550MHz (< 80°C)
- 3900X = 4400MHz (80-95°C) / 4650MHz (< 80°C)

Since then, it appears that the HighTemperature limit has been reduced further to 75°C (from 80°C).
New SMUs also have introduced "MiddleTemperature" limit, but that gets disabled when PBO is enabled.

HWInfo is also able to display these limits (fused values).
The Stilt is offline  
post #550 of 679 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
polkfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 736
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Setting the thermal limits below stock (95°C) make no difference, since the boost algorithm already uses lower limits.

The original limits for Ryzen 3000 SKUs were:

- 3600 = 4100MHz (80-95°C) / 4200MHz (< 80°C)
- 3600X = 4200MHz (80-95°C) / 4400MHz (< 80°C)
- 3700X = 4200MHz (80-95°C) / 4400MHz (< 80°C)
- 3800X = 4300MHz (80-95°C) / 4550MHz (< 80°C)
- 3900X = 4400MHz (80-95°C) / 4650MHz (< 80°C)

Since then, it appears that the HighTemperature limit has been reduced further to 75°C (from 80°C).
New SMUs also have introduced "MiddleTemperature" limit, but that gets disabled when PBO is enabled.

HWInfo is also able to display these limits (fused values).

I give up lol simply put 101 for my APU-CPU bus speed now getting 4.4ghz with PBO on at X10 scaler i tried everything else that people where saying doesn't work. Not sure Amd will be seen in good light if they don't fix these issues their chips should be hitting max turbo with even their own cooler if not they shouldn't advertise it that way. I read others who had worse then me(as its not a big deal to me). iNeri is running a 102 bus speed and it seems fine but i'm gonna stick to 101.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by polkfan; 08-12-2019 at 12:01 PM.
polkfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off