Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really) - Page 7 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really)

 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 07:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cameronmc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 61
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Since the CPU structure is significantly different the latencies are not compareable. For instance according to AMDs estimation, the increased L3 cache alone lowers the effective memory latency by up to 33ns.
So eventhou the tuned, best-case memory latency might be < 10ns higher than on Pinnacle Ridge, the effective latency on Ryzen 3000-series is still far superior.
That sounds really amazing, I'm currently trying to decide If I upgrade my GPU (Currently GTX 1060 6GB) to a RTX 2070 SUPER or my Ryzen 1800X with tweaked sub-timings (3466mhz LL) to a Ryzen 3700X.
Problem is I can only afford one atm either the 3700X or the RTX 2070 SUPER, does anybody know which would give me a better overall gaming performance upgrade.. not just talking about average frames but 1% lows and 0.1% lows??

I currently game at 1080p and very low settings for games such as Apex Legends, CoD etc. always go for high frame rate (144hz).
cameronmc88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 08:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Where the West Begins
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
I'm most interested to see if we can expect 3600MHz at 14-14-14-14 instead of the 3600MHz at 14-15-14-14 many of us have to run on our Ryzen 2000 CPUs.
this is still dropping my jaw, with my sad 3533cl16 b-die kit

Bill Murray
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair 7 Wifi
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
RAM
F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Seagate BAArracude
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G3
Cooling
Custom Cooling Loop
Case
Corsair Obsidian 900D
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive
Other
Corsair RGB Headset Stand
▲ hide details ▲
specialedge is offline  
post #63 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kundica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 500
Rep: 35 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
That is not surprising, since that is the official and only stand from AMD.

Technically the 3900X should indeed hit at least the advertised 4.6GHz however, I'm yet to see any confirmed case where it actually would do that.
This reviewer claims it hits the specified boost using a bios with earlier AGESA on their Aorus Xtreme Mobo but were limited on newer AGESA. They write about bios/AGESA issues about 2/3 of the way down the page. https://www.xanxogaming.com/reviews/...core-i9-9900k/ I've attached the screen grab they took from HWinfo. It's a little tough to read but you can still read the max column.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	X570-AORUS-XTREME-BIOS-F1-1.png
Views:	142
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	278648  

kundica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,403
Rep: 829 (Unique: 314)
Quote: Originally Posted by kundica View Post
This reviewer claims it hits the specified boost using a bios with earlier AGESA on their Aorus Xtreme Mobo but were limited on newer AGESA. They write about bios/AGESA issues about 2/3 of the way down the page. https://www.xanxogaming.com/reviews/...core-i9-9900k/ I've attached the screen grab they took from HWinfo. It's a little tough to read but you can still read the max column.
Judging by the voltages alone, that isn't working properly either.
There is significant differences between the different core characteristics and not all of them should boost to the Fmax.
Likewise, not all of them should run at the same voltage either. No different to older CPUs, such as the 2700X. Only the best cores could boost to the Fmax (4.35GHz).

To me that looks like some kind of a bios hack, done by Gigabyte. Maybe disabled or misconfigured FIT controller.
The Stilt is offline  
post #65 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spectre73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 129
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
I asked them via twitter (linking to your OP), if they used an Asus board with a BIOS other than 0066 and they pretty much confirmed it.

White Lion
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Aorus x570 Master
GPU
AMD Vega 64
RAM
32 GB G.Skill 3200C14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-750XP Titanium
Cooling
Custom water
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
BenQ EX3501R
Keyboard
Ducky Shine Zero (brown)
Audio
Audiotrak Prodigy Cube Black Edition USB soundcard/ DAC
▲ hide details ▲
Spectre73 is offline  
post #66 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:54 PM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
Is PBO only available on X SKUs like it was on Ryzen 2000?

Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
At least on R5 3600 it worked fine, so I guess not
A purchaser of R5 3600 gained an answer from AMD source on Reddit apparently, link.

Well share my results later today .

I was wondering Roger if like when PR released you have util for checking best/worst core core voltage difference or will that previous SW work with clock rolled back?
gupsterg is offline  
post #67 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:44 AM
Mice is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,214
Rep: 109 (Unique: 83)
A question. I'm planning to order G-Skill TridentZ 3600 CL15-15-15-35 memory to go along with 3700X and aorus x570 elite, but I've read somewhere that ryzen doesn't go well with anything odd. Is this only for older ryzen or is this load-o-carp as usual? Just want to confirm before I have to send 200 euros worth of ram back and forth.
Melan is online now  
post #68 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:50 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melan View Post
A question. I'm planning to order G-Skill TridentZ 3600 CL15-15-15-35 memory to go along with 3700X and aorus x570 elite, but I've read somewhere that ryzen doesn't go well with anything odd. Is this only for older ryzen or is this load-o-carp as usual? Just want to confirm before I have to send 200 euros worth of ram back and forth.
On 1xxx/2xxx you disabled Gear Down Mode and odd CAS was not rounded up to nearest even. If 3xxx still needs this, that is all you'll have to do to have CAS 15.
gupsterg is offline  
post #69 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 03:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,583
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
@The Stilt Have You tried playing with BCLK ?? I'w not seen anything around on that topic.
lordzed83 is offline  
post #70 of 679 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 03:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 784
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
@The Stilt Have You tried playing with BCLK ?? I'w not seen anything around on that topic.
I'm interested as well. though on gen 1 it wasn't that useful as it made the chip hotter and didn't help performance if you matched with regular multiplier clocking. (130fsb tried on Ryzen 7 1700)

I've made a order for a Ryzen 7 3800X and a new ASUS motherboard so will have oppurtunity to test it out whenever they actually arrive. Might take 1-2 weeks at worst.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.4Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 18.26.19.44.73.tRFC 650 1T 1.45V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off