Help with OC Ram and Infinity Fabric to 3600 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help with OC Ram and Infinity Fabric to 3600

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigdayve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 365
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Help with OC Ram and Infinity Fabric to 3600

Hi, I have been looking all over for a good guide to clock infinity fabric and ram to 3600. I'm new to Ryzen and am a little lost. I've had a lot of trouble finding any resources with settings to tweak in the bios to achieve my goal. At default I was running 2400:2400 ram:IF. I loaded my XMP profile for my ram and now I am running 3200:3200 ram:IF. I'm running my ram at 1.35v and timings are 16-18-18.

Here is a screenshot with a little more information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Default bios settings with XMP ram profile.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	746.1 KB
ID:	280980  


CPU
FX 8350
Motherboard
Asus Aura 970
GPU
gtx 1060
RAM
Corsair XMS3 4x4gb
Hard Drive
BP5e Slim Series
Hard Drive
Caviar Green 640GB
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVD
Power Supply
DeepCool 750ST
Cooling
PH-TC14PE
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Thermalright 140mm
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120
Cooling
Scythe Glide Stream SY1425HB12M-P
Cooling
Aluminum heatsink
Case
Enthoo Pro M
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Gateway 21" 1080p
Keyboard
Cheap Cheap
Mouse
Cheap
Mouse
Ultra Cheap
Audio
SMSL Digital Amp with two pioneer bookshelf speakers
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by bigdayve; 07-16-2019 at 05:26 PM.
bigdayve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigdayve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 365
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Hopefully my signature will update...

CPU
FX 8350
Motherboard
Asus Aura 970
GPU
gtx 1060
RAM
Corsair XMS3 4x4gb
Hard Drive
BP5e Slim Series
Hard Drive
Caviar Green 640GB
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVD
Power Supply
DeepCool 750ST
Cooling
PH-TC14PE
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Thermalright 140mm
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120
Cooling
Scythe Glide Stream SY1425HB12M-P
Cooling
Aluminum heatsink
Case
Enthoo Pro M
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Gateway 21" 1080p
Keyboard
Cheap Cheap
Mouse
Cheap
Mouse
Ultra Cheap
Audio
SMSL Digital Amp with two pioneer bookshelf speakers
▲ hide details ▲
bigdayve is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 05:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 652
Rep: 82 (Unique: 62)
Here is a screen grab I did for CL14 3600Mhz.
If CL14 is too much try CL16-Cl18 but keep higher voltage on ram .There is no way it will run stable at low volts 1.35-1.36.Try that and see how it goes.
You can do in BIOS or thru Ryzen Master.Just turn off Ryzen master when completed all input after restart of Ryzen Master,you can leave it running but to prevent any crashing turn it off.
gerardfraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 05:57 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,139
Rep: 590 (Unique: 491)
Gamers Nexus overclocked the 3900x on LN2 (trying to hit 5.0GHz) and you can see what he was doing in Bios including infinity fabric settings. He goes fast but you can pause and see. Near the end he also contacts an LN2 overclocker and he gets more advice. If I was going to overclock Zen 2 I would watch that video.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
Cigar ATX PC
(14 items)
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Open Water Loop
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Microsoft Sidewinder X5
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD 128GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640
Motherboard
ASRock N68C-GS
GPU
NVIDIA 6600GT
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Optical Drive
Power Supply
Thermaltake TR2 600W
Cooling
Thermaltake Max Orb
Case
Cigar Boxes
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Viewsonic 19” Flatscreen CRT
Keyboard
Gigabyte GK-K6800 103
Mouse
Zalman ZM-M300
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance MM200
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 04:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,359
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigdayve View Post
Hi, I have been looking all over for a good guide to clock infinity fabric and ram to 3600. I'm new to Ryzen and am a little lost. I've had a lot of trouble finding any resources with settings to tweak in the bios to achieve my goal. At default I was running 2400:2400 ram:IF. I loaded my XMP profile for my ram and now I am running 3200:3200 ram:IF. I'm running my ram at 1.35v and timings are 16-18-18.

Here is a screenshot with a little more information.
Its easy m8!

1) Go to your bios, Dont use XMP. Just manually enter settings!
2) Set your Dram Freq on 3600mhz and your Dram voltage to 1.45v and Dram boot voltage also to 1.45v.. to start with.
3) Set your FCLK to 1800mhz (half of your Dram Freq to keep it 1:1)
4) Set your Main-timings at 16-18-18 etc. to start with. Leave sub-timings for now on auto
5) Save as a profile in bios!
6) Boot in to windows and run HCI Memtest/Karhu Ramtest/ any other Memory stability test program for min. 1 hour

If errors:
- You can try to upper your Dram voltages (including dram boot voltage)
- You can try to upper your Soc voltage
- Try lower Memory Freq

No errors:
- You can try to set your Soc voltage manual to 1.1v and your CLDO VDDG to 1v (Always set your CLDO VDDG lower then your SOC voltage)
- You can try to lower main-timings
- You can try to enter tight sub-timings
- You can try to go higher on ram. Just keep it 1:1 ! Dont forget to upper your Dram voltage!

You can play around with above settings to find stability/sweet spot!

majestynl is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigdayve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 365
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Still no luck. My computer always fails to post when I push the ram past 3200. After restarting a few times with the power button, the motherboard resets to default settings. Thank goodness!

Things I've tried.
Increasing SOC, ram clock, fabric clock, and DRAM voltage in the bios. I've tried the following clocks and voltages.

Clocks attempted: 3266ram/3266fabric and 3600ram/3600Bios
SOC @ 1.1v, 1.15v, and 1.2v
Timings 18-18-18 and 16-18-18
Dram @ 1.45v

After failing to make changes in the bios, I tried to use Ryzen Master. It prompted my computer to restart at which point it failed to post.

I have found a few Ryzen overclocking resources out there. It's hard to find stuff specific to my motherboard since it isn't the AsRock Flagship. It's kind of a funky bios. I wish I could have gotten the Asus Strix X470, but it sold out and I got my motherboard for a good price at MicroCenter with their CPU/MOBO combo special ($50 off a motherboard while purchasing a 3600). I'm kind of stuck with this board.

Anyway enough complaining, here are a few screenshots of my Bios. I think I found the right place to adjust SOC voltage, but it is in its own sub-menu and measured in millivolts for some odd reason. Adjusting the setting also requires activating "SOC/Uncore OC Mode."

I never did see any DRAM boot voltage. I suspect that the pc won't post because the boot voltage is insufficient. I think it's odd that it won't even post at 3266.

Again, any help is much appreciated. This project isn't at the top of my to do list, so please be patient with my replies.

-Bigdayve
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 190718134220.BMP (5.93 MB, 23 views)
File Type: bmp 190718134249.BMP (5.93 MB, 14 views)
File Type: bmp 190718134308.BMP (5.93 MB, 13 views)
File Type: bmp 190718134330.BMP (5.93 MB, 12 views)
File Type: bmp 190718134400.BMP (5.93 MB, 15 views)
File Type: bmp 190718134439.BMP (5.93 MB, 12 views)

CPU
FX 8350
Motherboard
Asus Aura 970
GPU
gtx 1060
RAM
Corsair XMS3 4x4gb
Hard Drive
BP5e Slim Series
Hard Drive
Caviar Green 640GB
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVD
Power Supply
DeepCool 750ST
Cooling
PH-TC14PE
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Thermalright 140mm
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120
Cooling
Scythe Glide Stream SY1425HB12M-P
Cooling
Aluminum heatsink
Case
Enthoo Pro M
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Gateway 21" 1080p
Keyboard
Cheap Cheap
Mouse
Cheap
Mouse
Ultra Cheap
Audio
SMSL Digital Amp with two pioneer bookshelf speakers
▲ hide details ▲
bigdayve is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 652
Rep: 82 (Unique: 62)
Use https://postimages.org/ so people do not have to download.

Anyway Start over.Overclocking memory on new Ryzen CPU's is better than intel.
Make sure you have lastest install BIOS.
Clear CMOS by unpluging battery on motherboard.Unplug main power and jump/clear CMOS for fresh start.
Put battery back in and plug in stuff and go to BIOS and start from scratch.Worth a shot.
Set everything to auto.
Set 2133 Mhz and a start voltage of 1.35.Restart and train Ram
Set 2466 Mhz and a start voltage of 1.35.Restart and train Ram
Set 2933 Mhz and a start voltage of 1.35.Restart and train Ram
Set 3200 Mhz and a start voltage of 1.35.Restart and train Ram
Set 3266 Mhz and Raise voltage to 1.45 for now.Restart and train ram .
Set higher and Repeat until fail.
gerardfraser is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 05:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Discovery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
If your board maker has a different bios I would give that a try. On my x370 Taichi one bios will do 3000 max on ram and the other bios will do 3700 and even booted at 3800. Seems like the new cpus will run with fast ram just depends on how the board makers setup the bios.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	348.6 KB
ID:	281420  

Click image for larger version

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	316.4 KB
ID:	281422  

Click image for larger version

Name:	26.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	264.1 KB
ID:	281424  


3800X & Corsair H80iv2
Gigabyte x470 Gaming7 wifi-50 F42a 1003ABB bios
Evga 850 SuperNova
Gigabyte 2070 OC
32GB Balistic LT sport 3200
Discovery is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigdayve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 365
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
@gerardfraser so it sounds like you think some bios selection is off preventing it from POST. Is that right? Why not load all default settings instead of going to the trouble of taking out the battery etc?
@Discovery there is one other Ryzen 3000 bios option available. Thanks for the tip, I'll try it out.

CPU
FX 8350
Motherboard
Asus Aura 970
GPU
gtx 1060
RAM
Corsair XMS3 4x4gb
Hard Drive
BP5e Slim Series
Hard Drive
Caviar Green 640GB
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVD
Power Supply
DeepCool 750ST
Cooling
PH-TC14PE
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Thermalright 140mm
Cooling
Phateks PH-F140SP
Cooling
Cooler Master Sickleflow 120
Cooling
Scythe Glide Stream SY1425HB12M-P
Cooling
Aluminum heatsink
Case
Enthoo Pro M
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Gateway 21" 1080p
Keyboard
Cheap Cheap
Mouse
Cheap
Mouse
Ultra Cheap
Audio
SMSL Digital Amp with two pioneer bookshelf speakers
▲ hide details ▲
bigdayve is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off