Help overclockin R1700 and RAM - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help overclockin R1700 and RAM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,398
Rep: 112 (Unique: 65)
Help overclockin R1700 and RAM

Hey folks.
Finally managed to get the rest of the components.

Got a R7 1700 (1733 if i remember correct), with X470 ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming K4 and 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16, which is supposedly Samsung B-die.
I updated the BIOS from 1.50 to 1.90 and then to 3.30, which is the latest.


I have seen some things for the RAM OC, like set SoC voltage to 1.05V and then use the XMP profile.

Issue is, if i set the RAM to use the XMP, the rig does not boot.

The default clocks on the RAM are 2666 (as set by the motherboard). At 2666 it is actually not stable, and while browsing only, it will crash the system and reboot.

CPU is stock at 3Ghz.

Aside from raising SoC voltage, i have not done anything else.

Motherboard also has "Load DRAM configuration", which pretty much does the same thing as loading the XMP profile, just whatever the board think its cool. Same effect though.

The XMP uses CR of 1T, maybe up it to 2 and see how it goes?

Any advices are welcome.

I would like to have the RAM run at 3200Mhz (or at least 2933).

The RAM sticks are located in slots A1/B1. Do they need to be in A2/B2? Not sure how to read those graphs at the ASRock specification page.

Also, i would like to get the CPU to around 4Ghz all cores.


Another thing, i upped the SoC voltage to 1.05V, but HWinfo still shows 0.938V, even under load.

And maybe, i am missing something, but for some reason, my core clocks sit at 2.43Ghz when its idle. And i did not see any C state options in the BIOS.

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Desktop PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480
GPU
XFX RX470 Singlefan
GPU
MSI RX580 GamingX 4GB
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS
Hard Drive
WesternDigital Blue 500GB 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
ThermalTake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Operating System
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
Bloody V5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Just some quick tips, since i don't have Ryzen 1st gen or Asrock. Your motherboard's manual specifically says to install RAM in A2 B2. Your kit isn't in the QVL list, but there is a Corsais 3000kit supported at that speed and some others run at 3200Mhz alright.

Your kit is most likely NOT Samsung B die, since unless something changed since the last time i had searched, Samsung dies are known to have CAS14 at 3200mhz.

So, switch to A2 B2 and see what happens. It should run at higher frequency and stable, hopefully. Ryzen 1st gen is very picky about RAM.

Someone else will be able to give you better tips.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti

Last edited by Undervolter; 07-09-2019 at 11:43 AM.
Undervolter is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,398
Rep: 112 (Unique: 65)
Yea, i read up a bit as well.

Changed few hours ago to A2/B2. Switched on to XMP.

Soars thorugh the skies at 3200.

What about the CPU OC, any suggestions on that side, or should i just start upping the core voltage and clocks, till i reach something i like?

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Desktop PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480
GPU
XFX RX470 Singlefan
GPU
MSI RX580 GamingX 4GB
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS
Hard Drive
WesternDigital Blue 500GB 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
ThermalTake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Operating System
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
Bloody V5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote: Originally Posted by ku4eto View Post
Yea, i read up a bit as well.

Changed few hours ago to A2/B2. Switched on to XMP.

Soars thorugh the skies at 3200.

What about the CPU OC, any suggestions on that side, or should i just start upping the core voltage and clocks, till i reach something i like?
Sorry, but i haven't even bothered to overclock my 2600. Heck, i don't even undervolt it, it runs so well on its own... It's like i am retired not. I would wait for an overclocker if i were you or i would google for a Ryzen 1st gen overclocking guide. On paper, yes, you raise voltage and multi. But there is a limit on voltage that you don't want to exceed. So better read before attempting.

Good luck.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 05:16 PM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,774
Rep: 305 (Unique: 176)
OCing the 1700 is just about that simple. Mine hit 3.74ghz pure dog stock. Just bump the ram voltage a bit as it helps the cpu for some reason and then bump the clocks and volts to keep it stable until you hit temps you don't want to go past. My limit is 70C using IBT AVX as a stress test.


My 1700 hit a sweet spot at 3.8 and as I bumped it up performance actually fell off until it got past 3.9 and then it took off again. I stopped there at 3.925ghz @ 1.356v. There has been no degradation in 2 years of use.

IOKIYAR
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 06:33 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,046
Rep: 898 (Unique: 589)
I wouldn't go over 150W or so on that board (it's 4 phases with 2 sets of Sinopower mosfets per phase), but 1.425V is the official max voltage for Ryzen 1st gen per Robert Hallock.


Also you will see more gains overclocking memory timing once you pass 3200MHz memory divider.
If Geardown mode is enable you will need to have even timings.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is online now  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,398
Rep: 112 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
I wouldn't go over 150W or so on that board (it's 4 phases with 2 sets of Sinopower mosfets per phase), but 1.425V is the official max voltage for Ryzen 1st gen per Robert Hallock.


Also you will see more gains overclocking memory timing once you pass 3200MHz memory divider.
If Geardown mode is enable you will need to have even timings.
Yea, i will use the Ryzen DRAM calculator, and then burn the timings with the Typhoon into the XMP profile.


@miklkit I noticed the Auto voltage of the CPU is super high. Probably due to the boost (it goes to 3.7) supposedly. Its like, 1.3-1.4V, i may either undervolt it to 1.1-1.2V or just overclock it to 3.8Ghz.

I will try it after work and see how it goes.

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Desktop PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480
GPU
XFX RX470 Singlefan
GPU
MSI RX580 GamingX 4GB
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS
Hard Drive
WesternDigital Blue 500GB 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
ThermalTake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Operating System
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
Bloody V5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 01:43 AM - Thread Starter
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,398
Rep: 112 (Unique: 65)
Tried 3.8Ghz with 1V SoC and 1.325V core.
Boots into WIndows, but 1-2 mins into IBT and it crashes.

Power consumption is insane, like 150W package only, total going over 175W. Temps for that 1-2 mins are going 75*C.

At 1.25V it wouldnt boot.

The PSU i have only has 2x CPU connectors, i think i should check if there is a 3rd one. Could be a VRM overheating or not enough power to the socket.

Currnetly running it at 1.05V core voltage at 3.2Ghz. ~90W package power consumption. At 3.0Ghz, i could probably do 1.025 or even 1V. Default voltage is 1.1.875V.

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Desktop PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480
GPU
XFX RX470 Singlefan
GPU
MSI RX580 GamingX 4GB
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Maxtor 250GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force LS
Hard Drive
WesternDigital Blue 500GB 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
ThermalTake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Operating System
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
Bloody V5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 07:38 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,774
Rep: 305 (Unique: 176)
Don't burn it up trying for an artificial goal. Just take what the hardware gives you and keep tweaking it.


EDIT: I just did a quick run on IBT AVX standard. The total power hit 162.624 watts and it hit 70C. The TIM is 2 years old.

IOKIYAR
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by miklkit; 07-10-2019 at 08:07 AM.
miklkit is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 03:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,205
Rep: 982 (Unique: 748)
SoC is safe up to 1.3 I'd try 1.1 or max 1.2 to see if that helps your overclock

I'd also try 1.36-1.38v on the memory to see if that helps stability.

I have a set of Corsair Vengeance LP 2666mhz that runs stock timings at 3200 mhz 1.35v with SoC 1.1 and the cpu is a 2200G.

After this video it was stable at 1.1 SoC


R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/f8vusi
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/7f6u8v
R5 [email protected] XFX RX570 4gb https://valid.x86.fr/hqatp1
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
Finally Ivy
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
CPU
Intel 3770K 4.5 ghz 1.29v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
G.Skill SNiper Gaming Series 16 gb (2x8gb) 1866mhz
RAM
G.skill Ares 8 gb (2x4gb) 2400mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3tb x2 (6tb)
Optical Drive
LIte-On 20X DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1050
Cooling
Corsair H90
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
HP w237ld 23" 1080P
Monitor
Viewsonic VG2230wm 22"
Keyboard
SK-1788
Mouse
Logitech G400
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off